from a dad's view

PASSION

Passion a great liking or enthusiasm for something or someone.

Where do I start? I have so many passions, they may be spread out to thin. But I would just as soon have it that way than to be passionless. I love hunting, fishing, painting, drawing, wood working and most of all, my family. I believe there is a huge difference between just doing things, and having a passion for them. For an example, to walk into the woods, shoot a deer and walk out, is killing not hunting. Both have the same end results, but to spend days scouting the woods noticing which trees have fallen from wind or age, the growth of new vegetation, the beauty of deer grazing in the fields, sitting for hours a day in a tree stand with birds of all kinds coming within feet of you not noticing you’re there. To have the golden and red leaves surround you one week, and to see them fall in a waterfall of gold, red and orange the next, and then to be almost in a meditational state, mesmerized by the beauty of falling snow in the woods and then to finally see a majestic animal walking towards you, an animal that has out smarted you so many times, finally walking within bow range. Your heart starts pumping at a rate that can even be dangerous for some, and then to end with a shot that you have practice so many times in order to make a clean, quick kill. Now that is what you call a passion for hunting, not just killing.

Why did I pick one of my sketches of a horse for this story? My daughter that is eighteen has found her passion, a passion and respect of equine. She has spent two years of her high school weekends mucking stalls (shoveling up the crap) and working around the stables in order for her to have and stable her own horse. Believe me when I say, this is no easy job. She’s 5’11, drop dead gorgeous and could have been doing other things that wouldn’t have made me near as proud as I am today. She is off to college next year to study equine science and management, and I hope her passion stays true.

What is your passion? (keep it clean) And if you had a passion but lost it somewhere in the past, tell me why or how you lost it.

8 responses

  1. Ash

    I wish you could draw! My first passion is the physics of things you can’t see (electricity, spectral analysis, chromodynamics). I can just feel the way they operate as I learn. Perhaps ones passion is shaped so early in life that we rarely can pinpoint it. It’s sad to say that many never find it. For the first time since I was eight years old I am excited to get up every morning just to see my two beautiful children. Life becomes so rich, without a dollar spent. (sorry for the cheese)

    August 8, 2008 at 5:48 pm

  2. asmalltowndad

    You are a M.I.T. nerd! but at least you have a passion.

    August 8, 2008 at 5:59 pm

  3. wavemaker2

    WoW!! You can DRAW!! Don’t listen to these ppl… You do have alot of Passion not in just drawing but in your children as well.. I wish I could draw..LOL The Horse look’s GREAT!! til l8er

    August 8, 2008 at 7:23 pm

  4. jannacomstock

    My biggest passions lie in four areas: building and maintaining my relationships with those most important to me; guiding people to live a life with purpose and fulfillment through my work, and watching the amazing results unfold for them; traveling and taking notice of Mother Nature’s work around the world; and working with rescued dogs, helping them regain their confidence and live a happy life. (I take such joy in watching their progress, even though it can be slow-going at times, and am amazed by the trust that is built between animal and human.)

    My dad is a deer hunter, and has shares your same views and passion for hunting. 🙂

    “The Passion Test” by Janet Atwood is a great read, and is a guide to help others find and prioritize their passions.

    August 8, 2008 at 9:52 pm

  5. asmalltowndad

    Thanks for comments all, and I hope you come back.

    Wavemaker2 you would be amazed what a few drawing classes could do. A few taught technics, a sketch pad, pencil , relax and enjoy it.

    August 11, 2008 at 1:28 pm

  6. wavemaker2

    Man, I’ve tried just to draw a Butterfly or a Turtle…hahaha It look’s like my Nephew’s and Niece’s got a hold of them..LOL But, I know YOUR right when you say go to a class. I would LOVE too!! Thank’s for the Idea… I still LOVE YOUR Horse tho!!… til l8er

    August 11, 2008 at 3:11 pm

  7. For my passion of horses and of course art, i had to comment here. You have captured this wonderful animal to perfection.

    July 24, 2009 at 6:22 pm

  8. asmalltowndad

    Thanks Amanda, Although my art on this blog is more traditional, I also do and love others styles.

    July 24, 2009 at 6:30 pm

Leave a Reply

