from a dad's view

Old Mill and Creek

I had an urge to paint late yesterday, but had a creative block and really couldn’t figure out what I wanted to paint.  To be honest with you I had it in my head that I wanted to Plein Air, the temperature was about 50, which is warm enough, but the wind was blowing hard, to hard to maintain your board, towels, etc.  So I grabbed this Old Mill with thousands of trees in the background and dived in.  I hope you like it, and hopefully I will post something by Friday. Thanks!

10 responses

  1. I love looking at this enlarged, Ryan. For some reason I like to see pencil lines in watercolor and I see them, here. The trees are lovely and oh so well done! the lights and darks of them. You made this look easy…..

    February 14, 2011 at 8:02 am

    • Thank you Leslie,
      At first I was a stickler on cleaning up my watercolors, but the more I do, the more I like leaving little hints of pencil and splatters. Thanks for noticing those details though.

      February 15, 2011 at 10:57 am

  2. Beautiful wintry colors, and I love the forest in the background. Like Leslie said, you made it look easy, but I have some idea what it takes to create a mass of branches like that. Really well done!

    February 14, 2011 at 11:55 am

  3. Gorgeous deep colors…but it looks so cold! Good atmosphere and very nostalgic.

    February 14, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    • Thank you Linda,
      It was hard to do another winter scene, but I’ll call it my last so long to winter 2010!

      February 15, 2011 at 10:54 am

  4. Yeah !! How do you make branches like that ?? Some patient person you are ! It is stunning! I absolutely LOVE these colors !

    February 15, 2011 at 7:15 am

    • Thank you,
      The background trees were an experiment. I used masking to do as many trees as my eyes could stand, and then painted a wash over that, removed the masking and then just layered several different color of trees, toping them off with the darker color. I do tree fairly quick, so it didn’t take as long as it looks, but thank you for noticing.

      February 15, 2011 at 10:52 am

  5. Francis

    The frozen river and the mill looks just great. I can feel the cold air from this painting. I can’t imagine holding teh brush and do plain nair under such condition. You are brave. Nice art work.

    February 17, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    • Thanks Francis but this wasn’t plein air, this was ib=n the warmth of my studio. I did want to attempt a watercolor while inder freezing though, because the watercolors freeze leaving a crystallized pattern behind.

      February 20, 2011 at 6:02 pm

Leave a Reply

