from a dad's view

Lighthouse Summer Challenge-My Version

This is my watercolor and tech pen version of the Summertime challenge put on by http://richardmcnaughton.wordpress.com. Richard posted this challenge using his photo of a lighthouse or you can also use a lighthouse of your own.  Well, being from southern Indiana there’s not a wide variety of lighthouses, so I used the one Richard had offered, although I summered it up.  I wanted the Light and a few trees to break free of the paintings border by extending them beyond the paintings frame.

I can’t wait to see other artists versions and I’m glad that there was enough interest in the spring challenge that Richard brought it alive again in this summer challenge.

17 responses

  1. Francis

    Nice work Ryan. Just love how you blend all the different colors together. Happy summer day.

    June 21, 2010 at 5:39 am

    • Thank you Francis, I enjoyed your just as much. I had just told someone here at work, that your art has become one of my favorites.

      June 22, 2010 at 4:31 am

  2. Wow Ryan! a beautiful lighthouse and what an interesting effect with having some trees and the lighthouse come out of the border!

    June 21, 2010 at 5:40 am

    • Thanks Carol,
      Nothing like putting it off till the last minute, but we finished in the end.

      June 22, 2010 at 4:34 am

  3. This is wonderful, Ryan! It feels so fresh and the shadows around the buildings are especially good!!! I’m glad you started something with your spring challenge. This is fun!

    June 21, 2010 at 6:02 am

    • Thank you Beth,
      Yep it has been fun to see what others create, so many styles, so many technics and so much talent. I’m Richard picked up the ball and ran with it.

      June 22, 2010 at 4:39 am

  4. What an interesting composition, Ryan! You found a way to create height and still use a horizontal format. I can see the designed on to a greeting card with the top of the lighthouse as a cut-out. You succeeded, for sure, in making the trees and shrubbery look summery. Beautiful. 🙂

    June 21, 2010 at 6:51 am

    • Thank you Leslie,
      and I was just joking you on your blog, you know that I have nothing but respect and admiration for your talent.

      June 22, 2010 at 4:41 am

  5. Very interesting composition. I would never have thought of this approach. Great painting! Fresh and real.

    June 21, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    • Thank you Linda,
      I can see the illustrator in mine compared to all of the others. I loved the stormy, crashing waves and the colors used on your painting. Beautiful job! Maybe one of these days I will break free of my illustration ways and become an artist.

      June 22, 2010 at 4:52 am

  6. Great! Love the way you divided the painting. You also captured the feel of the Lighthouse the way it is at Point Clark. Great job

    June 21, 2010 at 6:53 pm

    • Thank you Richard,
      I enjoyed your painting tremendously, and thank you for putting on another challenge for our friends and talents.

      June 22, 2010 at 4:44 am

  7. blissbait

    Hey! I bopped over here hoping You’d done a lighthouse! I love Your calm, summer loveliness in contrast to Richard’s moody stormy one. Super cool! I also love how You laid it out…the lighthouse towering above the picture itself. Really lovely!!! Thank You and Cheers and Namaste. 🙂

    June 21, 2010 at 9:24 pm

  8. great idea! looks awesome!

    June 22, 2010 at 4:31 am

  9. absurdoldbird

    You get a real sense of scale from the way you’ve extended it beyond the frame.
    🙂

    June 22, 2010 at 4:54 am

  10. Ryan! This looks amazing! My internet has been down until today, so I haven’t been able to post mine, but I’ve loved looking at others and they are just so great. I love your use of vivid colors.

    June 28, 2010 at 2:48 pm

Leave a Reply

