from a dad's view

Elephant mirrored – Photo/Painting

This is the first of a set of four 8″ x 10″ Photo and Painting sets.  The photo was taken by my amazingly talented daughter (a little bias I guess) and then I mirrored it and did a watercolor of the image.  The foreground elephant has color but the back was done in black and white only.  The other sets are possibly going to be a lioness, zebra and either a rhino or giraffe.  She has a few posted on her blog but not all the options can be viewed.  The are framed in a wide, warm black and brown matching frames.  I hope to start and finish another this week, and I’m loving the chance to work with her on this project.  I hope you enjoy and come back soon to see the others!

15 responses

  1. I love it dad! I can’t wait to come home and actually see it 🙂

    January 17, 2011 at 7:25 am

    • I just can’t wait till you get home! I’ve missed ya!

      January 17, 2011 at 7:38 am

  2. Very cool image. I love that you’re making art with your daughter.

    January 17, 2011 at 7:27 am

    • Thanks Carol,
      I’m proud of her in every way! Amazing grades, sweet, and talented. I hit the jackpot of great kids with both of my girls.

      January 17, 2011 at 7:41 am

  3. I like that you decided to mirror the image, one small way to make the final results different from each other, but they still stay linked together.
    One question though, why only color on the first elephant?
    K

    January 17, 2011 at 9:44 am

    • Thank you Karen,
      I thought the mirrored image, and the black and white background might be a smoother transition between the original photo and the painting. It just felt right I guess. Thanks!

      January 17, 2011 at 9:56 am

  4. Am following this project closely! How fun! These images are gorgeous, side-by-side, and showcases both of your talents.

    January 17, 2011 at 2:48 pm

  5. What a great idea! And how beautifully done! You two are amazing!

    January 17, 2011 at 3:37 pm

  6. The time spent with your daughter is worth everything.
    These are amazing, Ryan. You are so very talented with watercolors. I must make sure I do not get discouraged while learning to use them each time I come by to visit you..lol. I’m only kidding, your work actually inspires me to strive for the best.
    Great works!

    January 17, 2011 at 6:58 pm

  7. Your pictures are phenomenal and beautiful. I visit your site and I become inspired instantly! Thank you for such inspiration to keep me going with my own medium!

    January 18, 2011 at 4:42 am

  8. aswirly

    Ryan, this is so wonderful. I love this project you are doing with your daughter. BOth the photograph and the painting are simply exquisite!

    January 20, 2011 at 8:37 am

  9. Francis

    The dynamic dual have done it again. The photo and the painting is nothing short but amazing.

    January 20, 2011 at 5:17 pm

  10. Val Erde

    Wow! This is amazing! Did you mirror it as a print and paint from that? I have a problem with doing mirror-images by eye, I find it next to impossible.

    January 25, 2011 at 6:02 pm

    • I work as a engraved stationery designer and everything we put on plate is backwards, the text and graphics, so seeing things backwards comes easy to me. When we used to play Pictionary, I would draw upside down towards the other players so my team could see it rightside up, I’m weird like that I guess. If I have a chance of running them out backwards or mirrored, I will take that opportunity though.

      January 26, 2011 at 5:39 am

      • Val Erde

        I can write backwards, also – up to a point – upside down, but when it comes to images my right brain won’t play ball!

        😉

        January 26, 2011 at 7:30 am

Leave a Reply

