from a dad's view

Willie Nelson – Watercolor

My heroes have always been cowboys, and they still are it seems.  These are lyrics from a Willie Nelson song, just one of so many great songs by Willie. This is a watercolor/ink drawing I did over the weekend. I have always had people that I had considered heroes and people that I admire.

Here is a list of my heroes and people that I admire:

1. All my parents

2. People of the miltary

3. The police and firemen

4. The original founders of our Country and it’s government

Childhood Heroes:

5. Bruce Lee, amazing man although small in size, his strength, speed and wisdom was untouchable.

6. Daniel Boone, frontiersman

7. Tarzan

Tell me who would be on your list?

20 responses

  1. Man….I like that painting…watercolor? I had no idea you could do that with watercolors.

    February 22, 2010 at 10:22 am

  2. Magnificent watercolor,my friend!You surprised the expression of his face in a wonderful way 😉
    My heroe has been Spiderman ;)) 😀

    Have wonderful day 😉

    February 22, 2010 at 1:54 pm

    • Oh the old web tosser, he was pretty cool, but I heard he was quite the swinger! LOL

      February 22, 2010 at 2:00 pm

  3. Incredibly realistic…lovely work.
    My heroes: my mother and her parents, Elizabeth Dole for being able to play nice and as an equal with “the boys”, Oprah for her strength, wisdom and “right” use of her influence, Bono and Nelson Mandela for the wisdom and perseverence to develop the Elders, Abraham Lincoln and my husband for putting up with me.

    And everyone that lost their life or displayed strength and courage on 9/11.

    February 22, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    • Thank you,
      I agree Elizabeth Dole is an incredible lady, Oprah is a wonderful person, smart and definitely good hearted, but sometimes that fogs her judgement, but means well, Bono is extremely hard working for his beliefs and of course Abraham Lincoln. And I salute and hold a place in my heart for those that lost their lives in 9/11. For the innocent that died, the rescuers that knew they might not live but went to save anyway, and the military that still defends and rescues today.

      February 22, 2010 at 2:13 pm

  4. Your realism work is absolutely astounding, Ryan. Your control and use of lost and found edges really show once again. I think that is the thing I like the most about your work.
    Heroes would have to be my family members for the fun and for the hard times, too. I have come in contact with heroes in our pets, a little tennesee walking horse named Abbey, canines too many to mention and a cat named Bobbi.

    February 22, 2010 at 8:36 pm

  5. Wow! Great painting.

    February 22, 2010 at 11:07 pm

  6. metaphase

    A couple of people I look up to? Albert Einstein (wish I could have accomplished as much by 25, except maybe the marrying my cousin part!:) American men of the World War II era, Marie Curie, and Billy Graham. I’m sure there are more, but I already look geeky enough..!:)

    February 23, 2010 at 6:51 am

    • In the words of the great Heywood Banks (comedian)
      I am older than a lot of famous dead guys
      A lot of famous dead guys didn’t live as long as me
      Oh sure, they accomplished more, in a lot less time
      But they are dead and what good does that do you?

      La la la la la la la la la la la la…

      Now if I become real famous and they know me ‘round the world
      When I croak everyone can say
      He sure didn’t do as much as some other dead guys
      But he had more time to do it in

      La la la la la la la la la la la…

      February 23, 2010 at 7:04 am

  7. You have captured Mr. Willie perfectly. Your lights and darks are always so strong particularly in this painting. The light on his face contrasted with the dark under his hat is extraordinary!

    My heroes: my parents and my husband. I’ll leave it at that.

    February 23, 2010 at 6:14 pm

    • Thanks Carol,
      Your husband… just remember that, the next time you start chewing him out for something, and tell your husband “I’ve got his back”.

      February 24, 2010 at 5:34 am

  8. Lovely picture, such a strong expression and so much detail, another wonderful piece.

    Now my hero’s are the men and women who protect us and make it possible to live the life we do, eg. Police, fire, emergency folk.
    I also look up to people who make the most of their lives no matter what life throws at them, remind me to be appreciative.

    February 24, 2010 at 1:59 am

    • Thank you, Willie has always looked a little rough, so between that and his expression, it really caught my eye.

      The heroes that you mentioned are truly heroes, unfortunately we (I) forget what they do, and how they do it, until a disaster happens.

      February 24, 2010 at 5:26 am

  9. I love this portrait! The expression and likeness are fantastic! Black and white monochromatic work has a special place in my heart. My very first artistic endeavor was B&W photography, and I always come back to B&W be that graphite or watercolor. This one has some special magic, I’ve been coming back to look at it ever since you posted it. Beautifully done!

    February 24, 2010 at 10:01 am

    • Thank you Alex,
      I love black and whites in both photography and art. I’m not sure why, but I think without color it gives a more pure study of the subject. Thanks again for such kind comments.

      February 24, 2010 at 10:20 am

  10. Wow! This is a wonderful portrait, Ryan! I bet Willie would love it!

    Believe it or not, one of my heros has always been Katherine Hepburn. When asked about children… Children? Of course not. “I would have been a terrible mother. I’m basically too selfish,” Hepburn laughs. I like that. She was a wise and frisky lady.

    February 25, 2010 at 6:37 am

    • I know this is hard to believe, but I’m noted for my Katherine Hepburn voice impression. As I speak in a shaky Katherine Hepburn voice ” your one hell of an artist you ol poop.” Thanks Beth!

      February 25, 2010 at 6:46 am

      • Laughing out loud, Ryan!!! ha ha ha

        February 25, 2010 at 7:44 am

  11. absurdoldbird

    Love your painting. Not sure if it’s paint or ink, but love it!
    🙂

    March 24, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    • Thanks again!
      This one was all watercolor. I usually do my portraits in acrylic, so this is pretty new to me but I enjoyed it.

      March 24, 2010 at 1:09 pm

Leave a Reply

