from a dad's view

It takes a Village – not really!

No, not going political on this one, because most of you know how I feel .  Just wanted to post this painting that I did this weekend from a photograph.  The photo of the painting was taken with a cell phone, so it was a little distorted and off color.  It’s a 10″ x 10″ on 140lb coldpress paper. I hope to squeeze in a few more before leaving on Spring Break. Of course I hope to do a few while in Florida.  Hope ya’ll have a good week and we’ll see you soon.

15 responses

  1. Wow…. I love this..It reminds me of some of the apartments when I went to Brazil that had flowers hanging from the windows…

    I want to live there!

    March 7, 2011 at 6:24 am

    • Thank you!
      Brazil… you’re to young to have already gone to Brazil, that just isn’t fair! Actually other than I would love to take Jiu Jitsu classes from the great Grace family, I think Brazil would be a little to wild for this old man!

      March 7, 2011 at 7:33 am

  2. I certainly hope you have a wonderful time in Florida; sounds warm and wonderful. I hope you have a great time.
    I love this painting, it is so quaint and beautiful. You just keep inspiring me to want to try things. Thank you for sharing, Ryan!

    March 7, 2011 at 6:30 am

    • Thank you Debbie,
      We’re meeting some really good friends and staying a week. Mostly for relaxing, fishing, painting and just having a good time.

      March 7, 2011 at 7:29 am

  3. Beautiful little street scene, Ryan. 10 by 10 is a perfect size for this. I want to live in the yellow one!

    March 7, 2011 at 7:13 am

    • I’ll take the green one, although I’ve heard about the loud parties you have, so maybe a few more doors down would be best! LOL
      Thanks Leslie

      March 7, 2011 at 7:26 am

  4. My goodness, Ryan. This is good. It’s one of my favorites you’ve done in a while. Wait, I think I may say that all the time..

    March 7, 2011 at 4:17 pm

    • Thanks Sis,
      Keep on bragging, I can take it! LOL

      March 11, 2011 at 1:52 pm

  5. Francis

    It’s really nice. So serene and quite. Feels like i wanted to go there and have a rest.You ahve a great weekend too.

    March 9, 2011 at 4:14 pm

    • Thanks Francis,
      I hope all is well with you and your family!

      March 11, 2011 at 1:52 pm

  6. Really wonderful. Reminds of the six months we spent in Heidelberg. Thanks for the memory!

    March 10, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    • Thank you Linda,
      I’m surrounded by Heidelberg engraving presses that are hundred years old, but I have never been there.
      I hope to travel a lot someday though.

      March 11, 2011 at 1:56 pm

  7. aswirly

    This is waaay too beautiful and you’re making me totally jealous. 😉 It’s just… wonderful.

    March 11, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    • Thank you Amber,
      I hope to finish it this weekend before leaving for Spring Break.

      March 11, 2011 at 1:48 pm

  8. What a beautiful little village street. I would love to walk on those cobblestones and see the lovely flowers in the window boxes.

    March 12, 2011 at 4:36 pm

Leave a Reply

