from a dad's view

Twisted fun – Ink wash

I needed another black and white drawing to fill a small space in my studio, and very little time to paint, so I painted this.  All my life, I have always love to walk in the woods and explore.  Some of my favorite t.v. shows are survivor, man vs wild and survivorman which are shows about a person or persons trying to survive a week or month with very little brought along.  When I was younger, I would go into the forest or as we say in southern indiana (a woods) and play the entire day looking and exploring. I can’t tell you how many times that I have walked across a tree similar to the tree in the drawing, over a stream or ditch. I also can’t tell you how many time the tree gave away or I just slipped and fell into that stream or ditch. I was always climbing a tree, walking across a tree or swinging from vines that reached so high into the tree you weren’t sure and couldn’t see how it was attached, but I still climbed it and swung from it, sometimes resulting in injury (I’ve never claimed to be very smart).  Yep, I was and I guess still am a country boy at heart, never wore shoes unless my mom made me, never wore a shirt unless my mom made me and never came home until way after dark, unless my made me. Now that I think about it, I might still be in those woods, shirtless, shoeless and climbing if my mom wouldn’t have made me come in.  But with my pocket knife deep into my pocket and my trusty BB gun at my side, I’m sure this boy could have done just fine.  I was good at making traps, my knife was always sharp and I was so accurate with my BB gun that I could peck a fly off a cats ears at twenty yards with out touching a hair on the cat.  Yep, those were the days, and I still catch myself crossing ditches when hunting, only now I pick those that can hold a 190lb man and low enough to the ditch to where if I fall, things won’t get broke, because if I break something my wife might treat me like a horse and use that for an excuse to get rid of me.

If you haven’t explored a woods, grab a camera, some bug spray and get into one, you will be amazed at all of its beauty.  But be careful, there are a lot of dangers in a simple woods and study your surroundings when walking in, that way you can find your way out when finished.

Things that might make you regret going into the woods:

1.  Chiggers and Ticks, these little $#@*&? (my way of cussing), if you ever had 50 bites along your… well lets just say private parts that itch like crazy, you know why I cuss them.

2.  Not able to find your way out… never a good thing.

3.  Swinging from a vine high in the air… until you hear the cracking noise and throwing you to your back, sucking the air from your lungs.

4.  Enjoying the animals… unless man-eating bears, large cats, poisonous snakes and insects.

5.  Did I mention those Damn Chiggers and ticks!

6.  Falling… that’s all I need to say about that.

7.  Weird toothless guys playing banjo… it’s from a old movie called “Deliverance” … RUN, and don’t stop RUNNING!

Well this may help you survive a trip to the nearest woods, have fun!

29 responses

  1. Great, I loved your ink wash. I always admired anyone who could do a pen and ink drawing. I lived in the woods as a kid, it was right across the street. I would sneak along the side of my neighbor’s yard and slip into the woods for the day. I ran across a large fallen tree across the creek. I’m sure my mother would have freaked out. What great fun though.

    February 16, 2010 at 9:03 am

    • Thanks for your comment and I know what you mean, if my mom and dad knew of half the things I’ve done, I would probably still be grounded!

      February 16, 2010 at 9:11 am

  2. Oh my. This is absolutely beautiful! I think you made a wonderful choice to use ink and wash for this and allowed us to make up our own colors for our nature walk with you. You are so very talented Ryan!

    February 16, 2010 at 9:40 am

    • Thank you Leslie, you are way to kind!
      The snow has added to the beauty of the woods this weekend and I hope to take a stroll soon.

      February 16, 2010 at 9:51 am

  3. Pingback: Griffin: a drawing « Leslie White

  4. Thank you so much for your kind comment on my blog. Those chiggers….ugh. I’ve had far too many incidents with them! But it doesn’t stop our excursions into the woods! I’m going to add you to my blogroll.

    February 16, 2010 at 10:17 am

    • Thank you for your kind comment and thanks for visiting. I have so many that I need to add to my blogroll, but when I try they never show up.
      I think, I fall in the Blog Ignorant category! If I ever get time to figure it out, you’ll be added to mine also. Thanks again!

      February 16, 2010 at 10:31 am

  5. Many don’t understand how difficult a work like this is. The detail is so well done – you really have a talent for this. Your story reminded me of my brother. We grew up on a farm in Hancock County (Indiana) and my brother would disappear for as long as he was allowed. There was a deep creek running through the woods behind our farm and a pond on the adjoining farm but I don’t remember Mom worrying about him. And, oh yes…he always had his dog at his side.

    February 16, 2010 at 12:14 pm

    • Thank you Linda,
      But I’m wondering where were you when your brother was out romping? Did you not go with him? I had a dog but he was a runner, if we would let him out we would have never caught him again.

      February 16, 2010 at 12:47 pm

  6. This is a very beautiful drawing.It reminds me of “Lord of the rings”.The woods from the movie were also rich and beautiful.
    Thank you for share it!

    Enjoy your day,my friend! 🙂

    February 16, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    • Thank you,
      Although this came from a photograph, my fantasy art background seemed to leak into the style.

      February 16, 2010 at 12:45 pm

      • Great 😉
        It’s a beautiful work.As always you have lot of imagination.
        Keep having fun!

        Take care! 🙂

        February 19, 2010 at 1:27 pm

  7. I love this, Ryan! Leslie directed me here and I am so glad I came. The drawing is wonderful, as are the memories. (I once spent an entire honeymoon coated in calamine lotion, because of those darn chiggers!)

    February 17, 2010 at 5:59 am

    • Thanks for visiting Beth,
      Oh, nothing yells out romance like Calamine lotion and chigger bites. It must be love!

      February 17, 2010 at 6:04 am

  8. Bro

    Lil Bro,
    Yet another great piece from my ‘lil bro’ collection! Your article brought back memories of when we would visit grandma n’ grandpa’s, go down below the hill to the ‘little creek’, and play like we were ‘surviving in the woods’. Remember the ‘cat-tail’ potatoes? 🙂
    Of course we know what cures the ‘chiggers’ right lil bro? Can you say ‘airplane glue’? (you knew I would bring that up didnt you – lol).

    Keep following your creative path~
    ~Bro~

    February 17, 2010 at 6:06 am

    • Thanks bro,
      Yep I knew the chigger comment would bring back memories for you, but that’s the price I pay to entertain!

      February 17, 2010 at 10:25 am

  9. Oh Ryan, this is wonderfully expressive! The tree form is almost human in its movement. I love ink washes, but am too timid to try. Your piece is an inspiration for me! Love the bark textures, the wintry cold water and the dark woody skies.

    February 17, 2010 at 10:09 am

  10. blissbait

    Good Lord, Good Lord, Good Lord!!! Your art is AMAZING and FANTASTIC! My jaw dropped at this drawing of the trees. And the lighthouse….I’m seriously blown away. You are beyond gifted. Wow! Thanks for stopping by my room so I stopped my here!!! I walk away smiling and a fan! Cheers and Namaste. 🙂

    February 17, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    • Wow, thanks for such encouragement and thanks for visiting. I could tell by your blog that you have a wonderful spirit for life and fun. It shows in your creativity and art. Hope you visit again, as I will yours. And keep shining!

      February 18, 2010 at 5:38 am

  11. Really good, it reminds me of the forrest we lived near, we called it Sherwood Forrest, it was actually a few acres of someone elses land we used to sneak in as kids and play and explore all day, until getting yelled at by my mother to get home. I would have stayed there all night as well. Love trees, all kinds.

    February 17, 2010 at 10:02 pm

    • Thank you,
      I know what your talking about, we never owned a woods, but it used to not matter. No one cared if you were on their property, unlike today, but we also respected their property and never trashed it or threatened to sue, unlike today. Thanks again!

      February 18, 2010 at 5:41 am

  12. dreamalittledesigns

    I loved your inkwash and your write up, quite clever and fun. you are becoming quite the writer as well as artist!

    I love the woods, for a short walk, in a state park area. ha ha, no Hansel and Gretel lost in the woods type scares!

    February 18, 2010 at 11:49 am

  13. I am amazed at your abilities with pen and ink – I love the sketch – getting the bits to go in and out in right place is really hard and you seem to be able to do this without effort. And I love the story.
    Do you get man-eating bears round there?
    Those are scary things.

    February 18, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    • Thank you Stephen,
      Nope, no man eating bears around southern Indiana, the most dangerous thing in southern Indiana is a mans wife… just don’t tell my wife I said that! Ha Ha

      February 19, 2010 at 5:12 am

      • Like when Hagar the Horrible takes his son Hamlet (I think) on a long long journey to the middle of a dark forest to tell him the secret of life. There he looks around furtively and whispers in his ear – “men are the bosses” heh heh

        March 16, 2010 at 6:29 am

  14. I laughed at your description as a boy in the woods and all I could think of was those signs that say “NO SHOES, NO SHIRT, NO SERVICE”. I pictured you getting turned away from stores all over southern Indiana!

    You are an amazing artist and this latest piece shows off your talent very well. With just black and white (and shades of grey) you’ve gotten amazing shapes and depth. I really love this one.

    February 20, 2010 at 5:20 am

    • What are you talking about Carol, in southern Indiana it’s more like Kenny Chesneys song… No shoes, no shirt, no problem! Actually we’re not as redneck as it sounds, it might just be me.
      Thanks for your comment, I had a good time with this one and it took me back when I used to do fantasy art.

      February 21, 2010 at 7:47 am

  15. aswirly

    I really love this. What a beautiful ink wash! Gorgeous!! And I equally enjoyed reading about your time in the woods. It reminds me of all the time I spent in the mountains and forests back packing with my dad as a kid. I don’t think I ever experienced chiggers though. Sounds horrible. Had plenty of run ins with ticks and bears though ;)lol

    February 21, 2010 at 10:55 pm

  16. sheilathornton

    You do lovely work! I especially like this ink wash tree with all its curved branches.

    February 28, 2010 at 8:43 am

Leave a Reply

