from a dad's view

GoldFinch Watercolor

There must be a God,

a creator of such creatures,

a splash of golden yellow,

upon their feathers and their features.

Dancing among the thistles,

as though kids in play,

as others flying in,

while the others dance away.

The males wear a toupee of black,

with golden yellows shining bright,

while the females beauty is faded,

their colors a little slight.

More beauty attires the males,

as they strut and do their dance,

trying to impress the females,

as they hope and to have a chance.

A touch of golden yellow,

on God’s Earthly painting of wonder,

full of amazing colors and life,

so stop, look and ponder.

26 responses

  1. aswirly

    This is so beautiful and I love the writing too. The background and thistles are so exquisite, in addition to the lovely finch. What a cheery sight to start my day 🙂

    May 19, 2010 at 7:15 am

    • Thank you,
      I have so many styories and writings that just pop in my head… it’s just to bad I can’t write worth a darn! I’ll leave that up to you pros!

      May 19, 2010 at 6:16 pm

  2. This has got to be my favorite of yours, thus far. How do I say it. I am drawn into the softness, number one. I think that is because it is so abstract and the way you handled it makes it look like the light and space goes on forever. Second, that thistle head strikes an excellent and pleasing contrast to the detail and brightness of the bird. Very, very GOOD!

    May 19, 2010 at 10:06 am

    • Thank you Leslie,
      I enjoyed the background more than the finch although the finch was meant to be the main object. I had a lot of fun with it.

      May 19, 2010 at 6:15 pm

  3. Yes there is a Creator. Nice painting. Holly @ Creative Adventures.

    May 19, 2010 at 4:20 pm

    • Thank you Holly,
      I enjoyed your blog as well, and the paintings from your photo was a lot like the springtime challenge I had here. Check out everyones paintings on my springtime challenge post, they were all amazing.

      May 19, 2010 at 6:13 pm

  4. Wonderful! Loved the colour and the background It is nice the progression in the work.

    May 19, 2010 at 6:25 pm

    • Thank you Richard,
      All my blog friends are a motivation and inspiration, because of your works and others. Thanks again!

      May 19, 2010 at 6:50 pm

  5. blissbait

    Lovely, Lovely, LOVELY words and painting! I’m smiling SO big right now. Thank You! Cheers and Namaste. 🙂

    May 19, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    • Thank you Bliss,
      As long as your smiling, that’s all I can ask of my paintings! Cheers to you

      May 21, 2010 at 10:21 am

  6. Oh Ryan, I really love the white sparkly things. I know they don’t sparkle, but they make the whole painting sparkle! I really love the finish to this painting! 🙂

    May 20, 2010 at 5:37 am

    • Thanks Beth,
      I did use white acrylic to get the seed in flight and I think the gloss to it does give a hint of sparkle.

      May 21, 2010 at 10:19 am

  7. metaphase

    Strangely, I think it’s the background that makes this one so great. I really love this one, and I’m not into birds usually.

    May 20, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    • Thanks Sis,
      I to enjoy the background as much or more than the finch.
      Can’t wait till next week to see you guys!

      May 21, 2010 at 10:16 am

  8. This is beautiful, Ryan. I especially love the soft background, and how you rendered the seeds. I agree with Beth, they do seem to sparkle.

    May 21, 2010 at 10:02 am

    • Thank you Karen,
      I’m always trying to bring a little Sparkle to you and others!

      May 21, 2010 at 10:15 am

  9. A very graceful, beautiful painting. And your writing as well.

    May 22, 2010 at 4:19 am

  10. Wow wow wow Ryan, this piece is so beautiful. I love how delicate the flowers are and how striking the finch is.

    May 22, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    • Thank you and sorry I haven’t visited your blog lately, I’ve been crazy busy lately but will visit soon. Thanks so much!

      May 23, 2010 at 5:25 pm

      • Oh that’s fine, I’ve been absent lately anyway. I hope to have more of a presence now though.

        May 24, 2010 at 8:35 pm

  11. absurdoldbird

    Pretty poem and beautiful painting and image!
    🙂

    June 5, 2010 at 3:58 am

  12. This should be in a postcard. Your painting is really amazing. The bird full of life and seround by soft colors and flowers. Nice work Ryan.

    June 6, 2010 at 3:33 pm

  13. oh wow, this one is really beautiful.

    June 11, 2010 at 7:36 am

    • Thank you Rachel and welcome to my blog. You seem to have talent going in all directions, I applaud your work.

      June 11, 2010 at 8:05 am

Leave a Reply

