from a dad's view

Eye’s of a Predator-watercolor

 

Preditors

I Started with the Owl, and then decided to make this long piece of scrap board a strip of predator eyes. It’s total measurement is 1 1/2″ x 8″ and was done in watercolors and pen. The subjects are the wolf, lynx (bobcat) and an owl, all with gorgeous eyes.

I hope you try something similar to this, it’s fun and fast. Some other ideas you might try are leaves, flowers or anything in a set, but start off simple.

Enjoy, get a set of school watercolors and give it a try!

13 responses

  1. severnyproductions

    perfect expressions

    August 31, 2009 at 8:10 pm

    • asmalltowndad

      Thanks, I enjoyed the subjects.

      August 31, 2009 at 8:15 pm

  2. Maybe fast for you…these are incredible. It’s not just that I have a thing about eyes, it’s just that they’re so realistic.

    I really like the way you’ve displayed them alongside each other like this and the black frame makes stand out even more – really effective.

    September 1, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    • asmalltowndad

      The eyes say everything… lies, truth, love, hate, one of my favorite parts of the body.

      September 1, 2009 at 7:30 pm

  3. Especially if you can see what lies behind the eyes.

    September 1, 2009 at 8:39 pm

  4. Bro

    I “SEE’ The Talent!
    my lil bro has been blessed with!
    luv ya,
    Bro

    September 2, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    • asmalltowndad

      It all comes with years of eating acrylic! Right bro?

      September 2, 2009 at 1:54 pm

  5. HI
    My sissy’s hubby,
    Just saw the new entries, the paintings are fantastic. Why have I never seen these?
    Thanks again for your help with the house, YOU MANLY MAN, talented painter on canvas and walls too.
    love ya lots

    September 8, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    • asmalltowndad

      Hey Sis, some are new and the elephant was sold really quick (thanks to Jim).
      No problem helping you out, we had fun, and where else could I hear opera while painting!

      September 8, 2009 at 12:54 pm

  6. Hi, Small Town Dad. I picked up your site from June and have been meaning to comment, but wanted to read some before I did. I love this predator eye piece. I think it is pretty creative and your skill is fantastic. I also like the sequence you chose.

    September 11, 2009 at 5:22 pm

  7. This blog is so informative. Great work!

    November 8, 2009 at 8:37 am

  8. Thanks for providing the link. I don’t work in watercolors so I find these especially impressive. And they’re so small. Very cool.

    January 24, 2010 at 10:38 am

    • thank you! I have played around with most medias, but mostly acrylics

      January 24, 2010 at 4:42 pm

Leave a Reply

