from a dad's view

Tis the Season-watercolor

SnowwalkI know, I know it’s not winter in Indiana yet, but it is in my world. This is the time, starting in August, that I design corporate Christmas cards, oh, I’m sorry, Holiday cards for those politically correct. The watercolor posted, is a sketch for a card that I had done for one of our customers. Most of you know that I love the beach and the heat. There is only one week that I love snow and winter weather and that’s Christmas. Every once in a while we get lucky in Indiana and receive snow during the Christmas holidays and I love it. But once the new year rolls around, I’m ready for Spring again. I think more than the weather itself, what bothers me is the short days of daylight. I get to work about 7 a.m. and then get back home around 5 p.m., during the winter it’s dark when I go to work and then dark by time I get home for the evening… HATE IT!

But as the season approaches and the temperature drops, may your home and heart be filled with warmth, no matter what religion or philosophy you believe in.

4 responses

  1. The fence and the gate had to take you forever, Ryan! I like the illustrative quality of your work and much of what you paint is peaceful. Thanks for sharing this.

    September 23, 2009 at 2:31 pm

  2. Bro

    Great lil bro!
    I think the dude in the pic is your big bro heading toward Florida. πŸ™‚
    luv ya,
    bro

    September 24, 2009 at 6:21 am

  3. Deva

    Aww.. This makes snow in the city look so idyllic! I wish it was for real as well. Now I’m starting to look forward to christmas. πŸ™‚

    September 24, 2009 at 9:50 am

  4. Oh no I couldn’t be doing with having to think about Christmas during September – and I can’t stand the dark mornings and evenings either. But this is a delicately painted picture with plenty of subtle detail. I’m always in awe of people who can paint straight lines and architectural angles. This could almost be a London snow scene.

    September 30, 2009 at 8:26 am

Leave a Reply

