from a dad's view

Dancing with the Stars-Native American watercolor

This 5 x 7 inch watercolor is a tribute to the beauty and the spirit of the Native American dances.  Although I’m not finished with the details, I wanted to go ahead and post it today because I’m not sure when I’ll be able to get back to hit.  The beautiful chants and the dance is a memorable thing to witness.  I have been taking my kids to the Native American days at Angel Mounds for years. At this weekend gathering, several tribes join in traditional dance, story telling, drums and chants along with games for the kids, flint knapping, pottery and other creative activities.  If you ever have the opportunity to see such a site or be involved with one, I would suggest you do so. The spiritual feeling you will leave with, will excite you.  I hope you enjoy the painting and I hope you will return to see future paintings!

14 responses

  1. This is very accomplished. I admire your talent and am inspired to leave the world of ATC’s and get back to something a little more rigorous. The really dark values in the background make the face pop. Just great!

    April 30, 2010 at 1:18 pm

    • Thank you Linda, the intensity in his face and the power of the dance is what I was hoping to capture. Have a great weekend!

      May 1, 2010 at 2:00 pm

  2. I like it now. I am amazed you can get that much in a 5×7 space. I know, small brush…but still. Hard work and a beautiful result!

    April 30, 2010 at 4:55 pm

    • Thank you Leslie, the single brush was a challenge that I decided to stay with, it forced me in to doing things with it that I normally wouldn’t have. Thanks again!

      May 1, 2010 at 1:59 pm

  3. Totally awesome! I love the intensity of it, the movement with its flying feathers is almost fierce – beautiful!

    April 30, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    • Thank you, power and grace is what I was trying to capture. There is such an amazing beauty to their dance.

      May 1, 2010 at 1:52 pm

  4. Your talent is quite amazing.

    May 1, 2010 at 2:13 am

    • Thank you, you are way to kind, but I do appreciate it. Thanks again!

      May 1, 2010 at 1:50 pm

  5. I cannot believe this beauty is only 5 x 7! You’ve gotten so much detail and intensity in such a small space. The feathers and the bead work is incredible.

    May 1, 2010 at 6:42 pm

    • Thank you Carol,
      This was a fun one to do, I enjoy painting detail.

      May 2, 2010 at 9:44 am

  6. I love all the light and shadow on this piece, Ryan! It’s really amazing! We have Indian Pow Wow’s here every Labor Day weekend, but I have never gone. They are full of traditional dress, custom and dance. Maybe I need to make time, huh. 🙂

    May 3, 2010 at 4:19 am

  7. Wow breath-taking piece Ryan, so much detail. You’re really done a wonderful job this time.

    May 4, 2010 at 1:43 am

    • Thank you, I enjoyed the detail. Have a great day or night… not sure what it is for you!

      May 4, 2010 at 4:20 am

  8. metaphase

    Love it. It’s great to see your diversity. I can admit it. I’m a little jealous 🙂

    May 4, 2010 at 9:18 am

Leave a Reply

