from a dad's view

Be mine Valentine-nude

Well this isn’t my valentine, I’ve had the same one for thirty years now. This nude is a graphic done with water soluble marker (red) and black ink on hot pressed illustration board.  The red was applied directly in area that I was wanting a solid color and then water on a brush was used to shade out from that.  The trick here is to do small areas at a time or the ink will dry to the point of not being workable.  Multicolors can be used but on this project, for valentines reminder, I preferred just the red and black.  Once the red was applied, I then came back with the black ink and shaded over the red.  I’m hoping to put a short video together soon of this technic, it’s rather easy but hard to explain, so I’m hoping a video will help, and also so you’ll can see just what a hick I really am! Thanks and don’t forget to do something special, for that someone special on Valentines day!

7 responses

  1. I really am going to have to get the markers you are talking about. I know you had told me about them and forgot to put them on the list last week for my once a week trip into town. I’m in a rural area so I have to drive 35 miles one way, so I only go out there once a week. I’ll have to get them on the list for the next shopping trip.
    Video! Yes, I would love to see a video of the technique.
    I bet you spoil your wife on Valentine’s don’t you. Big Smiles…
    Great artwork, Ryan!

    January 27, 2011 at 9:04 am

    • Thanks Debbie,
      I use Pilot razor point markers, but really even cheap kids markers work amazingly, just not as fine pointed as others.
      Our Valentines always consisted of me coming home from work and my daughters and wife would be all dressed up in pretty red dresses. I would put a jacket and tie on, and then we would all sit down to music, wine (sparkling non-alcohol) and a fancy dinner at home. The fine china would have sweet notes made by my wife on each plate, and the girls would have made us cards. after dinner, a few gifts were exchanged and then we would all begin to do formal dancing around the dining room, with the girls feet on top of mine. Valentines day was very special memories for me, and now that my girls are 20 and 17, one is 6′ tall and the 5’5″ they no longer stand on my toes to dance, but I would let them if it would keep the tradition. I hope they’ll pass this tradition on to they’re family someday.

      January 27, 2011 at 9:21 am

  2. You guys are awesome! What a wonderful tradition you all have created, and now the memories you all have to share from the years of doing this. I bet you would allow your girl still stand on your feet. Daughter are very special, and yours no doubt are the most special of all (because I can tell you feel this way of them) The picture you have painted for me of your Valentine’s Day is probably the more romantic I have ever heard. Your a good man and you have a lovely family. May God keep you Blessed.

    January 27, 2011 at 9:33 am

    • My girls (including my wife) are the world to me, we tried to never spoil them with material things, but with time and love. I’m sure your family is the same from what I can tell. Have a great valentines and create a memory… they’re worth more than anything bought from a store! Thanks again!

      January 27, 2011 at 9:38 am

  3. Love the red drapery, Ryan, and ity’s awesome swirled around a figure. Stunning image. Your Valentine’s Day tradition is awesome.

    January 27, 2011 at 7:49 pm

  4. aswirly

    Oooooh sexy!! hehe…. Love it! Man the shading is just gorgeous

    February 1, 2011 at 8:28 am

    • I’m bringing sexy back!
      I was going to pose, but there wasn’t enough drapery to wrap me… must visit a tent store for that! LOL

      February 1, 2011 at 8:54 am

Leave a Reply

