from a dad's view

Go over or under… that is the question

A quick watercolor that I worked on during the worst pro football game ever, and unfortunately it involved my team, the Redskins.  They won, but I’m not sure either team deserved to win, it was that ugly.

As I was painting this, I thought to myself how many fences I have crossed in my life.  And no matter how many a person has crossed, the question is always in the back of your head… over or under?  Do you go over and risk the wire busting from the post, sending your, you know what’s directly down to the barbwire, or do you cross under protecting your, you know what’s, but risking catching and tearing your hunting jacket or scalp. And my big question is, where are the darn gates? I’m thinking that there are hidden cameras set up along the fence lines, just for the comic relief of hunters injuring themselves crossing, and I’m sure that I’m in a few.

Rules of engagement:

1.  Check fence strength of before crossing over… by letting someone else go first!

2. Strip naked before crossing under, assuring safety to your clothes and then get dressed on other side, after removing briars, stickers, and ticks… or let someone else go first!

3. Cross through the middle… and what tear things from both ends! Just stick to number 1 or 2.

4. Stay home all together and watch the Damn Redskins get beat, or play like crap!

I hope these help, and remember “Tuck high or Tuck‘m low, just make sure you Tuck‘m”!

11 responses

  1. Oh my gosh, Ryan! This is absolutely incredible! The barbwire wound avoidance advice is also excellent! I could add one more… If any alcohol has been consumed, turn around immediately and forget the fence! 😀

    October 25, 2010 at 7:13 am

    • And I needed a lot of alcohol after the Redskins game yesterday, the only thing is just one glass of wine anymore, and I’m pretty well goofed up!
      Thanks Beth for your comment and advice!

      October 25, 2010 at 7:23 am

  2. The duck is great, but this is beyond that. I’m there in viewing this. Beautiful use of composition and and the simple use of color draws the viewer. Excellent.
    Yes, you should share what you know by teaching.

    October 25, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    • Thank Leslie for your motivation and kind words, I hope to get a few students in December or January. My busy season ends about mid-December so hopefully then. Thanks again

      October 25, 2010 at 7:29 pm

  3. I love this com position and your thoughts are a hoot. Having grown up on a farm with a family of hunters I can relate. I always go between myself.

    October 26, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    • In BETWEEN!
      You are a wild one Linda!
      That’s risking both the scalp and the… oh wait now I understand, women do have it made sometimes. LOL

      October 27, 2010 at 5:01 am

  4. Francis

    It’s simple yet very elegant and profesionally done. I won’t dare to cross that, those barbwire look vary nasty to me.

    October 26, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    • Thank you Francis,
      It’s seems when hunting, the place you need to be is always on the other side, it’s never on the side that you are already on. I have torn so many clothes and flesh crossing these things.
      Thanks again!

      October 27, 2010 at 4:57 am

  5. Yes, I agree; you should definitely teach! If you ever do a weekend class – let me know. My mom and I would try to make it from Iowa.

    October 27, 2010 at 3:25 am

    • Thank you and welcome to my blog!
      I’m giving a 4 class trial with some friends and their young adult children that are into the arts, but have convinced themselves that they are unable to paint, I hope to change their minds with these classes. If all goes well with these free classes, I’m hoping to give a few free classes to young kids and start regular classes in the Spring. Thanks again and I hope you visit often.

      October 27, 2010 at 4:54 am

      • Heather Longoria

        You’re in my reader feed! Nice zombie post, BTW.

        October 30, 2010 at 6:01 am

Leave a Reply

