from a dad's view

Springtime Challenge!

I challenge you! O.K. it’s getting closer to spring and I’m getting excited. What I thought we might try is a painting or drawing free-for-all. I love that so many of my blog guest have styles completely different from myself. So, I picked a spring photo that I thought could be interpreted in different styles.  I doesn’t matter what media, style or interpretation you do, but I would liked for it to be this photo. And then on Monday, March 22, the first Monday after Spring weekend, we can all post them at the same time, visit each others blogs and see how art is such a wonderful thing.  On that day, I will post my painting, and with your comments that you leave for me, others can link to your blog to see your interpretation of the same photo.  The only thing I ask is not to post your painting until that day, so others won’t be influenced by your work.  I think we will all be amazed how different each will be.  This is also an opportunity to try something new, I think I’m going out of my comfort zone on this one and attempt a new approach.

This may or may not work, but the more that attempts it, the  better!

Good luck and see your art on March 22!

46 responses

  1. dreamalittledesigns

    What a fun idea! I hope I can find the time to jump in, if now, i look forward to seeing what you all do!

    March 8, 2010 at 11:20 am

    • Oh come on don’t back out on me now! Just do a fun quickie, it doesn’t have to be perfect. It is just a way to enjoy your style and others.

      March 8, 2010 at 11:32 am

  2. metaphase

    Will you accept crayon on lined notebook paper? That’s about my speed. Sounds really fun. I can’t wait to see everyone’s work.

    March 8, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    • Yep, anything. This is your chance Sis to show your hidden talent… but use the 24 color and not just the 12. Don’t fail me, I want to see an attempt, no backing out!

      March 8, 2010 at 1:38 pm

  3. I’m in and I LOVE poppies. Aren’t these poppies?

    March 8, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    • That’s great!
      I think they are poppies, but I’m no expert. It a shame that such beauty can cause so much sorrow and greed. I can’t wait to see your version!

      March 8, 2010 at 6:18 pm

      • Definately poppies – though I don’t think they are the ones that cause “sorrow & greed”. I think opium poppies are those pinkish, mauvish ones. But I’m not claiming to be an expert!

        March 11, 2010 at 11:51 am

  4. Will give it a go. 🙂

    March 8, 2010 at 3:37 pm

    • Will give it a go… who are you trying to fool, you will amaze me like always!

      March 8, 2010 at 6:19 pm

  5. Won’t promise, but will try to give it a shot. Should be fun!

    March 8, 2010 at 7:29 pm

    • Fun is what I’m looking for. What ever you do it will be great!

      March 9, 2010 at 6:38 am

  6. hehehe…may I submit a photo of your photo???

    March 9, 2010 at 6:31 am

    • I know your creative… you will come up with something!

      March 9, 2010 at 6:37 am

  7. I might like to try this… were you refering to your long-time guests, or can a newbie join your challenge? 🙂

    March 9, 2010 at 6:46 am

    • No ones a newbie here, all are welcome!
      Poets
      Writers
      painters
      photographers
      ALL are WELCOME!

      March 9, 2010 at 7:03 am

  8. THIS IS A GREAT IDEA!!! I’m in.

    March 9, 2010 at 9:21 am

  9. Hah! I’m in, what a great idea. Should be fun- or funny- since i have no idea how to paint flowers!
    Karen

    March 9, 2010 at 11:16 am

    • That’s great Karen! Anyone that can paint portraits, can paint flowers. It doesn’t matter how it turns out, just have fun.

      March 9, 2010 at 11:38 am

  10. This is a great idea, my dear friend! 😉
    Hmm…A drawing do you think that I can try or I specially a painting? We can also personalize it or it must look like in the picture? 🙂
    I don’t have the colors for the painting for the moment, but I would like to make part of this challenge me too 🙂

    Have a magnificent day, my dear friend!!! 🙂

    March 10, 2010 at 1:45 am

    • I want you to use this photo as a inspiration, do what you want, be as creative as you want. Make it abstract, cubism, realistic or how ever you wish. But most of all have fun!
      Have a wonderful day and week!

      March 10, 2010 at 5:43 am

  11. I want to get started on it today, which should work out since I’m snowed in AGAIN. Great idea and wonderful fun photo to be inspired by.
    See you soon Mar 22
    peace n abundance
    CheyAnne
    http://cheyannesexton.etsy.com

    March 10, 2010 at 8:49 am

  12. Sounds like a lot of fun for artists, I’m just a reader and can’t even draw hangman.

    March 10, 2010 at 11:23 am

    • Welcome!
      I visited your blog, I’m thinking a poem or writing on the photo would be perfect!
      If not, how about a splash of color and heart, come on go for it!

      March 10, 2010 at 11:39 am

  13. I am so IN!! Love the whole idea! We need a little springtime fun!

    March 11, 2010 at 6:14 am

    • I have started mine! It’s a really fun reference! 🙂

      March 12, 2010 at 6:37 am

      • I can’t wait to see the mix of talent!
        And there are so many wonderful talents, that visit and contribute.

        March 12, 2010 at 6:42 am

  14. I really like your idea & also the photo -I presume it’s one of yours?
    I’d like to participate, but not sure if I’ll have the time as between now & then I need to finish what I’m working on for an expo at end of month & then I have another 2 possible paintings lined up in my head + 200 school reports to write amongst other things.Oh dear, excuses, exscuses! I do like the idea of it though, despite the fact that I normally only work from my own photos & drawings.
    Actually, poppies make me think more of early summer than spring, but I guess it depends where you live. Isn’t spring really late this year? At least where I live (South West France on border with North of Spain)it’s not very typical to get snow at sea level in March & that’s what we got yesterday.

    March 11, 2010 at 11:46 am

    • I can’t take credit for the photo, it is one I chose from the net because of the color and the odd fuzzy pods, hoping to bring some creativity and styles that differ. This is a project mostly to explore each others views on the same subject, and to see just how different they may be.
      Thanks for your comment and expertise.

      March 11, 2010 at 11:59 am

  15. I just finished my contribution for this today, and now I can’t wait to see what other people will do! 😀

    March 12, 2010 at 3:09 am

    • Wow, that’s great!
      I’m excited to see it in your style of painting, this should turn out to be interesting and fun.
      Don’t forget to post it on that day and comment on my blog so I can link it. Thanks again for the participation.

      March 12, 2010 at 5:10 am

  16. Great photo, it sounds like fun =)

    March 15, 2010 at 10:53 am

  17. Pingback: Join Me In This Experiment (No, Not the Scientific Kind) « Metaphase

  18. Sorry Sis (metaphase) your comment came in with odd stuff happening to the text. But what I’m thinking your trying to say is PICK UP THOSE CRAYONS AMERICA (or Global) and JOIN THE FUN!

    March 18, 2010 at 4:49 am

  19. Its a challenge and count me in. Will certainly post my work base on your photo. But i will be on eastern time so definitely i will be on the 22nd earlier. Should i post my work on 22nd evening time say 10:30PM (Malaysia Time? Sorry for my late reply.

    March 18, 2010 at 11:21 pm

    • That’s great!
      I was worried about you for a while, I’ve been checking your blog. I have changed the date to the 24th if that helps, but turn yours in on your post when ever you need. Thanks for joining the challenge!

      March 19, 2010 at 4:19 am

  20. so are we posting tomorrow or the 24th?

    March 21, 2010 at 9:56 am

  21. Pingback: “You can learn a lot of things from the flowers.” « Speranza

  22. Oh such a awesome idea, I’m excited about seeing everybody’s interpretations.

    March 23, 2010 at 8:21 am

  23. Pingback: Celebration of Spring « A Painting A Week

  24. Pingback: poppies challenge « Duck Billed Platitudes

  25. Pingback: Springtime challenge & flowers for Christine « Carol King's Weblog

  26. please put up another challenge for april!!!

    March 28, 2010 at 10:38 am

    • Welcome Carrington,
      Thanls you so much for the interest in another challenge, but unfortunately this month looks really busy for me. Hopefully I can get out there and take a challenge photo for May. I have visited your blog and you have beautiful art, so I’m excited to see what you can do to the next challenge. Thanks again and we’ll see you in May if not sooner.

      March 28, 2010 at 5:30 pm

  27. Pingback: Mine’s Different From Yours… Or Is It? « Absurd Old Bird

Leave a Reply

