from a dad's view

Life is such a Beach!

Well, I’m back, with a touch of sun on my skin, and a little bit of beach in other places not to be mentioned, but I’m back.  Panama City was an absolute beauty, no oil, let me repeat that, no oil at all. There was a day that sea-foam floated just off shore and the rumors were flying that it was oil, well if it was oil it’s been there every year we have gone done at least one day out of the last 10 years. And then one morning I walked onto the balcony and looked down and along the beach were spots as big around as most home, was nothing but pure black, my heart saddened by the thought that it was oil.  But it wasn’t it was sea life, thousand and thousands of little fish, blackened the waters in 30 to 60 foot schools. It was amazing you could walked right through them and they would keep just arms length away from you, but they stayed there the entire day.  So many rumors were flying on those two occasions that oil had hit the beach.  So many people had mistaken the foam and fish for oil before they really new the truth, Hmmm wonder how misinformation gets through the news and grapevine so quickly.  Don’t get me wrong there’s oil, but for right now it is off shore and I hope remains that way until clean-up.

Anyway, these are two of about six paintings and drawings I did while sitting on the beach.  Others are soon to be posted. Thank you all that visited and commented while I was gone, I hope to reply soon and post my other paintings.

8 responses

  1. The little bird is awesome. I remember watching them stroll the beach when I was there, once. What a tree! You really caught the workings of the trunk there! I wonder what causes that? Anyway, Ryan, These are wonderful. I can’t wait to see the rest.

    July 12, 2010 at 7:16 am

  2. karen

    Awsome work! Impressive ;D

    July 12, 2010 at 7:24 am

  3. These are gorgeous, Ryan! I especially love that wonderful palm tree! I missed you while you were gone. Now I have to go look at the new ones! 🙂

    July 12, 2010 at 12:20 pm

    • Thank you Beth,
      It’s so kind of you just to say that you have missed my post. Hopefully I’ll keep you coming back.

      July 15, 2010 at 6:08 am

  4. This seagall is so real! It has this quick quirkiness that I know so well. I live right on the lake here and get to watch seagalls a lot, they can be truly funny with their manners and little games.

    July 14, 2010 at 11:36 am

    • Thank you Alex,
      I’ve noticed that most sea birds are either in a constant hyper state of movement, or in a slow motion world, with no care in the world.

      July 15, 2010 at 5:55 am

Leave a Reply

