from a dad's view

From Fools and from Sages – watercolor owl

There are some great lyrics, and one of my favorite, is from the song Dream on from Aerosmith.  The line states that you “Lived and Learned from Fools and from Sages” .  I know that I have the fool part covered, and hopefully I have been a sage to someone somewhere in my life.  The one thing that I have learned, that you can learn as much, if not more, by observing the fools in your life, and learn not to make the same mistakes that they have.  Most, are foolish at a young age because of ignorance, not necessary stupidity, but some actions and thoughts are just flat-out stupidity and foolish.  I guess my definition of a fool is one who makes a mistake, and then continues to make that same mistake over and over again, that’s when they become a fool.  To drop coins in a pocket with an unknown hole in it and losing those coins to the ground , is a mistake, to continue to drop coins in that same pocket, knowing there’s a hole in it… you’re a fool.  One experience of my own, was while deer hunting, about twenty-five feet high in a tree, in a small, two foot square tree stand (platform), with no safety harness (stupid), I almost fell.  Most of the time while in the tree stand, I’m sitting motionless, until a deer is within rage, and that’s when I stand to draw back my arrow, and had done this for years.  But there was this one day that ended my stupidity, I was standing to draw back on a buck that was approaching from behind my stand, that’s when I stood and turned to get the shot, but the shot never happened, instead, the heel of my hunting boots kicked off the edge of the platform.  Flopping my arms like a bird trying to take flight, wobbling back and forth like a wet noodle in the wind, and then finally regaining my balance and sitting down.  Now, my heart was beating 200 beats a minute, my arms out of socket from all the flapping, the buck running off (laughing I’m sure), and I’m sure that I have just was saved from severe injury or death.  O.K. that was a huge mistake along with some stupidity, but a fool I’m not, I now take all safety precautions before hunting and while in the stand.  I use a safety harness while climbing and while in the stand, so heaven forbid if I would fall, it will be a short 4 foot controlled drop, instead of 25 foot drop on the head.  There is always an opportunity to learn from everyone and everything, it just depends on what we do with that knowledge once observed.  We become either the fool or a sage in life.

I worked on this watercolor of a horned owl last night, not sure why an owl but they intrigue me, and will finish sometime today.

13 responses

  1. This owl is amazing, Ryan! His eyes are perfection and his feathers are so believable!!

    Your story reminded me of a sign installation I was on. I was way up in the air, standing on a pallet on a fork lift, with an employee. I had to reach way over to the left to do some of the words. My so called safety harness was the employee’s grasp on the back of my overalls. I was certainly happy when that installation was over. There was no good way that could have gone, if I had lost my footing. 😀

    September 10, 2010 at 10:25 am

  2. Spectacular owl, Ryan! The gleam in his eye is to die for. Especially if you are a mouse :D!

    Scary story of your hunt though! Funnily told, I had to giggle – sorry. I am glad to hear you are using safety from then on.

    September 10, 2010 at 11:06 am

    • A funny story! A funny story! I could have been killed!
      But, it is a good thing it wasn’t on video, because Youtube would have had a million hits for it… O.K. I forgive you, it was pretty damn funny! Laughing, thinking of you giggling!

      September 10, 2010 at 11:10 am

  3. Love the owl, sort of hate the story. I hate it b/c I think about if you had fallen.

    September 10, 2010 at 1:06 pm

  4. Owl is totally gorgeous right down to the highlight in his eye…and He looks wise. Super composition!

    September 10, 2010 at 1:16 pm

  5. The owl is remarkably life like. The eyes are haunting and the feathers are so well done. Your composition is the basis for a very impressive painting.

    September 10, 2010 at 2:14 pm

  6. Oh wow Ryan, this looks so life like, especially the eye.

    September 11, 2010 at 2:56 am

  7. Rick

    Well ‘owl’ be -my amazing lil bro captured yet another ‘woot’ of nature with his amazing talent.
    Awesome lil bro!
    Rick

    p.s. the following ‘puns above were intentional to ‘raise the feathers’ of my little brother. 🙂

    September 13, 2010 at 4:40 am

  8. aswirly

    Your story reminds me of a saying my husband always says, “Ignorance you can fix, but stupid is forever”. lol. I think stupid in that context means dsoing the same stupid thing over and over, like a fool…

    This is beautiful Ryan. REALLY beautiful. I have such a fondness for owls and I used to work with a few at that. I’ll tell you though, I’ve never met an owl that was not grumpy. lol

    September 13, 2010 at 12:42 pm

  9. Francis

    The owl looks so real and i might have mistaken it for a photo. Nice work there Ryan. I never went hunting but your story intrigue me, it reminds me of a book i read long time ago about how people live there live a rural Alaska.

    September 14, 2010 at 3:23 pm

  10. This is absolutely stunning! Your colors are wonderful, and your precision amazing. WOW !!

    October 1, 2010 at 6:30 am

    • This one was painted outside in 90 degree weather and bugs biting me… won’t be doing that again!
      Thank you for the kind comments and I’m glad you like it.

      October 1, 2010 at 11:25 am

  11. Hey Ryan I found you piece online and used it as a template to make my own.. Your is so much better but I have not been painting but a few months and I wanted to give you credit so here is the link. My deviantart page I also linked you from there. thank you – Luke

    http://holeinthefabric.deviantart.com/art/Owl-365997399?q=gallery%3Aholeinthefabric&qo=0

    April 16, 2013 at 2:35 am

Leave a Reply

