from a dad's view

Gnarly Old Tree

Click on Pics to Enlarge

First of all let me thank everyone that responded so kindly to my April fools joke.  I would have never imagined that I would have gotten so many responses, and so many concerns on what was going on.  That’s why I published a winner as soon as I had one, because of the guilt I felt and to assure all my friends out there, that everything was just fine. I will never pull this one again, so the next time I publish something similar it will be for real.

As for the pen and watercolor wash above, it’s 7″ x 10″ as was drawn with a tech pen, a fine brush, and watercolors.  I was undecided on whether to add the green or keep it just gray and black, but I have drawn so many trees in the past that were just black and white, I decided to add a splash of color.  But I did decide to keep it just one additional color, which is a sage green, and only painting the tree and a few rocks for a mold effect. Keeping everything else just the pen and ink.  I hope that you enjoy it, those who are still visiting and talking to me that is!

GO BUTLER!

21 responses

  1. I’m kinda getting a kick out of you feeling so guilty about what you pulled on Friday. he he

    The sage green was a good choice for this tree. It turned out beautiful, Ryan!! Did your family survive being with you on April Fools Day? 😀

    April 4, 2011 at 5:54 am

    • I’ll be honest with you, the bloggers and my daughter were the only two that I pulled that day. I not the best at lying, my cheeks get rounder, the grin starts to show, I’m just not good at it unless playing poker. It was great talking to ya, and I haven’t yet decided what to paint you but it will be on it’s way in the near future. Thanks Beth!

      April 4, 2011 at 6:18 am

      • That’s funny! I can see the cheeks getting rounder as the grin spreads across your cheeks! he he

        April 4, 2011 at 8:12 am

      • It’s funny because I look a lot like my dad and when we talked to him on the phone, you can tell when he’s teasing, even through the phone you can tell when his cheeks start to round out in guilt. Like father, Like son I guess!

        April 4, 2011 at 9:30 am

  2. Gregorio Perez

    Just checkin’ back to see the “gnarly” tree. It’s looks great! The name of the artist that I couldnt think of before is Jack Unruh. I think you’ll like him. He has a website but the illustration in Stonefly Magazine is not in there…go figure. Keep up the good work =)

    April 4, 2011 at 8:07 am

    • Thanks!
      I checked out Jack Unruh web and was very impressed. Thanks again for visiting and I hope you return to check out future post.

      April 4, 2011 at 9:28 am

  3. how very nice that you recognize your wife’s talent and efforts to create a beautiful home….
    …and thank-you for dropping by my blog…
    love your work…would like to feature it in an up-coming post soon, if you don’t mind…
    maureen

    April 4, 2011 at 9:21 am

    • Welcome Maureen!
      She’s an amazing talent in so many different ways.
      I would be honored if you would use my art or blog in any of your work. Thanks for just considering it!

      April 4, 2011 at 9:32 am

  4. Love the gnarly tree! Great character, like an old man’s portrait!

    Some April’s Fool jokes are just too good. I remember calling everyone to the window to look at a donkey pulling a carriage once several years ago. My family still remembers and is still upset with me that there was no donkey… 😦 I think yours was even better :)!

    April 5, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    • Thank you Alex, but a donkey pulling a carraige… really! LOL

      April 5, 2011 at 5:26 pm

  5. Your April Fool’s joke was just plain fun. No need to apologize to this fellow blogger. The tree is great with or without the color added, Ryan. The color takes the tale a bit furthur I think. I could stare at this tree, forever, and probably see something new each time.

    April 5, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    • Thank you Leslie,
      I wish that I had a better scan that would hold more detail and less light reflection. Thanks!

      April 7, 2011 at 7:25 am

  6. Love the gnarly tree. I love trees, all kinds and this one is particularly interesting with all those big roots.

    Bad, Bad Ryan for fooling us all.

    April 6, 2011 at 6:43 pm

    • Thank you Carol,
      Not sure why, but trees are one of my favorite subjects to draw and paint.

      I’m Bad, I’m Bad, you know it! Eeeehoooo! (in my Michael Jackson Voice)

      April 7, 2011 at 7:24 am

      • I’m laughing picturing you doing a Michael Jackson imitation.

        April 8, 2011 at 5:24 am

      • Hey! What’s that supposed to mean! I’ve got the moves, because I’ve danced to the Jackson 5 ever since I was 9 years old. Heee Heee, shamone! LOL Ouch, wait, I think I just pulled something, maybe I’m not so BAD! Help, someone come and pick me up off the floor please!

        April 8, 2011 at 5:31 am

  7. Ryan, the final result is awesome. I love the ink drawing and the subtle color palette is wonderful. LOVE this one!!!

    April 7, 2011 at 5:24 am

    • Thank you Bree,
      Love your last post and painting, you are a talent!

      April 7, 2011 at 7:21 am

  8. WOW !

    April 19, 2011 at 6:14 pm

  9. Hey asmalltowndad! I love this tree–very beautiful! I am just now figuring out how to use watercolor and pen/marker together, but usually I use the watercolor first. How do you prevent the pen from bleeding when you watercolor over it? Is it the type of pen you use that prevents it from bleeding?

    January 6, 2012 at 9:09 am

    • First of all thanks for visiting my blog and I really enjoyed yours.
      I use mechanical pens with rapidograph waterproof india ink, although some markers work but not as well. Just make sure it’s really dry before applying watercolors. i hope this helps and thank you again for visiting and your kind comments.

      January 6, 2012 at 9:16 am

Leave a Reply

