from a dad's view

A touch of spring

I know, I know, your thinking pink flowers… pink, from a deer hunter.  That’s right, I can go from a worn out camo shirt, to wearing a pink shirt on the beach, and not think a thing about it.  Especially if it will bring on spring faster.  The only thing good about winter, is hunting season, and now that it’s over, BRING ON SPRING!

On a side note, my display of art at a local library was fantastic.  I sold eight paintings and had tons of compliments and interest. I’m hoping to get involve with more galleries and shows this year and promote my art even more.  So wish me luck, and if anyone has any suggestions please email me or leave a comment. I have tried etsy.com, but because of your paintings leaving the main page so quickly, I had very few hits.  Maybe It’s me not knowing the tricks of the trade, so if anyone can help, feel free to give me suggestions.

Also, Thank you all that have been visiting my daughters photography blog taylorsview.wordpress.com, she has been thrilled with the turnout, and has posted more beautiful wildlife photos for you to see.

20 responses

  1. Glad to hear you did well at the showing! Maybe you could put your Etsy button on your blog so folks could go there straight from here? I know a lot of other people do that.

    January 3, 2011 at 6:47 am

    • Thanks Sis!
      When are you having one with your Photography? Taylor is hoping to have one in May at the same library. Happy New Year!

      January 5, 2011 at 5:31 am

  2. Wonderful painting. I like the cropped, close-in perspective used. Very nice. Congratulations on the sales! I also struggle to get my paintings seen. Two years ago I tried to have a show in a restaurant or book store almost every month. All I did was nick up the frames as the paintings were moved from place to place. This was just at the beginning of the economic downturn so maybe things are beginning to pick up..!!??

    January 3, 2011 at 11:18 am

    • The economic times have hit the arts hard, but hopefully thing will soon change. Thanks Linda and Happy New Year!

      January 5, 2011 at 5:30 am

  3. These are intricate and refreshing to view on a “bare” and cold winter day, Ryan. I really like how the wet-in-wet came together on the petals of the flowers. Congratulations on your sales and turn out for your show! Hurray!

    January 3, 2011 at 1:21 pm

    • Thank you Leslie,
      I’m hoping to have private or gallery shows this year, but there isn’t a lot of options locally. Happy New Year!

      January 5, 2011 at 5:26 am

  4. Your flowers are delicate with the soft petals blending into the wet in wet background. Nice to see when we are freezing up here.

    Many congratulations on your show and your sales. I had no doubt you would sell your paintings since your work is terrific.

    January 3, 2011 at 7:45 pm

    • Thanks Carol,
      I know how you feel, each morning it’s been anywhere from 11-20 degrees to start the morning. Stay warm and be careful, and hopefully soon warmth will be here.

      January 5, 2011 at 5:22 am

  5. I love your taste of spring, Ryan!! I’m ready for warmer weather!

    January 4, 2011 at 9:25 am

    • I love the taste of anything, taste of Spring, taste of Beef, taste of Cake. . . that’s my problem!
      Thanks Beth!

      January 5, 2011 at 5:20 am

  6. Francis

    Happy New Year to you Ryan. Nice painting of spring flower and congratulation on your art show, wish you have a better year ahead.

    January 4, 2011 at 3:47 pm

    • Thank you Francis,
      The show went really well, and thank you for wishes for a good year. I hope you also have a wonderful, prosperous year.

      January 5, 2011 at 5:18 am

  7. Heather Longoria

    Good luck! Your paintings are amazing!

    January 5, 2011 at 4:26 am

    • Thank you Heather!
      Your compliments are way to kind… and I like it! LOL
      I hope you have a wonderful new year.

      January 5, 2011 at 5:16 am

  8. aswirly

    These are so beautiful! Congrats on your sales at the local library and I’ve been enjoying your Daughter’s website too although I apologize for my delay in commenting (have had a challenging couple weeks)… I have to say, what you said about etsy makes me feel a little btter. I opened a store and am getting so few hits I feel quite discouraged. But you are SOOO good that if YOU aren’t getting hits, well… I think with etsy you really have to promote yourself which I am NOT good at doing, and you have to relist your items frequently throughout the day to get the most viewing (which adds up $$). Do you still have a shop there? I want to see it!

    January 8, 2011 at 11:04 am

    • Thanks Amber,
      I thought it would work out better than it did, but your item gets buried so quick and hard to find, that it just doesn’t work well for me. I’m looking into other directions now that I have seen a lot of interest in my art, I’m going to take it a lot more serious this year and try better and more marketing. I just need a good friend in California with tons of money to just buy them all! LOL

      January 8, 2011 at 5:57 pm

  9. Congrats on your recent sales, the perfect motivation to promote even more! This was a nice treat to see, it is very cold and wet here. I am ready for summer, forget spring! 🙂
    K

    January 8, 2011 at 1:21 pm

    • I’m not sure where your located, but in southern Indiana it was 16 degrees this morning and didn’t get above 25 all day HATE IT and totally agree with you, bring on summer! I’m glad my spring flowers gave a little warmth to ya.

      January 8, 2011 at 6:09 pm

  10. With this flower you really touched my heart!I love it!
    You’ve donne a very good job,dear friend!

    Take care! 🙂

    February 3, 2011 at 8:07 am

Leave a Reply

