from a dad's view

Like stone in a creek

Sorry this took a little longer to post than I thought, I’m a little busy at work and at home.  This is a watercolor that I had started during our weekend family and friends camp out, but just now getting to posting it.

As I was painting the stones below the driftwood, I realized of all the different sizes and colors of the stones are a lot like people.  No matter how the government, religions, special interest groups, try to make us all the same… we’re not.  We are all different in color, we are all different shapes, we have different ethics and morals, some are athletic, some are super smart, and some our both, some are right and some are wrong, some are good and some are bad, some work their butts off, and some do nothing… we are all different and will never be the same.  And yet like the stones, we can gather in the same area, making a beautiful pattern of shapes and colors.  As a stone, I’m tan in color, unfortunately rounder than I prefer, and I’m usually on the move.  And I truly don’t care what stone settles next to me, I don’t care what shape, color or origin, but what I do care about is that the stone is strong and helps build a strong foundation.  A weak, soft stone, that is relying on the other stones for support and structure, will only cause decay and erosion.  Don’t get me wrong, even the smallest of pebbles, and each grain of sand, can build a strong foundation, if worked right and finds its place in the creek bed, but it’s the ones relying on others, that don’t try to find their strength in the community, that may cause the down fall of the entire community.  We have charities, churches, friends and family, that acts like a root system, reaching out to those that truly need help and grasping on to them, helping them become part of a strong foundation. But this is not an excuse to do nothing, and expect the reaching out from others if you have a choice.

I know that I have preached this before, and it’s not because I have no compassion or love for fellow-man, actually just the opposite. We have better schooling, technology, and opportunities, than we did when Jefferson, Franklin, Newton, Carver, Ford and more, made their mark in history.  So it’s our attitudes, work ethics, and excuses that are getting in our way from making our sound foundation community.  I want everyone to have as much as they want in riches, not just money, but in life, and I have no jealousy toward those that have more. The saying “I have never been employed by a poor man“ is so true. but you have to as an individual, work hard, position yourself among others and even though you might not be the biggest, or the strongest, you may be a tan, red, yellow, black or a speckled stone, there is a place for you to make our community a strong foundation and a beautiful pattern of strength and color.  Make it your goal in the next year to better yourself, challenge yourself, stand up for yourself and don’t rely on others to do this for you.  As a stronger individual, you’ll make a stronger family, making a stronger community, making a stronger Nation. Be a rock in the creek… not soft mud!

15 responses

  1. Hello!
    This is just so great!I truly have no words to describe it.
    Thank you for sharing!

    November 4, 2010 at 3:47 pm

    • Thank you,
      I visited your blog and you do beautiful art. Thanks for visiting!

      November 5, 2010 at 4:34 am

      • Sure thing!I know how to appreciate a good artwork!
        I’m leaving wordpress and I’ll be launching a new website,It should be up and running very soon.It would be very nice if you stop by from time to time.

        November 5, 2010 at 8:46 am

  2. I really like those pebbles and rocks in this and the comparison of them to us as a community. Your darks always fascinate me. They never look flat but deep and rich. What an interesting subject to bring to light!

    November 4, 2010 at 7:05 pm

    • Thank you Leslie,
      My favorite color (or non color) has always been black. I liked the contrast and depth it creates in drawings and paintings. If anything I use to much black and will leave it out of my paint selection sometimes just to keep me from using it, cause if it’s in there, I’ll use it.

      November 5, 2010 at 4:32 am

      • If you don’t mind sharing ideas? Your black is richer than I feel I attain? Are you dropping in other colors in the black or is that reddish color I see leading from the dark in the middle left between the driftwood added next to the black? I am truly interested.

        November 5, 2010 at 5:30 am

      • I used reddish brown as a wash in the first layer and then once that dries I come back over it with a thicker layer of black with a touch of red or blue in it. Once that dries and I’m satisfied with the depth, I don’t go back into the black but fade the edges with a more watered down wash and shade out into the other colors.
        You have helped me so much in the past, I’m honored that you have even asked me a question. I hope that I helped!

        November 5, 2010 at 5:46 am

      • Thank-you Ryan. 🙂 I hope I can do some of this in future paintings! Like I said, I have only just begun to understand what black watercolor is capable of. I stayed away from it like it was the plague. I don’t think it really is.

        November 5, 2010 at 6:07 am

  3. aswirly

    It came out so beautiful. The gentle curves of the wood and that beautiful multicolored medley of stones… paired with such a good message too! I’ll TRY not to be mud 😉

    November 4, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    • Thank you Amber,
      And I’m sure you’re not mud, I see you more as the Iridescent stone that changes it’s beautiful colors as light shines on it. Sort of like a peacock’s feather… Hmmm I wonder what made me think of that!

      November 5, 2010 at 4:18 am

  4. Beautiful textures! Thank you for sharing how you build your darks. I always struggle with achieving darks to be as dark as I want them.

    November 5, 2010 at 5:15 pm

  5. Francis

    Wooo..strong word there Ryan, having a bad day at work? I agreed with you totally, strong as a rock in a creek. That is the phrase i’m gonna embeded into my head (for a while i hope). It’s an increadible painting, i would love to have this in my living room, the more i look at it the more facinated i become. I can’t imagine how many hours need to put in to finished up the wood texture and the rocks. I think i will do some rock also, they look fantastic in your painting. Thanks for sharing.

    November 7, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    • Thank Francis,
      and yes, someone should smack me on the hand and tell me to keep quiet, but I mean only the best for people. Sometimes hard love is better than passive love.

      November 12, 2010 at 10:20 am

  6. The artwork is beautiful, Ryan, and I love what you had to say, too. Isn’t it wonderful the way our minds compose these thoughts when we paint? The paintings I do while engrossed in thought, always seem to turn out better, too.

    November 11, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    • Thank you Beth,
      Writing what I feel is not always the best thing. I try to be honest, and I always want the best for people, but when written (as poorly as I write) it sometimes comes over wrong in translation. I know sometimes I come over as a prick, but I would just as soon pick one up and get them motivated again, than leave them lay, cover them up, only making me feel better and not really helping them.

      November 12, 2010 at 10:06 am

Leave a Reply

