from a dad's view

Forgotten Treasures

While doing this sketch, I started thinking about the age, history and stories behind this beautiful old vehicle. How proud was the owner when purchased new, something at that time was rare. What kind of memories were made in and around it. I have so many memories in my parents cars, sleeping in the back window (before seat belt laws), Sticking my bare feet out the windows on a cool night, trips taken with  my brother and sisters packed in like sardines and so much more. I guess like this old truck, as we age are cosmetic beauty fades, but our history, knowledge and inner beauty grows. So take a second look, what stories or memories do you see?

4 responses

  1. Mommy

    I read all your blogs and found them very interesting. In fact, you’re sounding more like a really mature guy than my youngest son. What’s that make me? OLD. They were all very interesting and loved the sketch of the old car.

    August 8, 2008 at 1:29 pm

  2. Love the blog. Love the picture; ok, a little jealous of the picture…
    I’ll be putting you on my blogroll.

    August 8, 2008 at 3:38 pm

  3. Ash

    How I love your drawing and old cars. I feel like these types of things help us learn who we are. Some of us are the glass half full type and immediately see the character, wisdom and sacrifice and admire it. The day someone refers to me as the old car, I might just take that as a complement.

    August 8, 2008 at 5:29 pm

  4. asmalltowndad

    Thanks for your response guys!

    August 8, 2008 at 5:38 pm

Leave a Reply

