from a dad's view

Goofy kid… what were you, born in a barn?

“Goofy Kid… what were you, born in a barn.” I can’t tell you how many times that I heard this as a child or buy you books, and buy you books, and all you do is chew the covers off of them. Pretty well my dads way of saying, I love you, but are you stupid or what.  My dad has sayings and words for a lot of situations. Maybe you have a few that you remember as a child.

Some more of my families:

As blind as a toad in a hell storm – in other words can’t see crap.

That’s as clear as mud – in other words, I don’t understand what the heck your talking about.

Blind in one eye and can’t see out the other – again, either you can’t see or missing something obvious.

Son, you couldn’t find a corner to pee in, in a round barn – This one was always as clear as mud, wasn’t sure how to take it.

Pushwater – Gasoline

Visiting Mrs. Jones – Bathroom

Turn that hippy music, Rio Speedbuggy down – Meaning my music was to loud, and all bands were Rio Speedbuggy ( REO Speedwagon).

Well that’s just a few, list some of your favorites!

The watercolor, is of a barn for a Christmas card that will be 5×7 and text creating a border around the outside of border.

12 responses

  1. This painting is GORGEOUS and gives such a comforting feeling. Also, my mom was raised in a small town and she and her family are always using weird small town/country idioms. Thanks for sharing!

    August 25, 2010 at 12:43 pm

  2. Rick

    Hey lil bro –
    Oh I remember these all too well, and still hear them dont we.
    Here is another classic from our pops –
    “If I had that and he had a feather up his butt, we would both be tickled!”
    I remember my kids laughing out loud everytime he said that as we were going down the road and see a big house, nice farm, etc.
    Awesome painting lil bro!
    -Bro-

    August 26, 2010 at 4:26 am

  3. This is my favorite of your Christmas cards, so far. Looks like my old barn, years ago. Same kind of gates, too. While we lived there, we painted the barn white. I always missed the warm weather worn look of it after we did that. Wonderful painting, Ryan.
    The “born in a barn” saying was one that was said in our family, but there weren’t many sayings used. When my Granny came over she always announced herself with a “YOO-HOO!”
    My husbands Father was forever saying, “I wasn’t born yesterday” and that filtered into our family.
    The weirdest saying I ever heard was the week my children came home with, “no duh”. That took some getting used to. 🙂

    August 26, 2010 at 6:18 am

  4. Hi from Montana.
    The back-handed way of being optimistic when something went wrong… “better than a poke in the eye with a sharp stick”.

    Alice Flynn

    August 26, 2010 at 9:27 am

    • Welcome Alice! You do wonderful work and yes it is better than getting poked in the eye with a sharp stick.

      August 26, 2010 at 9:40 am

    • This one made me laugh out loud! I’m thinking a poke in the eye with any kind of stick, sharp or blunt, wouldn’t be very good! 🙂

      August 27, 2010 at 1:35 pm

  5. We were very boring – no colorful sayings! I like the painting. Looks like an Andrew Wyeth. Very nostaligic since I grew up on a farm. Nice!

    August 26, 2010 at 11:25 am

  6. Beautiful painting. I remember the nuns saying to us “what were you born in a barn” when we left the classroom door open. Unfortunately, never having seen a barn when I was younger I had no idea what she was talking about.

    August 29, 2010 at 3:23 pm

  7. This barn is beautiful, Ryan! The colors you used in the wood are so rich and warm!!

    “If Susie jumped off a cliff, would you jump, too?”

    “If you keep making that face, it’ll get stuck that way!”

    He he he

    August 31, 2010 at 11:37 am

  8. Yes, your colors are so harmonious. hat did you use to get the deep green in the trees in the back ?? Your barn is also so rich ! The whole scene is so crisp and beautiful !!

    October 1, 2010 at 6:34 am

  9. Hey SmalltownDad,

    This painting makes me feel like I’m at home again in Kentucky. It’s amazing how many emotions an image can evoke. Thank you for sharing your wonderful art!

    October 5, 2010 at 12:34 pm

  10. i would have to make more christmas cards becuase next month is december already -*`

    November 13, 2010 at 1:03 am

Leave a Reply

