from a dad's view

What’s life without Morals?

That’s right, I have no morels, and life with out morels, makes life hard to live. Some say that you don’t need any morels, and maybe that is what they were taught growing up, their parents didn’t have any, so they taught their children that they didn’t need any, and maybe that is what’s wrong with people now days. But on the other hand, the more people who want morels, the fewer it leaves us.

Yes, I’m speaking of Morels and not Morals.  It is the season in southern Indiana and Kentucky.  These ugly, little, brain looking like growths, are sooooo good!  The sad thing is they grow in only a few selected woods in the area, and the season only last a few weeks depending on weather. The other competitions you face when trying to find them are, other people getting them before you, deer and other animals eating them, and their short life span.  But once you find a woods and if you pick them correctly, you ca go back to that same place every year and find them again.  As far as picking them, you always pinch them off at the ground level, leaving the roots. other than that, there is nothing to it. The other problem, which is a very important one, is to make sure you know what you’re looking for. That and in our area, ticks.  Eating the wrong thing or a mushroom can kill you, so make sure you go with someone who knows what to pick and spray yourself with some type of bug spray before entering the woods.  But it is a fun thing to do with the family and kids love to find them.

Preparing and Cooking:

1. When you return home, split the morels length ways down the middle, top to bottom.

2. let soak over night in cold salt water in the refrigerator.

3. After you have soaked them, drain off the old water and Bugs, and yes I said bugs, they will be there. Rinse with new water and drain.

4. Some roll the morels in egg before the flour, others roll them directly in flour, either way can be done. The flour should have plenty of black pepper, all placed in a bag for shaking.

5. Get your oil good and hot before placing the morels in the skillet. Fry up to a golden brown and then lay them on a paper towel for draining the oil.

6. Salt and eat while hot, they are really bad when cooled off or cold, but heaven when hot.

Have fun finding them and have even more fun eating them, but just stay out of my woods!

20 responses

  1. Hey, they are not ugly! I think they are beautiful. I love mushrooms – to pick and to eat. I think they are amazing creatures – biologically, aesthetically and culinary. I love how you worked their spongy heads, and the colors are scrumptious.

    April 7, 2010 at 9:47 am

    • That’s funny I’m on your blog right now responding to your hands. Great minds think the same I guess! LOL
      Nope your wrong… they’re ugly, but oooohhh soooo good! Let me know when the dinner bell is ringing, I can smell them now!

      April 7, 2010 at 10:01 am

  2. That’s a gorgeous painting, Ryan! I am so happy to see the instructions. A friend picked some yesterday and I am supposed to get them tonight. I wouldn’t have had a clue how to prepare them. Thanks!! 🙂

    April 7, 2010 at 12:41 pm

    • Thank you Beth. What time should we be over for dinner? I’ll bring the wine.
      Make sure to cook them until they are fully cooked.

      April 7, 2010 at 12:55 pm

      • You saved my butt, Ryan. If I hadn’t read your blog yesterday, I would have been clueless, but I confidently fried them up. They were wonderful!! Cooked thoroughly and piping hot! 🙂

        April 8, 2010 at 5:04 am

      • I’m glad to help, I thought there was a wonderful smell in the air last night, it must have been you cookin them up!

        April 8, 2010 at 5:20 am

  3. Love the colors you chose for these, Ryan. Do you go morel hunting? I like how you handled the lighter areas. Just a glint of light sifting through the trees!

    April 7, 2010 at 2:03 pm

    • Thanks Leslie,
      Yes, growing up my dad and I hunted them almost every evening when in season. We would find buckets full each year, but now I still look but very few woods still produce them. But this Sunday, my neighbor says he’s going to take me where I’ll be able to find plenty. Can’t wait! Thanks again.

      April 7, 2010 at 5:26 pm

  4. GRREEAAT Painting! I’m an egg and flour girl myself. Morels are a high point of my culinary year.

    April 7, 2010 at 2:39 pm

    • Thank you Linda,
      I would imagine that your a great cook. We just keep it simple, it’s such a great taste just on their own. I wish a person could grow them in a garden, that and tomatoes, and I would be set! Thanks again.

      April 7, 2010 at 5:30 pm

  5. Francis

    I like the idea of picking mushroom fresh from the ground, they seems so natural and delicious. Of course, if you pick the wrong one it will have serious consequences. We have some grown nearby my house but we dare not pick them not sure if they are eadable or not. Nice picture of the morels by the way, very detail.Your receipe makes be druling now.

    April 7, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    • I was not sure where in the world morels grew, but it sounds like you have them there as well. We do have smooth topped mushrooms that grow here but they are very posioness, but the morels are so distinct in shape and looks, that they are easy to see the difference. I am not a huge fan of mushrooms, but morels, I absolutely love. Thanks for visiting!

      April 7, 2010 at 5:35 pm

  6. Oh gorgeous piece Ryan, I personally haven’t seen a morel myself but you picture makes them look very cute and unique.

    April 7, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    • Thank you Chloe,
      They are very unique in shape, some have a tall neck 6-8″ with a small top, usually brown, other are short, with a larger top, usually gray. They have nick names but your to young for me to repeat them. LOL Thanks again!

      April 8, 2010 at 4:18 am

      • LOL oh right. Where I’m from (well not the city but the regional areas lol)there are big pine plantations and have those lovely red spotted toadstools. Nature creates such beautiful things.

        April 8, 2010 at 4:45 am

      • God has created amazingly beautiful things, and some of the most beautiful are actually the most dangerous, take my wife for an example… just joking! I love her, scared of her, but I love her! LOL

        April 8, 2010 at 4:53 am

  7. Yum! Are they similar to Shitake? They have to be soaked as well~

    April 8, 2010 at 2:10 am

    • I’m not sure what a shitake is, but from what I have seen looking them up, I don’t believe they are. A morel has a real starchy flavor and texture compared to a mushroom or shitake. It is hard to describe the flavor because they are so unique. That is why they are so sought after and unfortunately a very short growing season. I hope this helps and if you get a chance to try some, I think you will love them. Thanks again!

      April 8, 2010 at 4:23 am

  8. I like your painting, but don’t think I’ve had morels. They look spongy.

    April 8, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    • Thank you Carol,
      I’m not sure if they grow on the east coast. They are hard to describe, almost like playdo in texture, but taste a lot better… and yes I’ve eaten both! LOL

      April 8, 2010 at 1:06 pm

Leave a Reply

