from a dad's view

Playing in the Sand – Watercolor

Just one more addition to the vacation set of paintings.  This is one of the paintings that I had given away and the kind person just sent me a picture of it.  This was probably my favorite out of all the beach plein air paintings that I had painted while in Panama City Florida.  The colors aren’t as vibrant as the original in the painting, but this will give you an idea on what it looked like.  This family was super friendly, and I was honored to give this painting to them.  Have a great day and stay cool, because it’s freaking hot here in Indiana!

11 responses

  1. What a great gift you gave to that family!
    I have always been too nervous ( or uptight) to try plein air painting thinking that I would not be very good at it, and therefore not produce a good result. But I’m starting to think that I’m missing out on some real fun- with the paint, as well as getting to meet new people. It’s easy to forget sometimes that painting ( or drawing, etc.) can just be about the pure fun of it and who cares what the end result ends up being. Thanks for reminding me of that!
    Karen

    July 26, 2010 at 6:10 am

    • Thank you Karen,
      I have found a new challenge in plein air, and it can be a challenge because of the surroundings, but a lot of fun. I was the same way as far as being uptight with my paintings, to the point of not painting much, but then I decided to paint what I wanted, when I wanted to and relax and just enjoy the gift God had given me and what a new look on art it has given me. I can’t wait to see some plein air painting or drawings of yours in the near future.

      July 26, 2010 at 6:18 am

  2. You can paint people playing in the sand? I bow to you! This is gorgeous! I especially like the composition and how the hands play across the page. What a wonderful gift. 🙂 Yours to be able to paint it and the giving of it.

    July 26, 2010 at 6:47 am

    • This one was sketched out before hitting the beach and then painted on the beach. I wasn’t sure what I would find once set up so this worked out well. So, no bowing allowed but thanks for the thought Leslie.

      July 26, 2010 at 7:10 pm

  3. I like the story as much as the painting, Ryan. What a generous spirit you have. The child is amazingly well done, too. I love the hair and that cute little pudgy cheek!! 🙂

    July 26, 2010 at 8:56 am

    • I enjoy art, and the excitement it brings people that admire it, so to give a painting away, to kind, deserving people really isn’t hard to do. I get a kick out of putting smiles on paople faces, either by joking around with them or giving a painting away. We all need more smiles, don’t we?

      July 26, 2010 at 7:13 pm

  4. Ryan, you are amazing. And what a beautiful story. I guess you are amazing AND generous! A wonderful combination. Love the painting.

    July 26, 2010 at 11:56 am

    • Thanks Carol,
      I hope some of my paintings will bring joy to someone. Although I of course love selling my paintings, giving them away brings a smile to my face and to the person I’m giving them to, what else could I ask for?

      July 26, 2010 at 7:17 pm

  5. How lovely! What a kind and generous spirit you are.

    July 26, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    • Thank you but really it’s a greedy gift, it makes me feel wonderful to see the smiles, so it’s just as much for me than the person I’m giving them to. I’m also hoping to open some minds to the arts and show people that they could do some of it easier and better than they think. This really brings warmth to my art (heart).

      July 26, 2010 at 7:22 pm

  6. Francis

    Wow your plein air is really good, i think the colors are vibrant enough cos i can really see how good the paintng is. A very nice gift indeed. The father will cherish this special moment of the painting.

    July 30, 2010 at 6:28 am

Leave a Reply

