from a dad's view

Lighthouse – watercolor

I have painted a few lighthouses, because of their uniqueness and the textures that are around them. Normally you have rocks, beaches, grass and of course the movement of the seas. Although my scans are always bad, this gives you an idea of what I mean. I tried to apply a goldish red touch to the rocks in the foreground to indicate a touch of sun reflecting off them and to bring them forward a bit. The size is 8″ x 8″ and is on hot pressed board. Hope you enjoy it!

15 responses

  1. Really nice, you’ve captured the movement and colours of the sea beautifully.

    February 4, 2010 at 7:10 am

    • Thank you,
      I enjoyed painting the sea because it allows the brush to dance (that’s what I call it) instead of me controlling it. If you ever watch two talented ballroom dancers dance, the movement is so natural and flowing, that movement is what I try to capture and allow my brush to do.

      February 4, 2010 at 8:08 am

  2. Oh, I love the abstract quality of this, Ryan. I think I would have liked this even without the lighthouse as I am really more intrigued with your skill of how you rendered the sky, water and rocks. The nuances that make them what they are is so beautiful in this painting!

    February 4, 2010 at 7:59 am

    • Thank you Leslie,
      I thought at first I wanted the lighthouse, larger and the main subject, but once I looked harder, I decided to push the lighthouse up and more in the background because of the water movement and rocks. I think my rendering of cliffs or rocks still go back to my fantasy painting days, Frank Frazetta always had a style that I admired and tried to duplicate. Thanks again!

      February 4, 2010 at 8:04 am

  3. I love it.The painting it’s magnificent.Now few days i was in St.Malo(France) and i loved it.It was a sunny day and the fresh air good for the health too 😉

    Have a special day,my friend!

    February 4, 2010 at 2:12 pm

  4. Love the water, rocks the sky, and especially the foam! Wonderful! You are so good at this.

    February 4, 2010 at 5:07 pm

  5. neilslorance

    Great work! nx

    February 5, 2010 at 1:06 pm

  6. dreamalittledesigns

    I have nominated you for a SUNSHINE AWARD!

    February 7, 2010 at 9:47 am

  7. Francis

    This is the painting that i would hang on my wall and admire. The lighthouse is just great, i especially like the waves. It give a sense of sea sickness watching them cos they look so real and with movement. Thanks for sharing Ryan

    February 7, 2010 at 5:56 pm

    • Thank you Francis,
      I admire your work a well, the way you take everyday life and transform it into a painting is amazing. Thanks again!

      February 8, 2010 at 5:45 am

  8. I can hear the sea and taste the salt! I like your painting very much. It captures a rocky shore with it’s lighthouse perfectly.

    February 7, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    • Thank you Carol, and prayers to you and your family.

      February 8, 2010 at 5:42 am

  9. mary lofts

    I want to be there!

    June 21, 2010 at 3:10 am

  10. mary lofts

    I just want to be there – heavenly!

    June 21, 2010 at 10:56 am

Leave a Reply

