from a dad's view

Grapes-Final watercolor

Here you go, a hurried final version of the grapes from the previous blog.  These are such wonderful subjects to paint or draw, they have beautiful shapes and shadows.

I usually try to put a story or memory with most of my paintings, and the memory of grapes vines would include my wonderful grandfather and grandmother.  They lived in a small house and grew almost everything they ate.  They had chickens, huge garden, fruit and grapes.  They grape-vine was an arching one that at the time seemed like a mile long, but I’m sure it would have only been no more than ten yards or so.  As a kid I loved the way they completely arched over, darkening the bottom side to the point of  not being able to see much sun light through the leaves.  At the end of the grape-vine was a goose berry bush, unfortunately I loved both berries, and was warned about eating to many of either.  But did I listen… oh hell no!  I would lay under the grape-vine (after checking for snakes) and eat grapes and goose berries until green in the face… bad idea, believe me, you’ll pay in awful ways if you over indulge in either berry. The sad thing is no matter how much pain and agony that I went through, the very next time we would visit, my butt would be right back under there and do the same thing.

So if there’s anything to be learned here is:

1. always check for snakes before entering the grape zone!

2. Never put a goose berry bush within arms length of this boy!

3. After eating to many grapes and goose berries, make sure that your grandma and grandpa has something more than an outhouse! Oh I forgot to mention at the time, all they had was an outhouse! Mercy, I think I’ll stop on that one.

TMI (To Much Information)!

13 responses

  1. Hahahaha, you make me laugh with the story of eating too many berries, Ryan!! I’m still laughing and trying to type this at the same time, so forgive any typos, for my eyes are watering from laughter!! It’s the mental picture you painted for me that got me!
    I understand the outhouse thing, but only from stories from my hubby who was raised in a home that had one as the facility. But…still laughing here. You are a great story teller..
    I love the grapes and am thinking of trying my hand at it one day. And I thank you for posting the progress of it.
    Have a good evening, Ryan, and thank you for making my day!

    February 23, 2011 at 3:19 pm

    • I’m always happy to bring a smile or laughter to someone, the sad thing is, it’s all true… everything! LOL
      Can’t wait to see your version. Thanks Debbie!

      February 23, 2011 at 4:55 pm

  2. Beautiful painting, Ryan! I really love all the color and texture in that big wonderful leaf!! AND the grapes!! AND the background!! 😀

    WOW!!!

    February 23, 2011 at 3:55 pm

  3. That leaf filled with veins, oh my is that good! I know I could not pull something like that off so effectively. It is those greenish grapes like the one poking out on the bottom of this bunch that are the real “killers”. Fun story Ryan!

    February 23, 2011 at 9:14 pm

    • Thank you Leslie,
      Green grapes and goose berries… a deadly combination! LOL

      February 24, 2011 at 5:32 am

  4. aswirly

    All they had was an OUTHOUSE??? *gasp* I’d rather use a bush! lol. This came out beautiful and I love your instruction in the previous post of this painting about thinking about drawing the shapes piece by piece.

    February 25, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    • Both of my grandparents only had outhouses when I was younger, and gross but true, a big cooking pot under the bed for those nighttime emergency! Oh the good ol’ days!

      February 25, 2011 at 1:01 pm

  5. Your leaf looks like stained glass and the background is luscious, just like the grapes. Beautiful!

    I can’t even comment on either the snakes or the outhouses. Yikes!

    February 27, 2011 at 4:50 pm

  6. Your painting is great. Glorious color and another great story. Our neighbor – Mrs Corey – had the same arrangement of a grape arbor loaded with grapes and gooseberry bushes at the end. I LOVED to sneak sweet, juicy concord grapes but when I latched onto a handfull of gooseberries…OH MY – pucker time!

    March 4, 2011 at 3:36 pm

    • Yep, goose berries were always good on dates… makes the girls pucker-up! When you look like me, sometimes you have to use tricks to get a kiss! Thanks Linda

      March 7, 2011 at 7:54 am

  7. excellent submit, i certainly love this site, keep on it

    November 24, 2011 at 2:46 am

Leave a Reply

