from a dad's view

Let the Pickets begin!

That’s right, it time to fight, fight for those who have fallen to the pressure of others. No, I’m not talking about anything political or religious, I’m talking about privacy fences.  Almost everyone has one, and if you live in a subdivision, you are sometimes required to have one… and it must be to the Associations requirements.  You know, 6′ high, exact style as others, regulation gates and stained to perfection to match your neighbors.  Neighbors, what is this word neighbors, most of us couldn’t even tell you the neighbors names.  Well when we built our home a few years ago, my first thought was we had to build a privacy fence, I mean it’s law right, you go to prison if you don’t have one… I think. But as we were in the process of building, I noticed our neighbors (yes, I could see them) didn’t have fences up.  Which worked out perfectly because they were wonderful retired couples.

For 12 years at our previous home, we had a privacy fence and to be honest with you, I really never got to know my neighbors.  A beautiful neighborhood with wonderful neighbors, I think, but don’t really know for sure.  What ever happened to the front porch, do you want some cold sweet tea, come sit awhile, neighborly get together.  What ever happened walking into the backyard or garden and seeing your neighbor and saying good morning Mrs. Jones or hello Tom.  What ever happened to the walking over sitting with them and discussing the garden, politics, family and health.  I think it’s time to bring back the short keep your dog and kids in the yard pickets fences or no fences at all.  We have no fencing and our background looks so open and free and luckily our deck and gazebos looks over about a 15 acre field and tree line, but more importantly I can tell you every neighbors first name, where they work, if they work and we share good times together and conversation.

So Picket those privacy fences, and get to know your neighbors, you might find that you like them and wouldn’t mind sharing some sweet tea or coffee with them every once in a while!

This watercolor is a 7″ x 10″ on cold press 140lb paper. I hope it brings back memories of your grandparents or someplace in your past.

16 responses

  1. Ryan, this painting is wonderful! If you look at it long enough, it has the optical illusion of being the opposite… ya know what I mean? It can be tall dark, long stemmed goblets. No…. I’m only drinking coffee! 🙂

    We have no fences in our neighborhood. Of course, we are separated from our neighbors by woods. From the road, you can’t see any of our homes. We all have long steep driveways, so you have to go out of your way to see your neighbors, unless they happen to be at the top of their driveways. We built in a newly cleared addition 5 years ago and we know the names of all the neighbors on our road. Nice post, Ryan!

    October 12, 2010 at 5:53 am

    • So you call it coffee now days… hmmm, I’ve never seen red, clear coffee with a slight hint of grapes, but what do I know! LOL

      Thank you for your comment and I believe you would be a fun one to have living next door.

      October 12, 2010 at 9:16 am

    • I have to say, I don’t drink at all and I see what you mean by the optical illusion. Cool of you to point that out.

      October 14, 2010 at 10:16 am

  2. That is exactly the reason I put up a picket fence for my dogs. I back up to the commons area and wanted to be able to see it. A picket fence allows a view as well as provides a good support to climbing plants of all sorts. I do know my neighbors on either side and across the street and enjoy sitting and watching the kids play up and down the sidewalk with chalk , bikes, and scooters.
    Absolutely beautiful painting! I love lavender and greens together!

    October 12, 2010 at 6:28 am

    • Thank you Leslie,
      I can picture you in this type of setting, easel out and painting a beautiful plein air.

      October 12, 2010 at 9:14 am

  3. E.

    This actually does remind me of the picket gate in my grandparetns’ back yard. The school in their neighborhood would let the kids go home for lunch, and all the kids who lived on the next block over would take a shortcut through my grandparents’ yard, through that gate, and on through to their street. My grandparents never minded the kids cutting through their yard. They were glad to provide a means to get them to and from school more quickly and safely. Then, one year, the neighbor behind them fenced in their yard so the children could no longer cut through, and the gate had to remain closed and silent. I don’t even know if it’s still there, since my grandparents have passed on.

    October 12, 2010 at 6:38 am

    • Thank you,
      My grandmother lived in southern Illinois on a gravel road, and I remember pulling up to her picket fence running along the road with iris’s or what some call flags (not sure why) along the fence. I would sit out in the road for hour (not busy with traffic of course) and look for fossils and what we call indian beads. What a great memory!

      October 12, 2010 at 9:13 am

  4. aswirly

    This is so beautiful! I love how the wisteria is peeking through… Amazing. What a lovely thing to know your neighbors. We live in an apartment. Some neighbors are our friends and it’s such a fun luxury to walk upstais and share a movie and bbq with my friend. And so often she’ll show up at my door with a bowl asking for sugar. Too cute. But the crazy lady who lives RIGHT next door is a whole other story. grrr. lol

    October 12, 2010 at 8:07 am

    • Thank you
      All my neighbors are great… Hmmmm so does that make me the crazy neighbor?
      I was wondering why they avoid me and run inside when I come out.

      October 12, 2010 at 9:09 am

  5. I see wine goblets too! It didn’t even take me that long to find them! 😆

    Love the painting, especially the colors and the wood texture.

    October 12, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    • Thank you but you’ll are starting to worry me, wine, wine goblets, no wonder you visit my blog! LOL

      October 12, 2010 at 2:54 pm

  6. We have a privacy fence, but I wish it looked more like this fence you did. I love my fence so the kids can play without me thinking someone is going to steal them out of my yard. But, I do know all my neighbor’s names/occupations. I can’t say that happened in Boston, but it’s true here.

    October 14, 2010 at 10:19 am

  7. Love the purple (with the green). thanks for the comment on my blog. and you are right, who needs insulation when I have a worm boyfriend that encourages my art. the best of all worlds.
    This painting is fabulous. and I feel for you living so close that fences of anykind are needed. Good for you to live free of barriers.
    peace a abundance,
    CheyAnne
    http://cheyannesexton.etsy.com

    ps. any challenges lately?

    October 15, 2010 at 2:14 pm

    • Thank you Cheyanne,
      My neighbors are close but kind enough to where barriers or fences aren’t needed. which could change at any moment! LOL

      Beth has a halloween challenge, ending on the 29th. Check it out, it sound like fun!

      October 17, 2010 at 4:32 am

  8. Really beautiful!

    October 17, 2010 at 8:18 am

  9. francis

    Nice painting Ryan, i really like how you paint greens and flower, their color are so vibrant and alive. Well we don;t have fence like this but we do have taller fence, to keep out neighbor and dogs..hahah..just joking. Nowadays not much interaction between neighbor except for occational hi..living in big city is sad.

    October 17, 2010 at 9:42 pm

Leave a Reply

