from a dad's view

My Country Sweetheart

Love is in the air!  Do you remember your first crush on someone? That moment when you first looked at them, and you weren’t sure what was going on with your stomach.  You kind of felt funny inside, sort of a tickling feeling, but a feeling you liked and you knew it was a good feeling.  Now what do you do?  Tell them, avoid them, or go the complete opposite and be mean to them, trying to hide your feelings,  Oh, what the heart can do to a person.  I had several of these in grade school, some were for married women, that’s right even in 2nd grade, I had a crush on a married woman, there was a little age difference, but you can’t let age get in the way of love.  Even before that, I had a crush on a girl in the 1st grade, she wasn’t as mature (she was in the 1st grade), but I knew what I liked.  I even wrote (changed) a song just for her, at that time here was a song that had lyrics “My baby does the Hanky Panky”, I, being the romantic type that I was, rewrote the lyrics to say “My Deanne does the Hanky Panky”, I know, I Know, Wow, who could resist that… she did, and broke my heart.  You heartless women out there!  After that I had several crushes on girls, but the hardest that I ever felt was in High School.  Wow, as soon as this girl strolled into the room, with her arms holding her books against her chest, with arms crossed, her head tilted slightly down in a shy but cute way, and her walk… well I’ll leave that one alone.  Bam Bam Bam, my heart started pounding, warmth shot through my body, what could or should I do? She’ll never go out with me, there’s no way.  And then it happened, she looks up with her Icy blue eyes, and looks at me… oh my God, this is it, and then walked on by and set down.  Damn it! I should have said something, anything, but I didn’t.  I know what your thinking, this is the girl that I wonder about, what would have happened if I would have said something.  Where is she now?  I could have been happier with her possibly.  Nope, non of the above, because I married her!  We dated all through high school, and married when we were 22.  We just had our 25th Anniversary last year, and I’m telling you, my heart still gets that funny feeling when I’m around her, but now its not just puppy love or a crush, it’s respect, admiration, and pride in what she was and what she has become.  Not everyone can say this, a matter of fact very few can say this, but my biggest crush is still my wife.  Happy Valentines Day!  and don’t forget that feeling you had or having, respect it, enjoy it and grow old with it!

21 responses

  1. aswirly

    You are killing me here. Sooooooo sweeeeet. Beautiful story and amazingly beautiful painting. Touching!

    February 10, 2011 at 1:02 pm

    • Thank you Amber, i’m not that sweet, just appreciate what I have and want to keep her! Thanks

      February 10, 2011 at 6:11 pm

  2. Wow, Ryan! My eyes got misty there at the end! What a wonderful story! The painting is beautiful, too!

    February 10, 2011 at 1:48 pm

    • Oh Beth, such a softy, but thanks a million!

      February 10, 2011 at 6:08 pm

  3. You must really sweep your wife off her feet. Such a beautiful true story.
    I love the painting!

    February 10, 2011 at 2:44 pm

    • thank you Debbie,
      No sweeping here, just a plain old husband, but thank you.

      February 10, 2011 at 5:56 pm

  4. The painting has a Norman Rockwell sweetness and personality about. Really wonderful to look at and brings back memories of all the wonderful illuatrations I admired as I grew up. Aren’t kids books with their gorgeous illustrations beautiful? Wonderful story. Some days we are just lucky!

    February 10, 2011 at 4:02 pm

  5. Love the sentiments and the painting. One thing I really like about the painting is the granulation that occurred in the background. Aaaah, the young man’s blue eyes. Gentle and riveting.

    February 10, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    • Thank you Leslie,
      This little feller reminded of me when I was younger, extremely shy. Thanks again!

      February 10, 2011 at 5:48 pm

  6. twasntme!

    WOW. again, the words and the drawing. happy valentines day to both of you. ^_^

    February 11, 2011 at 5:29 am

    • Thank you Twasyou!
      I’m glad that you visited and thank you for the kind gesture.

      February 11, 2011 at 11:21 am

  7. Momma

    This painting is just my kind. I am sooo happy that you are happy with your wife. Seems like she is just about as much a part of the family as you are. Can hardly remember one without the other. I take that back. I do remember having you.ha I just hope she realizes how fortunate or should I say blessed she is to have you also. Happy Valentines Day to you Both. Love you Both, Momma

    February 11, 2011 at 11:16 am

    • I can’t remember before her either!
      Thank you momma and Happy valentines day to you also!

      February 11, 2011 at 11:23 am

  8. How touching! Love your story and your painting! They make me think of O’Henry stories and their sweet turns in the end. Happy Valentines to the two of you!

    February 11, 2011 at 1:36 pm

    • Thank you Alex,
      Happy Valentines to you!

      February 12, 2011 at 6:29 am

  9. Oh puke! Just kidding. As your sister, it’s my job to say that. We love Jane and I can say I really do not remember life without her, so she truly is just like one of my siblings. Happy Valentines Day!

    February 13, 2011 at 10:45 am

  10. How adorable. =] Not everyone is so lucky. We all have our crushes and romantic falls, but scraped knees heal, and I personally like to believe we all have someone out there made just for us.

    Lovely illustration. I love the detail in the little girl’s dress and bonnet.

    February 17, 2011 at 7:44 am

    • Thank you MJB,
      I think there is someone out there for everyone, but even with that someone special, it still takes a lot of work, giving and forgiveness. Thanks!

      February 20, 2011 at 5:53 pm

  11. Francis

    This is so lovely. How romantic, this beats all the dinners and candle light. I envy your wife, wish both of you have a very lovely valentine and many many more loving years to come.

    February 17, 2011 at 4:32 pm

    • Thank you,
      Our little dinners have given me a lifetime of wonderful memories. This year was one of the first that we didn’t have because of our kids being away for college, and I missed it so much.

      February 20, 2011 at 6:00 pm

Leave a Reply

