from a dad's view

Under the Sea – Watercolor

Well it’s off to the beach for my family, and I just can’t wait.  We will be leaving tomorrow and staying a week.  There will be fishing, sand sculpting, painting and tanning, what else could a man want in life.  I have so many memories of vacationing at the beach as a young boy and recent.

My first, although I don’t remember it because I was to young, but it makes a great story, is of course about my brother.  As the story is told, we were at the Florida beach, I was 1-2 my brother 5-6, wading waste deep in the shark infested waters (O.K. maybe they were just guppies) when out of no where it happened… Oh my God the horror, the blood, the screaming, that’s right, a crab got a hold of his toe.  Most beach goers thought it was the returning of our Lord, why you ask, because my brother walked on water, and only one other time in history, did that happened.  O.K. now close your eyes, picture a kid that looked like Ernie on the old t.v. show My Three Sons, wading in the waters and shooting straight up in the air completely out of the water, never to sink below the water level again, and yet making it back to shore by running.  That was my brother, not the returning of the Lord, although sometimes he likes to think of himself as God like.

The second funny memory was the vacation to Daytona, where you can drive and park on the beach.  I was a young teenager, my mom and stepdad driving an extended 1978 truck decided to park on the beach.  O.K. that’s normal, but being my stepdad, he wanted the best parking spot on the beach so he drove up and parked in front of everyone else, placing us close to the beach.  All good right… wrong, you see there are these things called tides, they go out and yes you guessed it, they eventually come back in, to make a long story short, a heavy truck, in sand, on high tide, yep a wrecker was called to pull us out.  We won’t even mention the trip back, inolving a policeman, my stepdad and jail.

Now, remember the walking on water earlier in this blog, well I’m guilty of it too.  My wife and I was at Sanibel Island on our honeymoon.  Yes, we went swimming on our honeymoon!  Anyway, we were about waist to shoulder deep with this young girl that we didn’t swimming around us, and then it happened, like the scene from Jaws, which we had just seen a few years earlier, a fin broke the top of the water near us.  The thoughts rushed thru my head… do I SCREAM like a girl?  Do I dive in front of this man eating machine to save my wife?  Do I pick this young girl up that we don’t know and toss her in front of the shark, giving my wife and I time to make it to shore?  Or count on my 4 years of high school swim team talent and out swim both, leaving my wife and this young child as the distraction?  Thank goodness before I had to make such decisions, the little girl, being a Florida native starts swimming towards it, knowing it was a dolphin instead of a shark.  O.K. other than screaming like a little girl with a high pitch voice, I looked pretty manly!

So, I hope to bring more stories and memories home with me this week and see ya’ll soon!

The painting is a 4″ x 8″ watercolor on hotpress board, that I’m giving it away while in Florida, not sure who, just someone on the beach or poolside probably.

10 responses

  1. Rick

    LOL – gotta love our memories lil bro. I too am so looking forward to our Florida trip next week, and although we will be in different (but close) locations – we will get together and add to these memories.
    Yes – I created the validation that you can walk on water, and yes I do ‘like God’ – as God like me! 🙂
    luv ya lil bro!
    Bro

    July 2, 2010 at 4:16 am

  2. I like the perspective very much. Wonderful painting and whoever gets it will be very lucky. As an Indiana kid I understand your love of the beach. My husband and I feel the same way. Our beach of choice has been Gulf Shores, Alabama. (Covered with oil now.) We spent several Spring Break trips at Gulf Shores. Ken and I would rent a house for two weeks and various combinations of parents, kids and grandkids would come and go. Pure joy!!! Enjoy your time in Florida. Be safe.

    July 2, 2010 at 4:58 am

  3. You crack me up, Ryan! The honeymoon story is the best! I love the painting, too and it will be a very lucky person who gets it. Have fun and make some more great memories…. hopefully not involving any sharks! 🙂

    July 2, 2010 at 7:04 am

  4. Great story, Ryan and lovely painting.I admire your darks. Is that a shark swimming near the light in your painting, or a dolphin? I’m guessing shark…..

    July 2, 2010 at 5:08 pm

  5. Great stories Ryan. I, like your brother, would have been screaming if a crab had gotten my toe! YIKES!

    And having just been in Sanibel Island I April, I can assure you that the fish are still scary! Tons of skates (they look like stingrays), but also dolphins too. I spent my time at the pool. : )

    Love the painting….lucky will be the person who gets it. Enjoy your vacation.

    July 2, 2010 at 7:43 pm

  6. Francis

    Nice work on the painting, very perspective. I like the nemo in the middle kinda like looking up and be aware of the big brother swiming way up there. The sun light is perfect. Well about the girl who knew its a dolphine story, my friend never went into a swimming pool or sea side after watching JAWS part 1, hey i would panic if it was me in the water and seeing Fins. Have a wonderful and safe holiday to you and your family.

    July 5, 2010 at 5:35 am

  7. Camilla

    Hello!

    Wow, I haven’t been around for a while, and I’m truly overwhelmed by all your amazing work. I’ve been missing out on so much! This is beautiful, as they all are. I really like your oil spill painting as well. 🙂

    July 8, 2010 at 12:12 am

    • Thank you Camilla, you are always so kind. I hope all has been going well for you.

      July 15, 2010 at 6:20 am

  8. aswirly

    You’re giving it away to just anyone on the beach? Awww man, wish I just happened to be there 😉 Love the stories, especially that story about the shark / dolphin. Cracked me up. lol. Hope you all had a great time at the beach 🙂

    July 11, 2010 at 3:19 pm

    • I wish you all could be there, we would have one big paint out party!
      I think that I was pretty safe from that so called shark attack, one bite of me and it would spit me right out… I’m pretty rotten!

      July 15, 2010 at 6:19 am

Leave a Reply

