from a dad's view

Oldie Moldy Truck – Acrylic

I know, when you heard the words Oldie Moldy, you thought this blog post was going to be about me… Yes Oldie, but not moldy, I just took a shower last month!  Nope, this is an acrylic painting 24″ x 36″ that I had started a few months ago, but just getting back to finishing it last night, almost finished, a few more rust holes and mold on the fender and headlight.  This truck was covered by some kind of mold looking fungus, that belonged more on and old slice of bread, not a truck, but the hood and fenders were covered with it.  My love for these old trucks rate up there with my love for hunting, fishing, art . . . Oh, and let’s not forget my wife! Wow, that was a close one! I’m hoping someday when we get our kids thru college, I will own two things, a jeep wrangler again, and a 1940’s ford or chevy truck.  I don’t want a little sports car, Harley Davidson or a Escalade, nope, just a wrangler and a old pickup.  I guess this confirms there is a little redneck in me yet.

How do you know you’re a redneck from Indiana:

1.  You know for sure, somewhere in the Bible, it mentions Bobby Knight!

2.  If you have more than one sticker on the back car window, that has a kid pissing on something! (If your from Indiana, you’ll know what I’m talking about)

3.  If the only time you have ever entered a Library in your life, and it’s because your art is hanging there… hey wait a minute, that’s me!

4.  If you say you’ve read three books this week, and those three books are… Bowhunters, Nascar and Playboy magazine!

5.  If you refer to where Leslies and Linda lives, as the Big Cities!

6.  If every other painting you do, is of a damn barn!

7.  If you refer to your church clothes as your, Sunday-Go-Meet’n outfit… your just OLD!

8.  If you think taking your wife to one of those fancy places… and you take her to Olive Garden!

9. If you take a shower, once every month… you’re just a fancy pants wuss, you can go at least two months!

10.  If you use deer hunting scent killer spray, instead of showering… now your talk’n!

12 responses

  1. Hahaha Your posts are always entertaining, Ryan! Beautiful painting!! Oh…. Calvin stickers reside in Oklahoma, too. Usually pissing on a Texas Longhorn Logo.

    December 3, 2010 at 7:08 am

    • I’m just always jealous on how far Calvin can arch it! LOL

      December 4, 2010 at 5:51 am

  2. Ryan, these are great – I understand every one! Here’s a few more.

    1. When a mixed marriage means he’s from IU and she’s from Purdue.
    2. When your “best” clothes are blue & white – right Colts fans?
    3. When your sister-in-law gives you his and hers keychains and you use them to call eack other’s voicemails to record the IU and Purdue fight songs.
    Am I seeing a pattern here?

    I love your painting. I always thought the little pisser was whizzing on a Jimmie (Ford fan here!) OK Have I been obnoxious enough yet? Signing offff….

    December 3, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    • Your good Linda, your real good!
      Thanks for your help, but which do you bleed? Purdue Gold or Hoosier Red?

      December 4, 2010 at 5:50 am

      • Purdue Gold! (But my husband has forgiven me when I got my masters from IU. He thinks I’ve converted!)

        December 9, 2010 at 4:08 pm

  3. aswirly

    Hahaha, you are crazy. So funny. Love this old truck. And check it out, it has California plates!! Woo hoo 🙂

    December 3, 2010 at 6:56 pm

    • Oh, now I really know how you feel about me… Crazy! LOL
      Maybe just alittle and if you ask my brother Rick, he would agree completely with you! California is a state yet to be visited but hopefully someday. Thanks Amber

      December 4, 2010 at 5:42 am

  4. I am NOT a “Redneck” but I love your “Redneck” truck painting! Wish I lived closer. I’d take an acrylics class from you, Ryan.

    December 4, 2010 at 9:09 am

  5. Redneck? Bobby Knight? What are you guys talking about?

    Cool car, needs some bleach to clean up that mold.

    December 6, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    • You’re just to young to know what we’re talking about… you need to come to Indiana someday and we wil edgumikate ya on life!

      December 7, 2010 at 5:27 am

  6. francis

    Nice paint job on the old truck Ryan. The red color fits will with the mold growing on it and the effect on the windshield is just fantastic. I just love how you render old rustic look.

    December 7, 2010 at 8:52 pm

Leave a Reply

