from a dad's view

Branching out – watercolor

Sorry for the slow posting, but work and home projects has kept me from the easel.   Totally forgetting the self portrait challenge at Linda Halcomb, I hope to post mine later this week.  Here is a branch of turning leaves that I finished last night, preparing for the season change.  Although it was 98 degrees here in southern Indiana yesterday, I’m hoping Fall is just around the corner.

As for the branching out part, I need professional help… No not that kind of help, I’m not that crazy yet, at least I don’t think I am.  Anyway, I’m thinking of giving paid art lessons, but I have no idea what to charge.  I need help for pricing solo lessons and group.  I know that I’m not a professional fine artist, but I think that I have something to help others grow in their talents.  So please help me out and be straight forward with me, I can take it. Let me know what the best amount of time per class should be, and at what cost for private and group fees. Thanks!

And I promise Linda, a self portrait by the end of the week!  It will be scary ugly, but I’ll do it anyways.

15 responses

  1. First of all, I really like these leaves. I have tried this and not been able to capture the feel of transparency that you have, here. Plus, I think yellows are as difficult to work with as greens and you have used both. Fragile and beautiful and appearing as though they are about ready to drop.
    I am looking forward to your self portrait. I feel bad. I should have sent you a reminder…… BUT! Family and work comes first, anyway. Will e-mail you my thoughts on classes. Let me say that you would be an awesome resource as an art teacher for your area!

    September 22, 2010 at 5:56 am

    • Thank you Leslie,
      I’m trying to keep something posted but I’m keeping busy on other projects.
      I loved your self portrait, soooo cool, and can’t wait to see others. Thanks for all your suggestions and help, I need all the help I can get!

      September 22, 2010 at 5:59 am

  2. aswirly

    Beautiful Ryan. I think art classes are a wonderful idea. I have no idea what to charge but don’t sell yourself short because I know growing artists will benefit greatly from your guidance.

    September 22, 2010 at 9:00 am

  3. Ryan, your leaves are beautiful! The texture is amazing! I am tickled that you are planning to teach. I have no talent for that. People say I confuse them. he he

    I’m sure you will get some great advice from those who teach. I have only taken one art class, ever. In 2009, I paid $140 for a two day acrylic workshop in Port Townsend, WA (plus all the expense to get there from Oklahoma, and motel, etc.). It was the best money I ever spent! I really needed what that particular artist (Don Tiller) had to teach. Enough about me! You’ll do great. 😀

    I look forward to seeing the self portrait. I’ll check back.

    September 22, 2010 at 12:06 pm

  4. This is beautiful, Ryan! The yellows of the leaves are so real, some have a sense of dryness to them, others have not reached that stage yet. The white splotches of sun keeps everything alive. Love it!

    I too look forward to your self-portrait. I am sure it is going to be great, you always come up with such original ideas.

    September 22, 2010 at 12:29 pm

  5. erik r davis

    Hey Ryan – This looks great! Really like how the colors came out.
    As far as the classes, what to charge is hard to say. As mentioned above you can’t sell your skills short, but you also don’t want to charge too much. It’s a tough call. I know our local art league has short-run classes taught by local artist that seem to do well, maybe a local group would be willing to work with you on classes and putting that together. Best of luck with that new venture.
    Take care – Erik

    September 22, 2010 at 3:28 pm

  6. Hi Ryan still a bit warm in Indiana I see we’ve had some cool night here and the leaves are starting to change.

    I give lessons at my studio every Wednesday here and I charge $20.00 for 2 hrs. per student. Students can show up and take as many or as little lessons as they want. I usually get 1-4 artist per week. the just call me the night before an off we go on Wed.

    September 22, 2010 at 7:36 pm

  7. Ok, so you know I know NOTHING about art, but I was thinking you could check into how much places like Michael’s and Hobby Lobby charge for their classes to just get an idea what the market is like in your area. You’re obviously better than those Michael’s people, and private lessons are always more, but it could give you a place.

    September 23, 2010 at 1:26 pm

  8. Ryan, I can smell those leaves and feel them. And imagine them falling off their branch on to the ground. They are amazing leaves!!!!

    I like how you have the green foliage behind the yellow leaves. Really makes the leaves stand out.

    As far as teaching goes….I think you would be an amazing teacher. Maybe $8 or $10 an hour for a 3 hour session with a group of 4 – 6? What do you think?

    September 23, 2010 at 4:31 pm

  9. Beautiful painting of fall leaves – and the yellows really glow against the dark greens you’ve used in the background. Around here, teachers seem to get $10 an hour and usually have a 2-3 hour session each “class.” As for how many, well that depends on how many you can fit into your space comfortably…when it gets elbow-to-elbow for students, it becomes a bit uncomfortable. Remember, students will bring all their stuff and need some spreading out room. Good luck!!!

    September 25, 2010 at 4:01 am

    • Welcome Rhonda and thank you for your comment and help. I think you’re right on keeping the class small, not only for the room but I feel that I can make better progress with a small 2-4 students.

      September 26, 2010 at 5:30 am

  10. Francis

    Nice painting Ryan, i really love the lights hitting on those leaves, you make them shine and so effortless. You have amazing skills and i’am sure your future student will appreciate your teaching.

    September 27, 2010 at 4:09 pm

  11. I’ve taken a couple of classes at our local art museum. They ranged from $45 for 4 2-hour long classes to $35 for a 3 hour-long class. My mom has paid $100+ for a weekend class too.

    September 29, 2010 at 3:05 am

  12. Oh ! these are so beautiful, transparent, luminous. I love your choice of colors !

    October 1, 2010 at 6:28 am

    • Thank you, I tried to get a more modern look with the layout, but I’m not sure it turned out.

      October 1, 2010 at 11:24 am

Leave a Reply

