from a dad's view

Magnolia – Acrylic

Nope, never seen the movie, but I did a painting. This is an old painting that I painted for my mom and step dad when they were leaving to move to Florida. It’s an acrylic on canvas and about 32″x48″ in size. It’s steel (play on words) one of my favorites because of he colors and depth.

I am currently working on an oil painting of my youngest daughter, all in black and white and hopefully will be posting it soon, but until then I have a few oldies that I will be posting in the next several days.

18 responses

  1. the tone in this is very easy on the eye.
    Very appealing

    January 19, 2010 at 7:46 am

  2. This is beautiful, Ryan. What really captivates me is the composition. Those two little spots of white on the left side with that little bud on the right side really balance the triangle of the three prominent blooms. Love your darks!

    January 19, 2010 at 8:05 am

  3. What a beautiful painting. So nice that you painted the state flower of Louisiana for your parents move to Florida. (Florida’s state flower is the orange blossom.) 🙂

    Love the white flowers against the rich darks of the leaves. The contrast is dramatic and striking.

    January 19, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    • Thanks Carol,
      But my mom loves magnolias, not orange blossoms and what ever my mommy wants… mommy gets, she’s kind of spoiled like yourself! LOL

      January 20, 2010 at 5:13 am

  4. Thanks for showing us this lovely painting – they were also my mother’s favourite flower and could often be found sniffing the flowers on the bush we had in our garden. Sniff!

    January 20, 2010 at 7:50 am

    • I’m not sure if I have ever sniffed the blooms before so I’m not sure what they smell like, but around the sound they grow into very tall trees. They can grow to be 50 -70 feet or so, with huge leaves and blooms.
      I’m glad you enjoy it and that it brought back memories for you.

      January 20, 2010 at 8:11 am

  5. Beautiful paintings.Flowers are my favourite one 🙂

    Have a great day!

    January 21, 2010 at 6:22 am

    • Thank you for your kind comments. The flowers have been one of my favorites for a long time and they look much better in real life. I’m not the best photographer.

      January 21, 2010 at 6:34 am

  6. Mommy

    This is an amazing painting. It has moved 3 times with us. It is a fact Momma gets what she wants and doesn’t let anyone ever forget it. ha

    January 21, 2010 at 8:05 am

  7. The milky colors on the flower is just splendid and with the dark background it really shines. I love this painting, so much love and caring.

    January 21, 2010 at 8:10 pm

  8. aswirly

    So absolutely beautiful. Wow!

    January 25, 2010 at 7:48 pm

  9. This is my first time here, your work is amazing!

    February 9, 2010 at 11:16 am

    • Thank you for visiting Coconut,
      I enjoyed your blog and will return often.

      February 10, 2010 at 5:18 am

  10. ginamtheresa

    I think this is my favourite on your site. I love the simplicity and the depth of colour. I think this is exceptional!

    Gina

    February 10, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    • Thank you gina and welcome to my site. I enjoyed your site and hope to see some work of yours soon.

      February 11, 2010 at 5:38 am

      • ginamtheresa

        You’re welcome. I have a long way to go but will keep updating steadily so you can pop by.

        Wishes,
        Gina

        February 15, 2010 at 2:50 am

Leave a Reply

