from a dad's view

This is no Easter Bunny!

That’s right, if you see this thing bringing you eggs this weekend… RUN!  I’m sorry to post such a evil painting this weekend, but my time has been extremely busy so I have to post this old painting I did for a friend in 2005. He is into the fantasy card games and wanted me to paint this creature from one of his cards.  It’s all acrylic on canvas and painted in two evenings. I haven’t posted very many of my acrylics and thought this might be interesting for some of you to see.  Most of my acrylics have been sold or given away with no photo archiving of them, so I have very little to show for them.

In my earlier years of painting, almost all were either landscaping and fantasy, but mostly fantasy.  Now I try to mix it up for my own interest more than anything else.

I hope you enjoy and Happy Easter!

18 responses

  1. absurdoldbird

    I like it!
    🙂

    April 2, 2010 at 7:50 am

    • Thank you, but I’m afraid your latest blog is much more beautiful than this thing. I was hoping to do an Easter based painting but just flat out ran out of time. Be safe and have a great weekend!

      April 2, 2010 at 7:54 am

  2. It is cool and a little scary! Very interesting too. I like!

    April 2, 2010 at 9:54 am

    • It’s been awhile since I have painted anything like this but it’s fun when I do. Thanks

      April 3, 2010 at 5:36 am

  3. That is mitty epic… i like this peice… The color is great… and that is no easter bunny… for sure!!!

    April 2, 2010 at 11:22 am

    • Oh come on, you wouldn’t want this delivering candy to your house? Me either!
      Thanks Triston!

      April 3, 2010 at 5:37 am

  4. Scary! That better not be bringing me Easter chocolate this year!

    April 2, 2010 at 7:22 pm

    • Hey if it’s bringing me CHOCOLATE, bring it on! I’ll do anything for chocolate! Thanks Carol!

      April 3, 2010 at 5:38 am

  5. Thanks Ryan. Now I’ll have nightmares! 🙂 Your vision is vast, for sure. The detail in this is cool and the darks are wonderful, setting off everything else. Thanks for sharing it!

    April 2, 2010 at 8:25 pm

  6. Awesome Ryan, so much detail, he/she/it is wonderful. I love the marbled colours in the background.
    Happy Easter 🙂

    April 4, 2010 at 4:42 am

    • Thank you, a little spooky but fun. I starting to get back into the acrylics again. I had gotten a burnt out on them and went to watercolor, but now I think i’ll just play around with both. Thank again!

      April 4, 2010 at 6:04 pm

  7. Francis

    Nice one Ryan,can’t wait to see more of your fantasy creature. Happy Easter.

    April 4, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    • Thanks Francis,
      I bet you haven’t seen anything like this in your markets buying fruits! At least I hope not!

      April 4, 2010 at 6:16 pm

  8. This is great, Ryan! I didn’t save any record of my old acrylic paintings, either! I promise you, none were this good! (or this scary) 🙂

    April 5, 2010 at 6:27 am

  9. Wicked and wonderful. I love the pink/magenta area around the face. Really makes it pop.

    April 5, 2010 at 2:14 pm

  10. Camilla

    TWO EVENINGS! How is that possible… I spend two evening drawing a little car for my son! Anyways, it’s really cool, and my brother used to be really into those things, so I’ve seen a lot of them. I’m just wondering if he could (maybe?) be like the monsters in monsters inc? Really good on the inside?

    April 7, 2010 at 4:01 am

    • Because I have used acrylics all my life, they are actually the fastest media for me. I love the quick drying time and if you use a hair dryer drying time is even quicker. Also when I say two evening that usually means I was up till 2 or 3 in the morning painting, which used to be my favorite time to paint.
      Oh by the way, I love Monsters inc. and I’ve heard they are coming out with a new one. Thanks again!

      April 7, 2010 at 4:29 am

Leave a Reply

