from a dad's view

Acrylic

This is a scene taken from the gardens behind my house… just joking! Trailers don’t have columns… Just joking, I don’t live in a trailer!  Actually this is an acrylic painting I started at the end of last week and didn’t get to work on it much over the weekend, but I wanted to post it in a beginning stage.  My camera, which I’m still hoping to get a new one soon, takes crappy pictures, but this will at least give you an idea of what I’m working on.  I love old architecture, the craftsmanship and beauty is amazing, especially seeing that they used rough tools and no computers for the engineering. I’m hoping to get a few evenings this week to finish it, but I have plenty to do on the old “honey – do list”.  It’s kind of exciting to pick up the old acrylics tubes again and splash some color on a canvas.  Well, I hope you like it and hopefully by Friday I’ll have the finished product.  See Ya soon!

23 responses

  1. Francis

    Very nice reflection and sunlight, can almost feel the serenity of the place. Can’t wait to see the finish work.

    April 19, 2010 at 11:02 am

    • Thank you Francis,
      I am not as good as you on catching light and making it come alive, but I try. Thanks again!

      April 20, 2010 at 7:01 am

  2. It is very exciting to see paintings in progress. I can’t wait to see the fginished product. Are you going to tell us the name of the location you are painting?

    April 19, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    • Thank you Linda,
      I should have it finished by the weekend, but just depends on everything else going on right now.

      April 20, 2010 at 7:03 am

  3. Wow, I love this! The perspective and repeating pattern really take you in. Is that a door in the end? It makes me curious what’s behind it. The sunlight is beautiful!

    April 19, 2010 at 4:03 pm

    • Thank you Alex,
      The repeating pattern and the over powering light is exactly why I picked this photo. The light was so brilliant that it almost wipes out all color in the right lower bottom corner.

      April 20, 2010 at 7:05 am

  4. aswirly

    It is so beautiful. I CAN’T WAIT to see it finished :))

    April 19, 2010 at 5:47 pm

  5. This is gorgeous already, Ryan! I look forward to seeing the finish! 🙂

    April 20, 2010 at 6:33 am

    • Thank you Beth,
      It is taking me a little bit to get used to the acrylics again.

      April 20, 2010 at 7:17 am

  6. breetsuts

    I LOVE THIS. It reminds me of the monasteries and convents in Italy. Also? I kind of like it unfinished, but I don’t know why. Beautiful colors and composition!

    April 20, 2010 at 6:37 am

    • I hope to someday see them in real life, they are absolutely beautiful. As far as being unfinished, that just may be, if my wife and family doesn’t stop giving me a “honey do list” you know… Honey do this and honey do that! LOL

      April 20, 2010 at 7:22 am

  7. Wow so life like Ryan, another stunning piece can’t wait to see it finished… it looks fantastic now.

    April 21, 2010 at 10:57 am

  8. Camilla

    Oh, I want to live in this garden! The shadows from the columns is very good! Love it!

    April 22, 2010 at 11:10 am

    • As long as I had someone else to do the lawn mowing… me too!
      I love the old architecture, it had so much more style and craftsmanship to it.

      April 23, 2010 at 7:14 am

  9. I missed this, Ryan. It is so peaceful! You are so good with perspective!

    April 22, 2010 at 6:06 pm

    • Thank you Leslie,
      Between the warming sun and the feel of zen, it really caught my eye. Thanks again!

      April 23, 2010 at 6:50 am

  10. I look for photographs like this…a beautiful piece.

    April 26, 2010 at 4:39 am

  11. I’ve always liked these architectural paintings. You’ve captured the columns and arches perfectly. I almost expect to see a medieval monk with a long brown robe come walking down the inside area.

    BTW, I was thinking of trying something in acrylic. What brand would you recommend and which colors would I need to start off?

    April 28, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    • Leslie, probably could help you on this more than myself. Although I have been painting for awhile, I have never been professional. On that note, I use a lot of liquitex and Windsor, they are easily available in my area, and they seem to have a lot of pigment for the price. I have never used the real expensive brands, and the real cheap brands are usually transparent and low pigment. As we would say around here “I’m sure that’s as clear as mud” but I hope it helps. Thanks Carol and can’t wait to see an acrylic from you. If you need any technic help with acrylics let me know, that I can help you with.

      April 29, 2010 at 4:47 am

  12. Love the way you use the columns as a barrier to the out side. Look forward to seeing the finished painting

    April 29, 2010 at 5:53 pm

    • I’m hoping to finish this one this weekend, but I’m a little under the weather for the first time in years, but hopefully I can still finish it. Thank Richard, and I hope the challenege is going well!

      May 1, 2010 at 2:02 pm

Leave a Reply

