from a dad's view

Stop talking with your Mouthful-Watercolor

Just can’t seem to get the beach out of my mind, so I took on one more painting last night to cap it off.  One day while surf fishing about 5:30 a.m. , a young lady stopped by to talk.  She was from the east coast, and was saying that the fishermen would be lined up along the coastline there every morning, and that she found it odd that I was the only fisherman that she had seen that morning (In other words, I was the only fool to get up at 5:00am to catch nothing, not just 1 morning, but three) Hmmm. Anyway, she was a huge fan of pelicans and was saying that they have beautiful colors when you get up close to them. So last night I looked them up on the computer and found this one.  With bright orangy red, and yes orangy is a word (at least in my world), grays and golden yellows.  I’m not really sure if they are this color all the time, it may be like a wild tom turkey, its head is vibrant red when strutting, because of the blood flow in the head, but when not strutting or after it has been shot, it turns back to a bluish gray. But they are actually beautiful creatures.

This one caught my eye because of the triangular shaped position and the huge tail fin sticking out of its mouth. Along with the bright colors and the funny “I’m not sure I can swallow this” look in its eye, I decided to go ahead and paint it last night.  I hope you enjoy!

Oh and please if your are the type the eats with your mouth open or smacks or chews like a cow eating a cud of grass… STOP IT! I’m from a Hicktown, and I know better.

10 responses

  1. Blueish-green, purpley, kind of yellowy-brown and don’t forget “orangy”! Then add a touch of grayish-blue and brownish-red and you came up with an absolutely beautiful pelican! I like the shapes in a pelican, a heron, a peacock, and a stork. Your painting is one I will re-visit. Beautiful, Ryan!

    July 22, 2010 at 7:28 am

    • Thank you Leslie,
      I think they need to label paint tubes by these names, instead of the ones they have. Thank you for your motivation, I respect you and your abilities so much, so to get your compliments mean a lot.

      July 23, 2010 at 4:27 am

  2. Linda Halcomb

    I think he is a bit panic-stricken…have I bitten off more than I can chew? Whew!! Anyway. Really nice . The colors make it live.

    July 22, 2010 at 3:06 pm

    • Thank you Linda,
      Its eye did have a “oh crap” look.

      July 23, 2010 at 4:19 am

  3. Love the your brush strokes and the texture the strokes create. Hope you got your fish for the day.

    July 22, 2010 at 6:25 pm

    • Thanks Richard,
      No fish that day, but I had a 6′ shark swim with in casting distance on the pier. That was cool!

      July 23, 2010 at 4:18 am

  4. A beautiful pelican painting. I love the bit of orangy reflection in the water.

    July 23, 2010 at 6:24 pm

  5. Francis

    Nice work on the pelican, i realy like the cool colors of the water and nicely done pelican. Wow i can’t help but looking at it for a while longer, it’s so fresh. Thanks for sharing.

    July 25, 2010 at 3:36 pm

  6. This is a wonderful painting, Ryan! I didn’t know that about their coloring, either! Wow, what a cool beach trip… that just keeps on giving. 🙂

    July 26, 2010 at 8:59 am

    • Can’t wait till cooler weather so I can get out there and do some southern Indiana scenes. Hopefully you will enjoy them just as much. Thanks Beth!

      July 26, 2010 at 7:15 pm

Leave a Reply

