from a dad's view

Man up and Fix IT! Oil Spill

This is a quick marker and watercolor sketch for a painting, depicting the disgust I have for all the destruction of the gulf.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for drilling, both coastal and inland, this is a source we need and have plenty of if done right.  First of all, if it was closer to the shoreline it would have been cap within days, but because of the depth, it makes the procedures near impossible to do quickly.  Secondly, what the heck is up with the government  and its red tape and stupidity.  From what I understand there were clean up ships offered by other countries within days of the spill to help in the clean up, but was refused by a crazy law, not allowing foreign-made ships to be used for such matters… what, huh, what!  From what I understand both President Bush and President Clinton allowed this law to be lapse in order to receive help for exxon and other matters. I’m sure you all have seen the same videos that I have on different products and ideas for soaking up and cleaning up this disaster, but yet they do very little to clean up that which has already been spilled.

So, this sketch is my version of the greed and politics at its worst, allowing something so wonderful and needed to slip through the hands of those responsible and becoming something horrible and deadly.

What I would love to see is someone taking this sketch or your own version and paint it.  I give complete permission to use my art on this one sketch to do so.  All I ask is that you contact me once finished so that I can see your work.

O.K. BP, Federal Government and President Obama, get off your ass, get off the political maneuvering, and get this thing fixed.

30 responses

  1. nice piece! you are fabulous with watercolor!!!!

    June 23, 2010 at 5:36 am

  2. Love your picture on the oil spill and your interpretation. Companies work to provide goods in the safest way possible, were they safe? We don’t even know all that led to this, yet? Was the government doing it’s job to the best of its ability? We don’t even know that. I believe they have allowed those foreign ships in, now. I heard they were using inventions of some of the fishermen to skim oil. The sad part is that it has happened at all. The shame is that we have such a great demand for oil all over our country, me included. There are bans against companies drilling in two areas on land that environmentalists have protected. Are there more shallow wells? I don’t know. I am with the people who want us to lessen our use of oil and coal and find another source of energy so that more and more of these accidents don’t occur over time. This is a very sad and horrific thing.

    June 23, 2010 at 5:44 am

    • I’m hoping for alternative fuels and power, but we are at least 10-20 years from anything any safer or efficient. I have a really good friend in the drilling business and he says the impact they have on land drilling is almost nothing. The size and destruction is kept to a minimum, with almost immediate safety and shut off controls. He said it’s the depth that they are drilling that makes it a major problem to fix. There will be alternative fuels someday and everyone should use less if possible, but we have to be self reliant as a country on fuels. When we depend on other countries to have that control, will only lead to higher prices, less power (both politically and energy) and more conflict around the world.
      Thanks Leslie, I feel your very intelligent and well read, and I admire your opinion and questioning.

      June 24, 2010 at 6:22 am

  3. aswirly

    You amaze me.

    June 23, 2010 at 2:58 pm

  4. I feel for everyone and everything on the gulf coast.
    Your sketch had an impact on me and I can’t imagine the horror that is happening there.

    June 24, 2010 at 4:38 am

    • Thank you Richard,
      I’m like you, I can’t imagine the impact for years to come for those along the coast and how it will effect us all, one way or another. I just pray that they fix it soon.

      June 24, 2010 at 6:24 am

    • Thank you Richard,
      I’m like you, I can’t imagine the impact for years to come for those along the coast and how it will effect us all, one way or another. I just pray that they fix it soon.

      June 24, 2010 at 6:24 am

  5. Ryan, this is an amazing painting and so thought provoking! You may have just gone viral. I tweeted this. Of course, I only have 534 followers, but if they look and retweet, it could go viral. I love this!! I hope you get a million views today!

    June 24, 2010 at 6:02 am

    • Thank you so much Beth,
      This was something I wanted to get out of my head and post quickly, hoping it would touch at least some of the people. The paper I used was horrible and didn’t blend well, but for this piece it wasn’t about the finished product as much as it was for the hope of being thought provoking.

      June 24, 2010 at 6:31 am

  6. blissbait

    Hmmmm. Yes, yes, and yes. I don’t even listen to it anymore. By chance I heard on the radio yesterday something about them taking another cap off, deeper out, to check something and they were waiting to see if there were ice crystals in it before recapping????!!! So there was more oil pumping into the ocean. Seriously? I am amazed. I, along with You and EVERYONE ELSE on the planet, am marveling at the help that showed up and the answers that are there that aren’t being used because of ‘proper procedure’. Are they purposefully allowing the area to transform? It makes no sense at all.

    Your picture is amazing. I just might take You up on Your challenge. The second I read it my mind started bubbling with possibilities…..It would be an honour…that’s for sure. I’ll let You know if I follow through…

    Thanks for Your art and thoughts. Cheers and Namaste. 🙂

    June 24, 2010 at 7:46 am

    • Thank you BB (my short for BlissBait),
      I’m excited that you and hopefully others will expand on my sketch and make it your own wonderful art. We travel to this area at least once a year and usually twice, hopefully someday retiring in the same area, so to see such destruction for the earth and it’s people of that area is truly sad.
      Can’t wait to see your art!

      June 24, 2010 at 7:57 am

  7. blissbait

    Hello! I made this my evening’s project. I can’t Thank You enough! My art (along with Yours) is posted now. Namaste. 🙂

    June 24, 2010 at 10:43 pm

  8. Beautiful,dear friend!!!
    I like how you play with colors…in this case white and black.Your idea is very original.
    Keep express yourself 😉

    Enjoy the moment!! 🙂

    June 24, 2010 at 11:52 pm

  9. You have no idea the soup sandwich going on down here. My friend who is a helicopter pilot in the Coast Guard was told to fly up and down the coast so that “it would look like we’re doing something”. No joke. It’s so sad. And I think of all the folks here who are out of work now and want to work, were working as shrimpers/fishermen but are now going to be living off the government. I hope they sue BP’s pants off.

    June 28, 2010 at 11:37 am

  10. This is a beautifully poignant piece on so many different levels. Nicely done.

    June 28, 2010 at 2:46 pm

  11. Francis

    Man made industrial disaster is always the worse, as our energy appetite grew ever stronger so does the distructive side effect to our own habitate. Too much taking by world leader but too little have been done. I guess either we brace ourself to be back into 19th century or face total anilation of planet earth. Sad to say, in my country Malaysia close to 90% of population still ignorent of the fact natural resources is depleting and recycle effort still never kick off. Very sad indeed.

    June 28, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    • I don’t agree Francis,
      Natural destruction is by far more devastating than industrial. A single volcano eruption, hurricane, earthquake, floods and fire are much more harmful to the environment and the people. When a wild fire starts in our country, immediately there are firemen and planes there to put it out, without them thousands upon thousands of acres of woods and its animals would be destroyed. There will always be man made problems and disasters, because we are just humans and we do make mistakes, but on the other hand, humans are by far the most intelligent, most caring, and the best thing that ever happened to this marble in the sky.
      I hope that all countries learn to use but conserve our resources. To create new and better ways of using our resources. And to do it in a responsible, and safe way, to better the world it’s people.
      Thanks Francis!

      June 30, 2010 at 5:30 am

  12. What a dramatic marker drawing. I can’t believe you can get an image like that with markers. Amazing.

    June 28, 2010 at 7:25 pm

    • Thank you Carol,
      I haven’t had a lot of time for my art but this one was one I needed to get out before I left for vacation, and I’m glad I did now.
      Have a great week!

      June 30, 2010 at 5:03 am

  13. Incredible piece of artwork! Really hits the mind and eye.
    But I don’t agree with drilling at all. It’s got to stop. This spilling is a reality check big time. Alternatives exist but the will to implement still is loitering in the basements of our minds.
    I’m with the indigenous people in Peru, Ecaudaor, the Amason and the Niger Delta who have all experienced major devasation at the hands of oil companies. http://www.amazonwatch.org/
    We’ve got ONE EARTH —love it or lose it totally.

    June 29, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    • Thank you,
      If we stop drilling what destruction of our planet and people will come from it. Most items and I do mean most items, are made of some type of petroleum, plastics, rubber, the computer that your using to communicate with me know is made of petroleum, that’s not to mention the millions of people who depend on it for heating and cooling, the food brought to our tables are grown and delivered by using petro, the food and needs sent to poor countries for those who are truly starving are delivered by petro. I’m for responsible drilling, and I prefer that we get the majority from our country and not others, because I know that we would be the most safety and environmentally responsible than South America, China and other Countries that have even fewer regulations. Someday there of course will be a replacement, I probably will no longer be of this Earth, and even then, there will be people fighting that fuel because of the amount that will have to be used, whether it’s air, water, or other sources, but no matter what we do the earth will remain, no man can destroy it, just miss use it, but it will always remain with humans or with out humans, I of course prefer… with humans.
      Thank you again and keep pushing my mind… it needs it!

      June 30, 2010 at 5:02 am

  14. Pingback: Watching in the Amazon and beyond « 47whitebuffalo’s Blog

  15. This is a brilliant visual statement. I too will share it. I heard a report recently about some Australian guys, experts at catching injured wildlife, who went over to help and were sent away because they didn’t have the right paperwork. They were actually there, right there. They paid for the trip themselves, simply because there was a crisis and they knew they could help. They weren’t allowed to touch the animals. I hear what you say about not wanting to be dependent on other countries, but don’t you think it’s time we saw this as a global problem that can best be solved by global cooperation?

    June 29, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    • Thank you and welcome.
      I believe only in our dreams will there ever be a global fix to anything, I know that sounds harsh, but I believe it’s reality. That’s not to say we can’t try, but there has always been greed, power, religion and cultural differences that has always and will continue to keep people apart. Heck, I have two daughters brought up in the same house, same treatment and tons of love for both of them and yet they are completely different in opinions and interest, they are both super individuals, but both so different. There will always be super powers or countries leading in a global environment, whether we are one of them or not and to try to stop this and level out the playing field will only lead to more wars and more destruction of our earth than allowing an open market and having each country excel to their best abilities and have the leading countries to help those who have very little commerce or means.
      But what do I know, Thanks Kirsty!

      June 30, 2010 at 4:46 am

  16. I do believe our ‘dreams’ can become reality if we have the will to make them so. Cars themselves were ‘dreams’–as were trains and planes. Everything starts with a dream. Now–if we dream of a different more sustainable way of living and being then that is the first step to manisfesting such imaginings. All man made ‘things’ started in the imagination of a mind. What can YOU imagine when you let your mind be free???

    June 30, 2010 at 12:56 pm

Leave a Reply

