from a dad's view

It’s not all what it’s Quacked up to be

No I didn’t spend an entire day painting and doing nothing else, actually I accomplished quite a bit yesterday, but I did manage to squeeze this and the below painting in yesterday.  This was an amazing photo found on the net, and although the duck looked very fake and still, with no movement, the colors of the duck and the golden pond caught of my eyes instantly.  I hope you enjoy both this one and the one below.  See ya soon!

9 responses

  1. Oh yeah!!! I love the iridescent colors around his head. And the reflections are yummy, too! Beautiful job, Ryan! 🙂

    October 25, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    • Thank you Beth and let me be the one to tell you, that you are the first Yummy compliment ever!

      October 25, 2010 at 7:32 pm

  2. He is beautiful! And the ripples on the water are to die for!

    October 26, 2010 at 2:01 pm

    • Don’t die for them, I need your kind and wonderful comments to keep me going! LOL

      October 27, 2010 at 5:08 am

  3. I think this type of duck is the most beautiful. I can’t remember the breed but very nice painting. The duck is very dramatic against the golden background.

    October 26, 2010 at 2:45 pm

    • We call these wood ducks but I’m not sure if that is the correct name for them. They are incredibly beauty in color and shape. The golden pond was even more vibrant in the photo, but I wanted to bring more attention to the duck. Thanks again for your kind comments!

      October 27, 2010 at 5:06 am

  4. Francis

    I like the colors of the duck and the amazing reflection. Not sure if the duck look fake or not but there something about the gaze. Nice painting Ryan

    October 27, 2010 at 3:28 pm

  5. You did this in an afternoon. You are truly incredible. I love that green on the duck’s head.

    You make me quackers!

    October 30, 2010 at 5:23 am

Leave a Reply

