from a dad's view

Stop all your Wining!

This is a 10″ x 14″ watercolor that I finished this weekend while watching those damn Pittsburgh Steelers win again.  Now, I am a NFC man and not sure why I hate the Pittsburgh Steelers as bad as I do, but put it this way, I’m a Redskins fan, and of course I hate Dallas Cowboys, but I hate Steelers even more!  But I guess the two bet teams are going to the SuperBowl, But I yell at the top of my lungs . . . GO PACKERS!  O.K. I’m done Wining about how bad my Skins suck, and that the Steelers are going to the big one again.

19 responses

  1. What a great painting, Ryan!! Love it! I used to have a coworker who I bet on football games with every weekend. He always got the Pittsburg Steelers, and I would never want the L.A. Rams. Other than that, we were wide open. Fun times.

    January 24, 2011 at 7:56 am

    • Thank you Beth,
      A little wager on games, makes the worst of teams fun to watch. Thanks again, and be safe from the birds eye view!

      January 24, 2011 at 8:54 am

  2. Sorry, Ryan. Went down watching my Bears, yesterday. Guess this is what we sign on for until we get the BIG WIN!
    By the way, this is, by far, my favorite painting of yours. Excellent. All the shapes are interesting, love the overall warm tones of it. I’d frame and hang this anywhere!!!!

    January 24, 2011 at 8:38 am

    • The bears Cutler went to the same high school as I did. Heritage Hills in Lincoln City. We have had several pro players come from that small school, including Ken Dilger (Colts), Bruce King (Kansas City Chiefs) and Cutler (THE bears). I was hoping to see the bears go all the way, but they just can’t seem to put it all together.
      Thank you for the wonderful compliment. It is now framed in a rich dark brown (almost black) frame, with a white mat and a small black trim 1/4″ inner edge on the mat. I’m thrilled to hear that it is one of your favorites. That means a lot!

      January 24, 2011 at 8:52 am

  3. Hi Ryan, I can’t say I know a thing about football. Though hubby and my son do. My hubby, is a Cowboys fan (sorry), but don’t loose about it. He does not seem to pay attention to football anymore, he got into NASCAR 10 years ago and is definitely hooked. My son is a Bears fan and speaks to me endlessly of the foreign language of the game to me. lol. He even follows me around the house still going on about them.
    This painting of yours is amazing, Ryan! Just when I think you have reached your highest level in painting you do something this awesome. The bottles look as though one could pick one up right off the shelf. Beautiful!

    January 24, 2011 at 9:16 am

    • Sorry Debbie, but a Cowboys fan! How could you have married a COWBOYS fan! Next thing you will tell me is that he’s a Gordan fan! LOL At least your son has some taste in sports teams.
      I started this one friday evening and finished it last night while watching the games. I enjoyed the bottles and was a new experience for me in watercolors, so I’m thrilled that you like them… but a Cowboys Fan! Tell him, I think that I just threw up in my mouth a little bit just saying those words! LOL Sorry for the graphic grossness, but the Cowboys!

      January 24, 2011 at 9:24 am

  4. Oh my Gosh! rofl. You two could never talk about football without some heat.
    I don’t know anything about football, this is how I could marry a Cowboys fan. Opps! Smiling….I’m not going to say that 7 letter word to you anymore. But I will help you feel a bit better to know that hubby does not like Gordon. He is a Dale fan, first his dad then Jr.
    That painting looks like it took years to paint. It is just beautiful Ryan. I think I want this one!

    January 24, 2011 at 9:40 am

    • LOL! Oh I’m feeling better about your relationship, Earnhart fan can’t be all that bad! My best friend is a huge Cowboys fan, and really neither one of us is a watch every game type fan, we would just as soon be hunting or in the outdoors, but when the Cowboys and Redskins play… there’s a lot of eating and ribbing going on! Just having fun with ya

      January 24, 2011 at 9:46 am

  5. I know Ryan. It is all good. Big Smiles.

    January 24, 2011 at 9:58 am

  6. How long did this painting take? I Absolutely love the composition of your painting. I love how you see whole bottles and parts of some. It is pretty cool to open bottles of wine just to see what the cork says or how it looks. Even the outside presentation of the bottle is artistic in itself. I might just draw from the corks I have stashed away. As for football, I’m a Pats fan, but I don’t think they played well enough to get to the Super Bowl! Oh well!

    January 24, 2011 at 1:42 pm

    • I’m thinking about 3-4 hours, but I did a lot of stopping, watch the games and start again, stop and get some munchies and start again, so I’m not sure.
      The bottles were mostly the same color but I wanted to make some, green, blue and amber, just to give them a little uniqueness. I’m not really a drinker of much anymore, I stopped completely when we had kids and now that they are grown, I’ll sip a glass of wine with friends or a hard drink every once in awhile. But I’m pretty whimpy and cheap date now, it doesn’t take much to make me a little goofy! Thanks for commenting, and I too would have loved to see the Pats, instead of Steelers!

      January 24, 2011 at 2:01 pm

  7. Love the painting! Can’t talk sports with you, have no knowledge or interest in team sports – sorry! But the painting is truly lovely, great subject, composition, and color. Now maybe a short brandy would do something for my cold… yea… thanks for the thought! 😀

    January 24, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    • I love sports, but prefer to play the sport than watch it. All NFL season, I have only watched just a few games, I stay to busy with other activities.
      Thank you for the sweet compliments and take a sip of brandy, Vicks up, and get better!

      January 24, 2011 at 6:45 pm

  8. Ryan. I really admire this complex arrangement. It is very effective and the painting technique and choice of palette show your talent and skill. Just GREAT!

    January 24, 2011 at 3:21 pm

    • Thanks Linda,
      The photo was from the net, my photographer (taylorsview) is off to DC for the Right to Life March, so I had to find my own reference. Thank you for the kind compliment, it was a new project for me with the glass bottles and all. Thanks again!

      January 24, 2011 at 6:40 pm

  9. One time I read this quote about how people are really just rooting for laundry (uniforms). I rarely watch football unless one of the NY teams are playing.

    Love the bottles. Maybe you should have enjoyed some of the liquid beverages you painted to help you with the pain of your team losing.

    January 24, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    • If I had a drink for everytime my team (the Redskins) lost, I would have to buy a brewery!
      I’m mostly an ice tea drinker, Diet Dew on the crazy days. The bottles were fun to do and a new watercolor experience.

      January 24, 2011 at 6:36 pm

  10. aswirly

    I know nothing of football, but I wouldn’t mind a sip of something from one these here bottles 😉 *hic* Love this painting. The textures are wonderful. You’re so inspiring!

    February 1, 2011 at 8:33 am

Leave a Reply

