from a dad's view

The Garden – Acrylic on canvas

This painting was started early this year to the point of being 90% finished… and then I got bored and put it away.  But with my show coming up in a few days, I wanted to have a few more canvas paintings to hang.  I had posted previously the unfinished and thought you might want to see the finished version.

What captured my interest on this scene, was the immense light and dark shadows.  It just seemed warm and inviting from the garden.  I wish this was my garden, but instead I had three tomato plants and a few flowers.  Next year I’m planning a raised garden, with a lot more veggies and herbs.

12 responses

  1. First of all congratulations on your upcoming show.
    I remember this painting and you totally amaze me. The light is awesome. The shapes of the columns are superb….mine would lean, of course. Complete serenity, that is what I see here! Awesome!!!

    November 29, 2010 at 9:09 am

  2. This is an amazing painting, Ryan! The light and the serenity are both very warming! Good Luck on your show!

    November 29, 2010 at 12:25 pm

  3. Wow Ryan, the light and the perspective are both amazing. I’m like Leslie, my columns would be leaning as well!

    November 29, 2010 at 1:59 pm

  4. Sounds like me, I have big plans for my garden next year. But if that really all happens I will be the first to be surprised.
    Love your painting, it does look very inviting
    peace n abundance,
    CheyAnne
    http://cheyannesexton.etsy.com

    November 29, 2010 at 4:11 pm

  5. Ryan, the light and the rhythm in this painting are wonderful! Love it!

    Congratulations on your show! I hope it is a total sell-out!

    November 29, 2010 at 5:30 pm

  6. francis

    Another amzing painting Ryan. I seen it in your previous post, i’m glad you share the finished painting. It’s really amazing and the light is perfect.

    November 30, 2010 at 1:57 am

  7. Rick

    lil bro –
    catching up to your blog, and you know how I feel about this one! Roman architecture – nuff said! 🙂

    Going to be checking out your show, so very very proud of you!

    Bro

    December 3, 2010 at 5:07 am

  8. aswirly

    I remember when you started this painting. I had wondered if we’d ever see the finished painting. It’s wonderful! The play of light, all the detail… you really are amazing!

    December 3, 2010 at 6:40 pm

    • I should have finished this months ago, but it got layed aside and I just now got back to it. I’m crazy like that you know! (reference to the statement prior) LOL

      December 4, 2010 at 5:48 am

  9. Your technique and your artistic sense just amaze me! What precision, what beautiful tones, what wonderful light !

    December 12, 2010 at 8:08 am

  10. Looking through your blog amazes me with how many diffrent styles you’re able to turn your hand to:I particularly like this one.

    January 17, 2011 at 5:07 am

Leave a Reply

