from a dad's view

Spring Break 2011

It was HOT, it was FUN, and I LOVED it!  I didn’t get a lot of time to paint because I spent most of my time deep sea fishing and having fun with my family and the family that went with us.  I did get a couple of watercolors in before leaving, but not a lot of plein airing.  The temperature was 82 – 87 degrees and nothing but blue skies the entire time that we were in Orlando.  But then we got the pleasure of returning to Indiana with snow, wind and 34 degrees… SUCKS!   Thanks for visiting and I hope my painting brings you a little Florida warmth when viewing it.

12 responses

  1. What a fun and whimsical piece!

    March 27, 2011 at 11:14 am

  2. Yes, winter relapsed…bummer,eh. I’m glad you had a good time on the spring-break, you are well deserving of it. I missed you posting this week, but you just made it all worth the wait. Love this painting some kind of much!

    March 27, 2011 at 11:36 am

    • Thanks again Debbie,
      I know it sounds odd but I really missed posting. The wi-fi was horrible and I tried several time to post the paintings, but it just wouldn’t go through. The weather was perfect and I browned up my skinny little white legs up a little (they needed it). I hope to go back this summer and take both my daughters this time. I missed my biggest girl so much while down there and she was at college.

      March 28, 2011 at 11:03 am

  3. Glad to hear you had good weather and a great time, Ryan!
    The turtle’s face is absolutely wonderful. You got expression in it!

    March 27, 2011 at 1:34 pm

    • Thanks,
      It looked as though it was smiling, that’s what caught my eye. The other thing cool, while deep sea fishing Friday, a huge sea turtle came up to visit the boat, it’s large head would come out of the water look at us and drop back in. It did this several times before moving on. This is the third sea turtle that I have seen while deep sea fishing.

      March 28, 2011 at 10:57 am

  4. This is so wonderful, Ryan! It’s as if he posed for you! 🙂

    March 28, 2011 at 12:20 pm

    • He did!
      The only problem I had was doing a watercolor while under the water… it just doesn’t work very well! Thanks Beth!

      March 28, 2011 at 12:29 pm

  5. aswirly

    Oh it sounds like you had a great time! Did you really swim with sea turtles :)) I love this painting. It makes me crave a vacation 😉

    March 29, 2011 at 6:03 pm

    • We did have a great time, a perfect time, the girls had a blast at the theme parks (I think checking out the boys) and us old folks had a great time, fishing, beaching, and hanging out just having fun. Nope, I didn’t get to swim with the sea turtle, we were on a fishing charter and wasn’t allowed to jump in. They are very impressive creatures and would inspire many to paint them. Vacations are wonderful, even a short weekend one, we’re heading to Lexington, KY in a few weeks to see my oldest daughter ride in the Equestrian Nationals competition. We’re excited because it’s her first year of competition riding and she’s already made the Grand Nationals (so proud).

      March 30, 2011 at 5:02 am

  6. She is so cute !!

    April 19, 2011 at 6:15 pm

  7. Francis

    Nice Turtle painting Ryan. I like the angle you capture the turtle swiming.

    May 15, 2011 at 4:14 pm

Leave a Reply

