from a dad's view

Tsunami – Raping of the Land and it’s People

This graphic is something that I started, and really didn’t know how I felt about it, while drawing it.  How can something so magnificent, powerful and really beautiful, be so destructive and killing.  I was just out to sea, only about 20 miles off shore deep-sea fishing, and was absolutely amazed by the beauty of the ocean.  The color, the creatures, the rhythm of the waves, I just stared in wonder.  But then I remembered the horrible tragedy in Japan just a few weeks ago, and other places in the past.  This liquid that can be se cleansing, so delicate to the touch of a finger, can instantly turn into a power like no other.  As I thought more about it, I started thinking of my family basking on the beach just miles from me, the same as so many in Japan, and what was lost in just seconds.  I guess with living, and I do want to live life to the fullest, there are always that chance of something horrible can happen.  Fires, Storms, Human conflict and yes tsunamis, are something that can happen at any moment, but I can’t imagine not taking those chances, and live, while breathing.  The amazing time that my family had on the beach, the amazing time that I had on the ocean, out counters the chance of catastrophe and not living life to its fullest. If anything the knowledge that life can be taken away at any moment, gives me even more motivation to live it, and appreciate it now.

I pray for the people of Japan, and I hope from all that was taken by this rape of their country, that they recover fully.  The reason I say rape, is because this is something that could not have been stopped, or was caused by any neglect or any evil of Japan’s people. I hope and pray that the reactors and contamination is soon resolved, and I believe because of their respect for each other, and the way the Japanese people will give all for their country, they will soon be back as one of the most powerful countries in our world.

My art can do very little to show the hurt, the pain, the destruction of places that have been affected by a tsunamis, but I also wanted to show a slight beauty to the massive wave as well.  Please don’t take this piece of art as anything but art, it’s not political, it’s not racist, and it’s not an indication or belief that anyone deserves any such as a tsunami… it’s just my art and thoughts! The blue wave (hand) represents the tsunami, taking the resources from the Land (the green hand) in a tug of war of give and take.

18 responses

  1. This is a very beautiful piece of art, Ryan, and a very moving post. I do agree that we have to live for today, in the fullest way possible. It is also important that we tell the people we love how we feel about them… often. Great post! 🙂

    March 29, 2011 at 11:06 am

    • Thanks Beth,
      and I see you as one that takes full advantage of life, flying, art, travel, constantly moving, and thinking (sometimes in a blonde way) but thinking! LOL
      and always with a smile or laughter!

      March 29, 2011 at 11:09 am

  2. You expressed the idea really beautifully. It’s sorrowful, graceful, delicate and powerful all at the time time.

    March 29, 2011 at 2:16 pm

  3. aswirly

    This is very touching, and the image is just magnificently creative. I love it, and the symbolism behind it.

    March 29, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    • Thank you Amber,
      I hoped that it would touch people and make them stop and appreciate what they have.

      March 30, 2011 at 4:49 am

  4. Absolutely beautiful and wonderfully creative, Ryan. A great tribute to Japan and to nature and good thoughts about our vulnerabilities with nature as I can also see the flip side of how we have wreaked havoc on nature. Excellent post.

    March 30, 2011 at 6:10 am

  5. I really like the give and take in this piece – it reminded me a bit of the Yin/Yang Asian symbol. Nature just plays the give and take on a much bigger scale.

    What is your medium here? And the dimensions?

    March 30, 2011 at 9:43 am

    • Thank you and welcome!
      The majority is watercolor with an outline of ink. Image size is about 4″ x 11″ on hot press board.

      March 30, 2011 at 9:53 am

  6. Val Erde

    Very well said, and I like your art.

    March 31, 2011 at 2:39 am

  7. mjb153

    This is extremely beautiful.. I love this. If I had money, I’d beg you for a chance to purchase it and hang it in my living room- no joke. It is so lovely and gentle, yet can be so destructive.. I adore the concept and you did it beautifully.

    More people should have empathy for the tragedy in Japan… for some, it is too distant for them to care.. but if it were here, we would be devastated. What really gets me, is that when I was listenning to NPR this morning, the morality and self-discipline that is a huge part of Japanese society, has kept lootings at an all-time-low… only 10 reports of theft in one of their cities of over 40,000…. when Katrina shook New Orleans, there were lootings everywhere- all Hell had basically broken loose. I wish that Americans had this incredible self-discipline and caring for their neighbors..

    March 31, 2011 at 5:21 am

    • mjb153

      *when I was listening to NPR this morning they said..

      sorry. got ahead of myself.

      March 31, 2011 at 5:22 am

      • LOL! I do it all the time while writing. I’m not the best writer, poor grammar and absolutely zero higher education (so stick with college), but I have a lot of thoughts racing through my head and I try to relay them the best I can, but that doesn’t always work. I review my stories just before posting them, but I try to keep them as raw and true to my thoughts as possible, even if they don’t make sense sometimes. Thanks again!

        March 31, 2011 at 5:41 am

    • Thank you for adding such wonderful thoughts. I have studied the martial arts of Japan, and like the art, honor, discipline, respect and love, comes from the people and their Country. Unfortunately this is also the reason why they are, and were, an extremely tough and life giving soldier. This is what used to make our Country the best, we had the same ethics, but have lost so much of it. But we are still the most giving, and most willing to sacrifice country in the world, especially the protection and the promotion freedoms. Thank you again!

      March 31, 2011 at 5:35 am

  8. Lovely flowing design…clean and crisp.
    Events like those in Japan are hard to understand. Nature can be many things – peaceful today but violent tomorrow, beautiful with spring sunshine and flowers then ugly with the green light that announces a tornado. Tornadoes, earthquakes, hurricanes, cyclones, lightning storms – nature has so many forms of destruction but the worst is the manmade destruction. We know the consequences, we know the impact. We can only hope to do better.

    March 31, 2011 at 1:23 pm

  9. I love the image – so exquisitely stylized and beautiful. I also admire your ability to respond to tragic events with art. I never could. It would take me years to come up with an idea and by then it wouldn’t be relevant. I think yours is an amazing ability.

    April 2, 2011 at 7:59 pm

  10. this is a gorgeous representation of a truly tragic event… I love how the lines flow together to represent the interconnected nature of land and sea, and how you used the hands/concept of giving and taking…. truly remarkable. =)

    April 29, 2011 at 3:01 am

    • Thank you Hilary,
      This was and still is such a tragic event and now we have the destruction of so many lives and homes in the south due to tornados and storms. Nature is such an amazing power, it can be so beautiful and yet so destructive. Thank you again for visiting and I hope that you’ll check in every once in a while.

      April 29, 2011 at 4:10 am

Leave a Reply

