from a dad's view

Sea Shell by the Sea Shore – Watercolor

Listen… can you hear it, years and years of families making memories. Can’t hear it yet, put the shell a little closer to your ear, and listen closely, now do you hear the kids laughing as they run back and forth, up and down the beach, avoiding the waves edge. Maybe the laughter as the dad throws his kids high in the air and catching them just before they land in the ocean waters or maybe the building of the first sand castle for some small kids and the amazement in their eyes when something so beautiful can be made from something so simple.  Or maybe the teenagers playing games, hoping that they meet someone special to spend their Spring Break with.  Or maybe that retired older couple that spends their days hand in hand walking the beach, remembering all those memories and still making more as they go. Can you hear it, can you hear it now?  If not, maybe it’s because you haven’t experienced it yet, and just don’t know what it sounds like.  Take my advice, and locate the nearest ocean and go, we drive 10-14 hours to get to one, and it’s all worth it!  Sacrifice some unnecessary, material things, and take that special one, family or your kids, and go.  I think you’ll find that it is all worth it in the end.  And while your down there, buy a conch shell, they are only a few dollars, mark the date on the bottom of it, and put your ear close to its opening and listen every once in a while, I think then you hear all the memories that you had made.  Thanks, and make some memories with your family!

17 responses

  1. I just got back from the beach!(45 minute drive) It is so therapeutic and peaceful. If I had to drive 10 to 14 hours I would certainly make the trip as well. Your painting is stunning and soothing. I loved what you wrote; it is so true! Thanks for sharing!

    March 27, 2011 at 11:13 am

    • Thank you,
      45 minutes! I believe I’m liking the sounds of that!
      I’m not the best writer, so when someone finds my writing touching or likes it, it makes me feel a lot better about my writing with the photos. I keep thinking that I should just post the paintings and leave out the writings, but it just doesn’t feel write when I do. So thank you for your kind comments!

      March 28, 2011 at 11:07 am

      • Keep writing! I too feel like just posting the pictures, but there are always emotions to give the reader a sense of what your thoughts were. Well done!

        March 28, 2011 at 1:43 pm

  2. I have a conch shell just like the one in your painting. I picked that one up in 7-8 years ago. I collect my own off the beach now and for each one is a fond memory.
    It’s good to have you back on your blog, Ryan…you were sorely missed.
    Your watercolor painting of the conch shell is no less than perfect. It’s beautiful!

    March 27, 2011 at 11:45 am

    • Thank you Debbie,
      I prefer to blog from the beach instead from a snowy, cold state, but maybe someday soon!
      Take a listen to one of those shells that you have… you might hear me splashing and fishing in the ocean!

      March 28, 2011 at 11:00 am

  3. Wonderful story, Ryan. I like the idea of dating a conch each year you go, also.
    Nice loose painting of conch and surf!

    March 27, 2011 at 1:37 pm

    • Thank you Leslie,
      A person is never to old to have special moments in life… at least I hope not, I hope to have plenty more!

      March 28, 2011 at 10:55 am

  4. Oddly, the memories I have of a conch shell are not of the ocean. My grandmother used to have one, and I remember playing with it as a child. I tried the typical listen to the ocean thing, but I would also study the design of the shell; the way the pink extended from the inside to the out, as if blushing; wondering if any creatures had once lived inside. Seeing your piece brings back those memories. Thank you!

    March 27, 2011 at 9:49 pm

    • Thank you Angela,
      They are beautiful shells and so cool in shape, color and design, and the pink is almost to perfect to be natural. I’m glad it brought back memories for you of a place special in your heart. Also thanks for visiting, I hope that you’ll return!

      March 28, 2011 at 10:54 am

  5. Great painting, Ryan! I love the splatter! It reminds me of the sand that’s in everything when you get home from a beach vacation. I also love the beach! I’m so glad you had a good time. 🙂

    March 28, 2011 at 12:23 pm

    • Yep, I always custom fit carpeting in our van before going on a trip to Florida, it captures all the sand, grit and stains and then I pull it out once we get back. I don’t just use my head as a hat rack you know! LOL

      March 28, 2011 at 12:32 pm

  6. beautiful painting. I can hear the ocean and feel the sand.

    March 28, 2011 at 3:54 pm

  7. Your painting of the sea shell stranded in the shore and caressed by the sea waves breathes life in my mind senses. And the words behind the artwork gave it soul. I wrote a poem, “Unrequited” and part of the poem expresses the sentiments of a sea-shell awaiting in some unfrequented coast for somebody to pick it up and listen to the songs of the ocean it encapsulates:

    “I understand the sea-shells stranded

    In a far-flung coast, unfrequented,

    That the surf polish

    And washed white by the brines

    But no one comes to pick them for souvenir.

    Encapsuled songs of the ocean

    No one hears.”

    (From Jeques’s poem, “Unrequited”) http://jeques.wordpress.com/2011/03/25/unrequited-2/

    Great works in the form of words and art.

    I wish you well.

    ~ Jeques

    March 29, 2011 at 9:01 am

  8. aswirly

    The nearest ocean to me is a 1/2 mile down the road 😉 hehe… BUT, it’s very cold! No shorts are to be worn. And don’t swim too far out unless you want to be someone’s lunch ;)You paint such a lovely image here, both in watercolor and in words!

    March 29, 2011 at 6:07 pm

    • Oh, rub it in Amber! A half mile! Maybe that painting won’t reach the pacific shores after all! LOL
      The Atlanta is still pretty cold this time of the year, but the weather upper 80’s was perfect. Thank you for your sweet comments!

      March 30, 2011 at 4:53 am

  9. Ryan, this is beautiful. I like the way the foam from the wave curls around the shell. Very nice!

    March 31, 2011 at 1:24 pm

  10. I simply love your artwork!
    It makes me think at the summer! 😉

    Have a great day,dear friend! 🙂

    April 8, 2011 at 12:54 am

Leave a Reply

