from a dad's view

Butterfly Fairy – watercolor

Click on Image to Enlarge

A little fantasy never hurt anyone, so friday I started playing around with this one while on break and finished it last night.  I was hoping to have the Venice canal finished, but this weekend was Honey-do-this weekend.  That, and our spring break getaway is coming up fast, so I’m preparing for that.  This was a nude model photo, that I added the wings and color too. I was going to make it darker and more of a sad fallen fairy, but as I was painting it, I began to go in the direction of lovely and calm.

I hope you like it and let me know either way!

17 responses

  1. Honey do, eh? Hmmm, my hubby has those lists too from time to time. And I certainly hope you enjoy the spring-break getaway you have coming up.
    The painting is just as you wanted to portray her, “lovely and calm.” I love the details in the wings and her long ponytail falling over her shoulder, as well as her relaxed position. Ryan, everything about this painting is excellent and I love it!

    March 14, 2011 at 6:17 am

    • Thank you Debbie,
      I loved the extreme position she was in and yet calm looking, all I did was add the wings.

      March 14, 2011 at 10:59 am

  2. This is my favorite figure of yours, so far, Ryan. The detail and color of the wings go so beautifully with the way you render a figure. I also like those squiggly lines moving off and away from her fingertips into the sand. Gives the impression she has been actively scattering fairy dust and has come here to rest.

    March 14, 2011 at 6:34 am

    • Thank you Leslie,
      I used to do this style of painting when I was in High School. I will probably do several this year.

      March 14, 2011 at 10:57 am

  3. I don’t know if I can say it any better than Leslie did! This is an amazing painting, Ryan. I also loved the color trailing from her fingertips and the wings are absolutely incredible! It has to be one of my very favorites!!!!

    **GOLD star affixed here**

    March 14, 2011 at 7:55 am

    • Thank you Beth,
      A Gold Star… I have never received a Gold Star! Whhhhooooo hooooo!

      March 14, 2011 at 10:50 am

  4. aswirly

    I LOVE it! I want it! It’s gorgeous. I love your imagination and the colors. Her wings are so unique and captivating.

    March 14, 2011 at 10:02 am

    • Thank you Amber!
      We might have to see if she can fly your way.

      March 14, 2011 at 10:49 am

      • aswirly

        I believe in fairies *clap clap* I believe *clap clap*

        March 14, 2011 at 11:14 am

      • Is that your “I want this butterfly fairy” dance or what? You crack me up!

        March 14, 2011 at 11:37 am

  5. Oh my! This is great! I love it so much!

    March 14, 2011 at 4:10 pm

    • Thank you Cher!
      I’m glad that you have visited and thanks for the kind comment.

      March 14, 2011 at 4:38 pm

  6. Francis

    So lovely, i think you have achieve it. I can feel the calmness from the fairy. Love those wings, i can imagine stardust busting from those wings.

    March 14, 2011 at 6:51 pm

  7. Beautiful! I especially love her wings!

    March 14, 2011 at 10:34 pm

  8. Very lovely. I like the open space in it as well.

    March 15, 2011 at 8:36 am

  9. Lovely and the wings are exquisite. Lacy and delicate – I think you made the right decision.

    March 15, 2011 at 12:50 pm

  10. Oh, her wings are beautiful!!!

    April 7, 2011 at 11:23 am

Leave a Reply

