from a dad's view

Springtime is HERE! Challenge!

Wow! Wow! Wow!

What a wonderful response, and I’m so excited to see what my so talented blog friends have done with this. I’ll be honest, the first one I did, I threw it away in disappointment. I’m not happy with this one, but my wonderful wife and I went on a short anniversary trip so I didn’t have time to do anything else. O.K. enough about my excuses… I can’t wait to see what everyone else has done. SO LET THE FUN BEGIN.

Post a comment here and leave your linking web. Make sure to visit everyones blog today, to see the talent and styles!

Thanks everyone for the participation and taking the time to do this.

53 responses

  1. Hey, now this is what I pictured in my head! (and couldn’t seem to put down on the paper)
    Like this one a lot, Ryan. Thanks so much for the fun idea.
    Karen

    March 24, 2010 at 4:55 am

    • Thank you!
      Can’t wait to see what you have painted, will be visiting soon!

      March 24, 2010 at 5:04 am

  2. Yay! You posted your poppies, which look fantastic. I posted mine as soon as I saw yours go up. I, like you, wanted to redo mine, but didn’t have time, so there you go. Can’t wait to see everyone’s versions.

    This was fun! Oh, I hope you had a wonderful anniversary!

    March 24, 2010 at 4:56 am

    • Thanks Carol,
      I wanted to do more of an impressionist style but it didn’t turn out. I’m so excited to see yours and others and will be commenting on them at each.
      Had a great time in Nashville for my anniversary, lots of great music and way to much great food! Thanks again!

      March 24, 2010 at 5:01 am

  3. Pingback: Springtime challenge & flowers for Christine « Carol King's Weblog

  4. Had lots of fun. Not a flower painter but went nearer to the abstract. Thanks again for the challenge.

    March 24, 2010 at 4:59 am

    • Thanks Richard, this is what I was looking for fun and participation, so others can admire the different styles. Can’t wait to visit your blog!

      March 24, 2010 at 5:08 am

  5. Pingback: Ryan’s Poppies « Leslie White

  6. What, you don’t like yours?! It’s fabulous! I could see fairies living there happily, and I love the texture of your poofy buds. 😀

    I’m posting mine now.

    March 24, 2010 at 5:03 am

  7. Whoopee! I kept bobbing over to see your poppies. I like the burnt orange in yours and how you chose to lighten that yellowy-green in the upper background. Plus you got the fuzzy hairs that I didn’t even want to try! Love your rendition Ryan. Mine is posted. Thank-you for this fun challenge! 🙂

    March 24, 2010 at 5:07 am

  8. Happy Anniversary, Ryan! I had a ball with your challenge! Your painting is gorgeous!! 🙂

    Mine is here: http://bethparkerart.wordpress.com/

    March 24, 2010 at 5:08 am

  9. Your painting is magnificent,my friend!!!
    I love the red color a lot and the forms are great!!
    I think that your painting is much beautiful than the picture! 🙂
    Great challenge!!! 😉
    10X!!!!

    Enjoy your day!!!!

    March 24, 2010 at 5:09 am

    • Thank you Alina,
      I love the mystical version you did on your blog. Thank you my friend, you are an amazing talent!

      March 24, 2010 at 7:33 am

  10. Wow, your poppies looks great. And the colors really shine through. This is really fun, thanks for the challenge. Now i’am going to the rest of our friends sites.

    March 24, 2010 at 5:10 am

  11. absurdoldbird

    I’ve joined in too. Not sure if you’ll like it though, because of my media!

    March 24, 2010 at 5:18 am

  12. Great job everyone and I loved the challenge! Thank you, Ryan, for setting this up. I am still reviewing everyones paintings but the ones I’ve seen so far are GRRREATTTT!!

    March 24, 2010 at 5:50 am

    • Wow! What a response.
      Thank you Linda for joining in the fun. Your painting is beautiful, along with everyone else’s. Can’t wait to see more.

      March 24, 2010 at 6:12 am

  13. Hi Got your link through Leslie. Gorgeous painting! You have given these commonplace flowers a grandeur they well deserve! Love all the different interpretations of the other contributers too! Thanks!
    Lynda from ‘echostains’ and also ‘bookstains’

    March 24, 2010 at 5:52 am

    • Thank you for your kind comments and for visiting!
      My first attempt was an impressionist style, similar to the Van Gogh self portrait on your blog sight, but it wasn’t turning out as I had hoped for and I ran out of time to finish another. So I painted one in my normal style. Thank you again for the visiting as I will be visiting your blog.

      March 24, 2010 at 6:05 am

  14. Dear Ryan: Your poppies are gorgeous. Sincerely: Bree.
    Seriously, gorgeous watercolor. My painting took a COMPLETELY different direction than when I began and ended up dark, as most of my work often does. 🙂 This was a great and fun idea!

    March 24, 2010 at 6:41 am

    • Thank you Bree!
      I love how you turned the reference into your own Alice in wonderland fantasy, and what rich beautiful colors. Thank you for your time and talent!

      March 24, 2010 at 7:35 am

  15. Beautiful poppies and a great idea of challenge, Ryan. I did not participate because I had two paintings in the works and thought that taking on a third would be too much. Now I am sad that I didn’t – there are poppies on everyone’s blog, but not mine :(. I love your sunshine at the horizon, and the mossy fuzzy green of stems and leaves.

    March 24, 2010 at 10:21 am

    • Thank you Alex,
      I did this mostly to showcase the talent that visits my blog. I was hoping to see poppies at your site and was disappointed that they weren’t there, but your paintings are amazing whether poppies or portraits. Who knows maybe myself or someone else will do another challenge in the future. Thanks again for your compliments and comments!

      March 24, 2010 at 10:37 am

  16. Oh you’re picture is wonderful, represent spring so well. It looks like the poppies have awoken and soaking up all the spring time sun rays.

    I quickly created something last night and will take a photo later on when its light.

    I can’t wait to see everybody’s interpretations.

    March 24, 2010 at 10:50 am

    • Thank you,
      I was hoping that you were going to post a version of your poppies. Your style is so unique and I’m excited to see what you have done. Make sure to take the time to visit the others, they are amazing!

      March 24, 2010 at 11:04 am

      • I’ve finally uploaded my picture. Thanks for the challenge this has been awesome and so much fun seeing everybodies interpretation. I look forward to another challenge in the future.

        March 25, 2010 at 2:25 am

  17. absurdoldbird

    Forgot to say – I really like your own painting of your photo!

    March 24, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    • Thank you!
      The painting is mine, but the photo is not, I found this and thought it may be used in interesting and various styles. Thanks again!

      March 24, 2010 at 12:35 pm

  18. Pingback: It’s a springtime challenge « new mexico mtn girl's weblog

  19. Ryan,
    Your painting is absolutely gorgeous. I love the color and feel of the buds not yet opened. I had sooo much fun doing this. thanks for the invite. My paintinghttp://wp.me/pj6XA-eJ is very bright and I love it, but will sell it on my etsy store
    peace n abundance
    CheyAnne
    please let me know when you do another one. Now I’m off to see everyone else’s

    March 24, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    • Thank you ChyAnne,
      Your painting is absolutely beautiful and I’m happy that you had fun with the challenge. I see a quick sell coming on your esty account real soon! Thanks again for joining the challenge!

      March 24, 2010 at 7:46 pm

  20. aswirly

    Amazing! So many talented people. I love your painting Ryan, and everyone’s version of the picture too!

    March 24, 2010 at 4:38 pm

    • Thank you, but where is yours? I know your creative and I was hoping that you would join in the fun. So, I guess I’ll forgive you this time… oh, who am I kidding, I couldn’t be mad at you, your always way to sweet!
      This grew much bigger than I had imagined, but I love it. So many talented people joined in and brought the imagination, creativity and beauty to my blog and theirs. Thank you for your kindness and comments!

      March 24, 2010 at 7:44 pm

  21. Pingback: What. You Don’t Like It? « Metaphase

  22. metaphase

    Ok. I did it. Everyone, now try not to be too jealous when you feast your eyes on it. I think with one look you’ll see where the talent is in our family. (Ok, it’s not me.)

    http://metaphase.wordpress.com/2010/03/25/what-you-dont-like-it/

    March 24, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    • O.K. everyone, not everybody can be my sister and have her talents, so let’s all just try to get along and visit her blog even though her talents exceeds ours! Hey Sis with all kidding aside, I’m so proud of you for posting a crayon version of the reference. I just wished it was on sketch paper and not lined paper, although now that I think of it, lined paper is so you! Thanks and Love, Sis.

      March 24, 2010 at 7:50 pm

  23. metaphase

    Ok, so in all seriousness now, the work all these people have done is absolutely amazing. I went to all the links, and they’re all so different and beautiful. What talent you all have. I really admire each and every one.

    Love,
    An art lover but not doer.

    March 24, 2010 at 6:38 pm

  24. Pingback: A small town dad’s spring time challenge entry :) « Ambiguous Artistry

  25. Your all so talented this is inspiring. Art is so beautiful.

    March 25, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    • Thank you Alonso,
      There are a lot of talented people that visit my blog, and I believe you can count yourself in that group. I would like to see you draw a person unemployed, smoking, drinking a beer, overweight, eating a cheeseburger and then in a thought bubble above his head put “Thank goodness other tax payers have to pay my healthcare”. I would but I’m not that good at cartoons. Anyway, thanks for visiting and let me know if you decide to do the cartoon.

      March 26, 2010 at 4:17 am

  26. Sorry I missed the challenge…but these are terrific responses!

    March 26, 2010 at 12:24 pm

    • Thank you and welcome Cathyann,
      I tried to leave a comment on your blog, but failed.
      You do beautiful work and I would have loved to see your version of the challenge. Hopefully someone else might give us challenge in the future. Thanks again!

      March 26, 2010 at 12:45 pm

  27. Whoa, now…hello Ryan World, this is gorgeous. Truly.

    No poppies in my world, yet, but I do have Queen Anne’s Lace? My they come out and play with your poppies?

    http://www.patcoakley.com/c/digitalpbc/img-show/I0000270c1HtnCoM

    March 27, 2010 at 1:56 am

    • Welcome!
      Thank you for your comments and I hope you find fun, interest and sometimes dissagreements at, as you would say Ryan’s world!

      March 28, 2010 at 5:39 pm

  28. blissbait

    Oh! What a VERY COOL thing You’ve done here! Your poppies are BEAUTIFUL, as are the others I’ve seen! Talk about spreading joy….Thank You! Hope Ya’ll had a great trip! Cheers and Namaste. 🙂

    March 28, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    • Thank you, and yes we had a blast. We always seem to have a lot of fun, especially when we go on a trip or vacation away from our daily routine.

      March 29, 2010 at 4:44 am

  29. Hi Ryan – here is a late submission – at last. I love the definition in your painting – Stephen

    April 11, 2010 at 11:01 am

  30. That is fantastic Stephen,
    They are both wonderful and I’m not sure which one I like best. Your web address did not show, but I have search it out and I hope you don’t mind if I post it for others to go to and view your works. Thanks again for visiting and having interest enough to do version of the challenge.

    http://sjqwatercolour.wordpress.com/

    April 12, 2010 at 4:37 am

    • Ah – thanks for doing that – and thank you for setting up this interesting project for the community. S

      April 13, 2010 at 10:40 am

  31. I didn’t get to take part in this painting expedition, what a lot of fun it looks to have been, but I have had immense enjoyment at looking at all the different styles of painting the poppies, what a lot of talent, and also heaps more beautiful artistic blogs to visit, thank you. Oh, your painting is absolutely beautiful.

    April 28, 2010 at 4:07 am

    • There is a summer time challenge at one of the other blogs. the post is at the top of my blog list. Richard does wonderful painting and I’m sure yours are more than welcomed. The challenge is of a lighthouse near you or one that he has posted. I hope you join in and do something. Have a great day and thanks for the kind comments.

      April 28, 2010 at 4:15 am

  32. I discovered your entry today, a bit late for timely participation. Thought it would be fun to send you a link to my little oil sketch of this year’s first poppy bloom outside my back door.

    http://chriscarterart.wordpress.com/2010/04/30/the-first-poppy-of-2010/

    I don’t know how to make that an instant link.

    May 3, 2010 at 9:43 am

    • Your poppies are incredible, great texture and richness.
      There is another challenge presented by http://richardmcnaughton.wordpress.com/. It a summer challenge of a lighthouse near you or using the photo provided. Take a look and hope to see you post the challenge in June. Thanks for visiting!

      May 3, 2010 at 10:00 am

Leave a Reply

