from a dad's view

Reaching out – marker pointillism

A good blog friend requested or suggested a pointillism for one of my projects and I just happen to have some markers laying around here at work so I did a quick marker pointillism.  I know it probably isn’t what she was expecting, but it’s all I had time for.  So, thank you http://aswirly.wordpress.com for the suggestion and possibly in the future I’ll do a painted pointillism.  As for the other suggestions, I’m still working on them.  Thanks!

19 responses

  1. aswirly

    Hooray Hooray! I love it!! Thanks for doing this 🙂 What a treat!! It reminds me of the twisted trees I’ve seen growing out of the rock crevices in the Sierras. Beautiful and very cool 🙂

    September 2, 2010 at 1:07 pm

    • Thanks Amber,
      I’ll try a more detailed pointillism next time, possibly with paints. But I’m glad your happy with this one for now!

      September 2, 2010 at 1:11 pm

  2. This is very cool. The techinique makes and attractive piece and you did a great job creating texture and deep shadows.

    September 2, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    • Thank you Linda,
      It was a challenge because all I had was brush tipped markers, so the points were hard to keep consistant. Thanks again!

      September 4, 2010 at 5:57 am

  3. I actually stood up and backed off the screen and your marker art came together beautifully. Wow…you are truly trying everything! Fun to visit and see what you are up to. 🙂

    September 2, 2010 at 6:25 pm

    • Thanks Leslie,
      This was fun to do, and it took just a few markers that I had laying around to do it. Thanks again!

      September 4, 2010 at 5:54 am

  4. Rick

    Wow lil bro -This is awesome!
    At first I didnt quite understand the style, then
    quickly I ‘got the point’! lol
    (you knew that was coming):)
    My lil bro -a talent like no other.
    ~Bro~

    September 3, 2010 at 4:54 am

    • Thanks Bro,
      And try to stay away from comedy and stick to what you do best… just being a bro!

      September 4, 2010 at 5:52 am

  5. I really do like your pointilism, Ryan! I like how you used space between the dots to bring in light!! Very cool!!

    September 3, 2010 at 9:34 am

    • Thanks Beth,
      I’ve done more detailed pointillisms in the past but this was a fun one to do. I’m glad you like it.

      September 4, 2010 at 5:50 am

  6. You are amazing Ryan. You can do anything with any medium. I have always liked pointillism and you did it justice in this piece.

    September 3, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    • Oh Carol, your are way to kind! But keep it up… because I like it! Thanks!

      September 4, 2010 at 5:49 am

  7. Heather Longoria

    Did you do this from a photo, or just from your head? It’s really beautiful.

    September 4, 2010 at 5:14 am

    • It started with a photo, but then I left the photo at work, so most of the tree is just made up. But I did a lot of fantansy trees in the past so this came fairly easy. Thanks for your comment!

      September 4, 2010 at 5:48 am

  8. Francis

    Nice painting Ryan. I just love the texture and the details of the trees. It’s interesting to see your new painting especially with different techniques on them.

    September 8, 2010 at 4:19 pm

  9. erik r davis

    Love the marker work, nice job. I just might have to try one of these myself. I hope you don’t mind I borrow some inspiration from you.
    Erik

    September 14, 2010 at 2:20 pm

    • I would be honored, and love your work. Visit again!

      September 14, 2010 at 2:30 pm

  10. This is great. I remember doing a pointillism project in high school (awhile ago). I’ll show this to my son….he’s a nine year old budding artist and enjoys doing pointillism. Thanks for the comments on my blog as well!

    September 24, 2010 at 9:24 am

    • Thank you Gretchen,
      I haven’t done a pointillism in a long time and thought it might be something different after it was suggested by a visitor. Thanks for your comment and come back soon.

      September 26, 2010 at 5:28 am

Leave a Reply

