from a dad's view

Yep, another watercolor of a barn

barnfnlThis is a follow up on the last post. I finished this last night for my sister (metaphase). The scan once again isn’t the best but it gives you an idea on what it looks like. I’m testing out the best and least expensive way for some students to get into to watercolor. This set of 12, .4 oz tubes of reeves watercolors was $9.00, four nice brushes were $23.00 and watercolor coldpress paper. The barn painting was completed using this exact set. That’s one thing nice about watercolor, the tubes are small but the paint goes a long way.

There are some fantastic artist visiting my blog and I would love to hear your critics on my technic or directions to help improve my paintings. I haven’t been schooled at all, other than high school classes, so any suggestions are welcomed. I hope to be giving free classes over the winter just to get people into the arts and your suggestions will be helpful. I will learn from my students just as much as I will teach I’m sure.

12 responses

  1. inknform

    Well, not sure I can really give the best critique since most of my recent works have been digital, but I must say your watercolor application looks spot on!

    September 17, 2009 at 8:59 am

    • asmalltowndad

      Thanks innform!

      September 17, 2009 at 9:30 am

  2. I know you didn’t refer to me, but I’d just like to say that I like this one because of the details on the barn. I like that all the cracks are more visible…

    September 17, 2009 at 9:34 am

    • asmalltowndad

      Thanks Deva,
      I have been an illustrator and corporate art director for about 25 years now and I have a hard time staying free flowing, instead of tight and mechanical.

      September 17, 2009 at 9:43 am

  3. I like how you huggedthe peak of the barn with foliage, SmallTown. The grass growing up to the door is a nice touch and the finishing darks on the detail is beautiful. I’m like you. Taken art classes here and there.

    September 17, 2009 at 10:00 am

  4. What small experience I have of watercolour technique, this looks very professional to my eyes. You have a light touch with the brush and a great eye for detail as well as a real feeling for the subject – good angle etc. Your lucky future students will be in very safe hands for sure.

    September 18, 2009 at 1:58 am

  5. metaphase

    Well, I think it’s great, but I really like your style anyway. I guess b/c it’s what I grew up looking at, so it looks more “right” to me than most other artists’ renderings. I’m a pretty literal gal, so interpretations aren’t really my genre.
    Love!

    September 18, 2009 at 6:23 pm

  6. Your work is lovely- so nostalgic. Those old barns won’t last much longer and you have recorded this one beautifully. “Schooling” is not as important as lots of looking (my opinion). I am an artist and I went to art school shortly after cave painting was invented. I didn’t learn much technique there, I’m sorry to say, but I did learn the more valuable thing- to think and to see. I look at all kinds of art all the time- I’ve never met a painting, installation, video, sculpture, or performance that didn’t teach me something. Technique improves with time- keep studying those books. You have the heart of an artist.

    September 25, 2009 at 5:34 am

  7. karenesther

    Nice work!
    If I may- How long did this take and what size is it?

    September 30, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    • Thanks, it is about 8 inch x 10 inch and took under 2 hours. The photo that I used in on my sisters (metaphase) web.
      Also, thanks for visiting and being so polite (If I may), you don’t find that in young adults now days.

      September 30, 2009 at 1:11 pm

  8. karenesther

    Thanks! God gave me great parents who taught me well 🙂

    Ok I just saw the photo- great rendering! I especially like how you used a warmer palette.

    October 1, 2009 at 5:47 am

    • Thanks again, I like the warmer palettes for old barn scenes, it seems to add age to the scene a little more.
      Oh, and by the way, as a dad of two teenage girls (that are terrific) tell your parents from what I can tell so far, they did a heck of a job.

      October 1, 2009 at 6:06 am

Leave a Reply

