from a dad's view

My first Oil Painting

 

elie

Yep, you would think after painting and drawing for 30 years, I would have attempted an oil painting. But all through high school we weren’t allowed because of the ventilation problems, and I never went to college or had art training. Because of that I just became accustom to acrylics and other medias. This is the first oil painting ever for me, measuring 24″ x 36″ finished in 2007, which took about 10 hours. I get bored with the subjects and mediums so I change frequently. Not the best thing for a fine art career but it keeps me interested. The color and contrast isn’t the best due to poor camera pic, but it will give you an idea of what it look like. 

I would gladly listen to suggestions from experienced oil artist, or anyone else with critic or direction.

14 responses

  1. severnyproductions

    you know what, i find this one to be really impressive

    September 4, 2009 at 9:47 am

  2. asmalltowndad

    Thanks! severnyproductions

    September 4, 2009 at 10:12 am

  3. Thanks for showing us this – you really know your animals. You’ve painted it from an unusual perspective which is different and it works well and looks almost 3 dimensional. I once was as close as this to a wild elephant; still here to tell the tale.

    I’ve yet to try painting with oils but it doesn’t look as if you need any advice.

    September 5, 2009 at 9:46 am

    • asmalltowndad

      Thanks, and that’s so cool being up so close to a wild animal especially something the size of an elephant. What was the reason of the encounter? Once my girls are out of the house, my first trip is to Paris for my wife and I, and then hopefully Africa for myself.

      September 8, 2009 at 7:03 am

  4. Bro

    I have a memory like an elephant, I almost forgot to leave a comment! lol
    Painting with oil was something that I could never get the hang of – maybe its because I could’nt ‘lick’ my brush. 🙂
    Keep on expressing your talent lil bro – you most certainly are the best!

    September 7, 2009 at 5:22 am

    • asmalltowndad

      A little acrylic intake never hurt anyone… or does it?

      September 8, 2009 at 7:04 am

  5. I am impressed with your first oil painting. Well done. I have restricted myself to work only in graphite, acrylics and watercolors.I really dont want to waste money gathering more painting mediums when I am not sure how long I will be painting.

    September 8, 2009 at 6:59 pm

  6. For your first oil painting, you’ve done an incredible job. My Predilection: I like elephants. And I like your elephant very much. I love the composition and the perspective on this.

    I, too, would love to paint in oils, but live in a small cramped apartment. I do love the smell though.

    September 10, 2009 at 4:26 am

  7. asmalltowndad

    Thanks Carol, I get bored so changing styles and medias keep me excited about art. Give oils a try, I believe they have water mixable oils now… but they don’t have a smell, sorry.

    September 10, 2009 at 4:44 am

  8. their is a problem in the first place

    February 7, 2010 at 5:03 pm

  9. It sounds like you’re creating problems yourself by trying to solve this issue instead of looking at why

    February 7, 2010 at 5:03 pm

    • Most definitely creating problems, I’m always second guessing the next move or thought at everything I do. But I’m not sure if that’s good or bad as long as I stay in motion and get things done. I visited Harvard while attending a M.I.T graduation last year, very impressive campus and city. My brother-in-law graduated from M.I.T. with a master and engineering degree. I love amazing minds, unfortunately I didn’t get one! Thanks for visiting.

      February 8, 2010 at 6:00 am

  10. charcoalactivity

    This is very pretty! My favorite land mammal =]

    March 21, 2010 at 4:55 pm

    • Thank you, sorry it took me awhile to reply but I’ve been missing in action and out of time!

      March 24, 2010 at 12:02 pm

Leave a Reply

