from a dad's view

Just when you thought you had enough…

Just when you thought you had enough… I force 2 1/2 more paintings on you.  These are more from my travels (sounds fancy) to the beach of Panama City.

I went as organized as possible and yet keeping my supplies to minimum, but yet my biggest obstacle was sweat, I know it sounds gross, but trying to do watercolors, while dripping sweat from arms, chin , hands and hairline… o.k. who am I kidding, I have no hairline, but you get the point is very difficult.  The other problem that was discovered was the suns reflection off the bright white paper burning the optic nerve out of the back of your eyes, but wearing sunglasses, it would of course change colors and contrast.  So I would wear the glasses and then glance over the top of them to check to make sure that was applying the paint needed. I have learned to respect Plein air artist more and more each time I try it myself.  Obstacles such as wind, heat, particles falling on your paper while wet, location’s environment change and so many things a person doesn’t think about, is a constant challenge. But what a blast and challenge it is to do.

And now for the best part… people, that’s right people, I have found that so many people are interested and fascinated by artist.  I don’t know if you realize it or not but we’re freaks, good freaks, but freaks.  I noticed some would sneak peeks in the background, others would glance over my shoulder and whisper, and then others, including kids would walk right up to you and talk about what I was painting.  I think some admired my freakiness and then there were those few that would whisper… Oh, he’s one of those artist kind.  You know, now that I think about it, maybe they were whispering about my speedos, instead of my art… O.K. I know most of you just threw up in your mouth a little, but I was kidding, just kidding, I wore full size swim shorts the entire time.  I did give a painting away and actually it was by far my favorite.  The painting of a small boy playing with a sand bucket and shovel, and unfortunately I didn’t get a picture of it before I gave it away, but I have sent an email to the gentleman asking if he would send one of it to me.  This man and his father were such great gentlemen and were very interested in my art, so it was an honor to give him one, knowing he would take it and frame it. I hope to post it later, if I receive it from him.  Thanks again to all that visited while I was gone and I hope you enjoy the paintings above.

14 responses

  1. Sounds like you had a great time on your holiday and meets some really interesting people.
    The paintings are wonderful as usual, I really love the first one, I’m such a sucker for bright colours.

    July 12, 2010 at 10:53 am

    • Thank you and I would have never guessed that you are a sucker for bright colors, seeing that you use bright yellows, oranges, red, blues, contrasted by blacks in all your paintings! That’s why you have such a beautiful cheeriness to your art.

      July 15, 2010 at 6:16 am

  2. What I want to know is which one is only a half a painting. he he These are really wonderful!!! Aren’t the colors at the beach great? These are truly magical, sweat and all! 🙂

    July 12, 2010 at 12:24 pm

    • The umbrella painting of course Silly. Actually, the set up had been there the entire day, so I decided to paint it, well, as soon as I sketched it out and began to paint, the man with a beer in one hand, picked up the chairs, blanket and umbrella with the other hand (with out spilling a drop of beer) and walked off, I should have known. I’ll finish it anyways. Thanks!

      July 15, 2010 at 6:13 am

  3. WOW! You totally captured the brightness of the Florida light! I can identify with the heat and the struggles with sweating. When I go out up here, I have to cover myself not only in sun block but bug stuff!!! Very uncomfortable to have all that on my skin while I try to paint. Many plein air artists actually work under an umbrella in order to keep the light off the bright white paper. One oil painter I watched kept one side to the sun to keep the shadows cast by his arm and body off the page. So much we face before we even start. Wonderful paintings, Ryan!

    July 12, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    • Thank you Leslie,
      I guess the more experience I have in the plein air world, the more comfortable I will be doing it. Thanks for all the suggestions!

      July 15, 2010 at 6:06 am

  4. Francis

    Nice to hear you and your family are having a great time. All the paintings are really nice. The colors are vibrant and so are the sands, the seas and the umbrella. I can imagine how difficult to paint plein air and expose to real environment. I also just come back from a short day trip from a coastal town. It’s really hot and the sands are really bright. Nice work Ryan.

    July 13, 2010 at 5:30 am

    • Thank you Francis,
      I hope that you had as good of a time as we did. The temperature was about 90 degrees in Florida, But 97 degrees in Indiana where I live with extreme 80 -90 percent humidity, so it actually felt pretty good where we were. Thank you for the kind comments on my art.

      July 15, 2010 at 6:02 am

  5. Welcome back from vacation. Sounds like you had a great time. Funny post and great paintings Makes me want to go to the beach.

    July 13, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    • I’m thinking a cruise someday with nothing but blog artist on it… who’s with me?

      July 15, 2010 at 5:59 am

  6. You know, we whisper about what a freak you are all the time! Kidding..I kid. I think people (like me) are fascinated seeing someone do something they can’t do. It’s really cool to watch someone creating something like that, especially when there’s no chance in the world I’d be able to sit and paint like that.
    As a side note, I need the one of the colorful cottages…

    July 14, 2010 at 6:39 am

    • I thought that was only when I was dancing… Super Freak, Super Freak, I’m Super Freaky! Dancing at this moment, can’t help myself!

      July 15, 2010 at 5:58 am

  7. Welcome back! These are beautiful and full of atmosphere. I enjoyed your report of painting in public very much. I began sketching in cafes and public places recently and can very much relate to many things you described.

    July 14, 2010 at 10:19 am

    • Thanks, so I’m not alone in this world of “Artist Types”!

      July 15, 2010 at 5:56 am

Leave a Reply

