from a dad's view

Saddle sore — Acrylic

This is my first painting of 2010, it’s a 11″ x 14″ acrylic. Although started on New Years Eve (Chaperoning daughters party), I finished it New years day, so it should be marked 2010, not 2009. I enjoyed doing this painting, although there wasn’t a lot of detail in the face which I normally enjoy doing, trying to get motion and height to the rider was a challenge. This will be on esty.com for sale on my etsy account (smalltownartistdad).

There is a scan line going across the image because my scanner isn’t big enough to scan the entire thing. I tried to cover it in photoshop, but it’s still visible in some areas. I hope you enjoy and hopefully many more to come in 2010!

24 responses

  1. I don’t see a scan line and I love the painting!

    January 4, 2010 at 9:58 am

  2. The painting is absolutely wonderful. I think your treatment of the background is what amazes me the most. That’s where I get the real feeling of movement in this one. I also like the lost edges in this, especially where the front of the hat meets the background and lets me know this cowpoke is about to become unseated. I am totally impressed once again!

    January 4, 2010 at 12:04 pm

    • Oh, Leslie you’re to kind… but I like it!
      As most know Frazetta is my all time favorite artist. His paintings always had movement and I think the lost edges is what gave it that movement. Thanks again for all your compliments and comments!

      January 4, 2010 at 12:24 pm

  3. Great painting, Ryan! I have just found your blog, Leslie White sent me the link. Isn’t she fantastic? She thought it would be useful for me to connect with you because I am teaching myself realistic drawing and painting, something that you do so well.

    But back to the painting. I love the hooves and dirt splotches, and especially the undefined face and lost edges. This is something I admire, but haven’t figured out myself.

    This is some very good work. Inspirational!

    January 4, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    • Leslie is amazing, and hope to someday be as great as an artist as she is.
      I’m learning everyday, and will learn from you as much as you will from me. I tried on this painting to use undefined lines on the edges of movement, it’s harder to do with acrylics because they dry so fast there’s very little time to blend but it still can be done. And to get the splatter texture near the hoofs, I just used an old toothbrush (clean of course) and raked my finger across the bristle to get the splatter.
      I went to your blog and you do incredible work, maybe if we work together we can became as good as Leslie!
      Thanks again, and keep commenting, whether to critic or compliment, I’ll take both.

      January 4, 2010 at 2:36 pm

      • Thank you for your kind words!

        About the blending acrylic… I am sure I am telling you something you already know… I don’t use acrylic, a watercolor girl here, but I saw acrylic retarder on Blick.com http://www.dickblick.com/products/blick-artists-acrylic-retarder/

        They say it slows down drying time and is used for blending. Sorry if this is old news for you, I am out of my depth with acrylic.

        January 4, 2010 at 8:09 pm

      • The retarder works fine and I do use it sometimes in the needed areas, but I also like a little dry brush effect on my paintings, especially if I’m trying to remain loose, which is hard for me to do. Thanks for the suggestion, although I’ve have been painting for years, I have no college or formal training, so I’m still learning from everyone.

        January 5, 2010 at 6:34 am

      • I’m not sure how much I’m learning – i think i just clicked on “reply ” to the previous comment instead of this one!

        January 6, 2010 at 4:01 am

  4. aswirly

    Absolutely beautiful!

    January 4, 2010 at 2:17 pm

    • Thank you Amber,
      Your work is amazing and because of you, my sister and several other photo-artist, I’m thinking of trying my hand at photography. It will be new to me, the camera will be of lower quality, and I’ll probably suck at it, but other than that, I’m going to give it a try.

      January 4, 2010 at 2:43 pm

      • aswirly

        I sincerely doubt that you’ll suck at it. lol. Remember it’s not the camera you have, it’s the eye, and you have that!! I actually paint too, but …um…photography has taken me over (for now).It’s addicting.

        January 4, 2010 at 3:11 pm

  5. I like your painting a lot!
    2010 its just started soo are many days until its finish this year again 🙂

    Take care! 🙂

    January 5, 2010 at 6:00 am

  6. Bro

    Well buck my bronco and shake my saddle –
    This is awesome lil bro!
    So very proud of my lil brother. 🙂
    Bro

    January 5, 2010 at 6:42 am

    • Thanks Bro,
      You’re not so bad either, after all it was the KISS paintings by you that got me to paint. So here’s a toast to Gene Simmons and acrylic paint!

      January 5, 2010 at 6:51 am

  7. Saddle Sore? or Saddle Soar?

    Great painting Ryan, I hope this guy doesn’t go flying off that bucking bronco!

    January 5, 2010 at 6:24 pm

    • Thanks Carol,
      I’m not sure which sore it maybe, but I bet he talks like minnie mouse after this ride!

      January 6, 2010 at 5:44 am

  8. What an amazing painting to start off the New Year!

    I know nothing about using acryilcs, nor do I speak in technical terms – all I do know is that gazing at this painting gives me great pleasure. You do have an ability to put an ‘edge’ into your pictures, especially with animals – a real sense of their nervous energy. Here you have so accurately captured the movement, the dust, the sound of the hooves crashing to the ground, the grunt of the horse, squeak of the saddle…masterfully painted.

    You really should put a proper link to your Etsy site on here. Somehow, I don’t think this will remain on it for long.

    January 6, 2010 at 1:03 am

    • Thank you June,
      I was hoping to get that effect in the painting, and your description just adds to the story.
      Sadly I haven’t been able to add blogging friends blog sites to my blog list (web ignorant), I have tried several time and I think it had worked but they never show up. So trying to add my etsy link may make my head explode, but I’ll look into doing both again.

      January 6, 2010 at 5:51 am

      • Soon as I get a minute I’ll e-mail you with careful explanations – we all started like that. 🙂

        January 7, 2010 at 8:40 am

  9. Hi there

    I agree with that last bit – learning is a continual process regardless of whether you’ve had formal training or not.

    January 6, 2010 at 3:58 am

  10. beautifully rendered: and that background just sets it off wonderfully. all the best in 2010. r.

    January 6, 2010 at 4:56 am

  11. i love this… the movement is amazing… its real good!!!

    January 6, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    • Thanks Tristan,
      I enjoy your paintings just as much, but stop painting food, my diet can’t take it!

      January 6, 2010 at 12:25 pm

  12. Another amazing work of art. Like Leslie mention, this painting really shows movement. Today i learn about lost edges which gives the illusion of movement. I try it some day. Thanks for sharing.

    January 7, 2010 at 6:42 am

Leave a Reply

