from a dad's view

Ryan-O goes Psychedelic

Wow man, it’s like I’m trippin or something.  No, just doing a little experimenting… in paints.  Influenced by the wonderful talent Leslie, I thought I would try using various colors to get texture shadows.  This was one of those, I’m bored at lunch projects, but had fun doing it.  By wetting down sections and then painting it, throwing salt on it, and using a hair dryer for faster drying time.  It allowed sharper edges and different shades of color.  I hope you find something that you like in it, and thank you Leslie for being an inspiration!

18 responses

  1. Really like the colors in this — this image made me stop and look. I tend to gloss over many images on websites, but not this one. You did a great job on this. Well done!

    August 10, 2010 at 10:49 am

  2. This is AMAZING!!!! The color is incredible – vibrant and beautiful. I love the whole thing – composition, color choices, technique. This is a home run. What size is this?

    August 10, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    • Thank you Linda, it’s a odd size, I don’t have it with me , but I think it’s about 5″ x 9″. I started it as just a quick sketch and then decided to play with the technic.

      August 10, 2010 at 6:19 pm

  3. WOW! Talk about student to sensei respect right back at you! This is awesome. Was it freeing? I really like how you caught the values on this AND that salt was perfect for the texture in the rhino’s skin. I’m jealous. Thank-you for the links, Ryan, but this is far better than I can pull off. Are you going to try this again?

    August 10, 2010 at 5:10 pm

    • Thank you Leslie and you can feel good about being such an inspiration. This was great fun and I’m thinking of a set of three african animals in this same style. Who knows? Thanks again!

      August 10, 2010 at 6:22 pm

      • Oh my. Thank-you for this great compliment about inspiration, but I think you were the one that made these pieces rock. You are so GOOD with eyes and composition.
        On another note. Are you ever going to place your link to your Etsy site in your blogroll?

        August 13, 2010 at 8:06 am

      • Thank you Leslie and sorry for the delayed response.
        I haven’t used Etsy much lately. Your items get so buried, so quick, unless you constantly re-submit it. I guess I don’t know the tricks of the site.

        August 17, 2010 at 5:01 am

  4. Gorgeous colors! Wonderful!!!

    August 11, 2010 at 5:24 am

  5. Ryan, my mouth dropped open when I saw this. The textures you have achieved are just amazing and I love, love, love, all of the color blends. Beautiful!!!

    August 11, 2010 at 9:36 am

  6. Yo Dude, this rocks!

    August 11, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    • Like wow, you’re one groovy chic and you rock too!

      August 11, 2010 at 6:23 pm

  7. aswirly

    Throwing salt on it? Neat! Very beautiful. Amazing what you do while bored at lunch.

    August 11, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    • If I’m not going to put salt on my lunch, it might as well be thrown on the painting. It also keeps me from eating the entire time, because in my family, we love food and lot’s of it. Thank you and it’s good to hear from you again!

      August 11, 2010 at 6:31 pm

  8. Leslie inspires me, too! This is such a wonderful painting, Ryan!! I love the purple! You really should do more of this. It suits you. 🙂

    August 12, 2010 at 5:07 am

  9. I love this. It’s so different from what you normally do (which was the point, I know) but you still did such an amazing job.

    August 12, 2010 at 10:06 am

  10. Francis

    Nice colurs on the Rhino. I just love blue and you make it spot on, just the way i like them. Nice painting Ryan.

    August 17, 2010 at 4:18 pm

  11. Hi there! My 4 year old daughter and I have been exploring watercolors together for a while and this morning we decided to see what grownups like to do with her favorite paint. Your site came up and I wanted to pass along her delight in your rhino painting, especially since it uses her favorite technique — salt!

    I promised her I’d send along her picture to you. Here’s a link to our little watercolor / salt / batik experiment from last March: http://www.chalkinmypocket.com/2011/03/batik-on-paper-salt-watercolor.html I think you’ll like our outcome, we wound up with a really fantastic effect with the glue gel! Best regards, Regina

    February 21, 2012 at 7:23 am

    • Thank you both for visiting and sharing such a kind comment. The Rhino and Hippo laying in the water are one of my favorites and one of my first journeys using watercolors. I tried to leave a comment on your blog under my wordpress address but was given an error (sorry). Tell your daughter that I’m really impressed by her talents and can’t wait to see more. Thank you BOTH!

      February 21, 2012 at 8:08 am

Leave a Reply

