from a dad's view

a RAY of SOUL – watercolor

This songs for you… well I can’t sing-a-lick, so instead I painted this version of one of my favorite voices, Ray Charles.  I was listening to his song “This song’s for you”, talking about kicking butt, this man could do it.  The soul that some musicians have, absolutely comes through every word they sing.  They might not have the greatest of voices (he did), but the energy, the passion, and the soul that they release, makes the song.  I love music of all kinds, as long as they put some type of soul into the song.  We have lost that in the last 20 years, because of lip syncing and the pop music marketing.  If you noticed most of the huge stars in the past 20 years have disappeared, and that’s because they didn’t have, or lost the passion and soul of their music.  Don’t get me wrong, I have listened to Pop music all my life, and some was absolutely horrible… but fun, but fun usually will get a singer a one hit wonder, or if your lucky two.  Look at the music industry and see who is still surviving and releasing music even after the age of 50, 60’s, it’s because they have the soul.  The one thing that I have noticed on this years American Idol, is that more of the singers have that soul to their voices, and passion for what they are singing. Let’s just hope that the music industry don’t get a hold of them and rob them of their souls.  Because a person with out soul, is a person without heart.  So throw away those damn head mics, throw away those recordings playing in the background, grab a guitar, piano, or hand-held mic and bring back the soul in music.

This watercolor is a 3.5″ x 3.5″ on hot pressed board, and I rocked to Ray while painting it!

15 responses

  1. aswirly

    Awesome! Awesome painting and awesome sentiment too… I love the shadows and the background of the painting. Mesmerizing. I think I’ll go play my piano now 😉

    April 8, 2011 at 10:04 am

    • I know you’ll play it with soul… after all, you are a little turd! (inside joke folks) and you can play the piano too, I’m starting not to like you!
      Thanks!

      April 8, 2011 at 10:06 am

  2. So Cool! You and Leslie are on the same wave length today! Love it, Ryan!

    April 8, 2011 at 10:07 am

    • I haven’t checked Leslie’s post out yet today, heading that way now!
      Thanks Beth!

      April 8, 2011 at 10:09 am

  3. Awesome painting of Ray Charles. I also am jumping up and down over that cool sparkly background, Ryan. Soul sparkles, do you think? Thank you for sharing this song of his with us. I guess I have missed this one even though I consider myself an avid music listener. How did we do this, posting musicians on the same day? Pretty fun! 🙂

    April 8, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    • Thanks Leslie,
      I tried to get lights and lighters effect with the background, but soul sparkles… I like that!

      April 9, 2011 at 7:09 pm

  4. I use to listen to Ray Charles so much back in the 70’s. I will have to spend some time doing that again.
    Excellent work, Ryan, and a wonderful read!

    April 9, 2011 at 12:19 pm

    • Thank you Debbie,
      It’s odd because my favorite band has always been Aerosmith, but I listen to Willie Nelson, Boyz ll men, Metallica, Kenny Chesney, Kid Rock and so many more. The one thing they all have in common is passion and soul. I guess I just love music, I had always said that I would give up my art for singing talent.

      April 9, 2011 at 7:08 pm

  5. Really incredible and I agree with you about music too. I absolutely love all kinds of music. Ken and I decided to get a keyboard for Christmas. I don’t have much time to learn but I try to lay hands on it every day even if I only have a few minutes. I am loving it. (You would be amazed at how long it takes old broads like me to learn to play with two hands. All that coordination! Tough!)

    April 9, 2011 at 1:00 pm

    • You are so COOL, old broad my butt, your not old until you stop taking chances and challenges, and it sounds to me that’s no where in the future for you. So tickle those ivory (plastic now days) until you wear them out! Just put SOUL into it!

      April 9, 2011 at 7:03 pm

  6. Gorgeous painting of an amazing talent. I so agree with you about music and musicians. It is said that I prefer to listen to the sound of the 20’s or 30’s to modern. I hate to say it, but I dislike a lot of modern music.

    April 10, 2011 at 5:34 am

  7. Fantastic painting! I can hear the music. I ADORE your background. Did you use some salt?

    April 10, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    • Thanks Carol,
      Yes I used a lot of salt, and on hot pressed board it gives more of a sparkle effect, than it does on cold pressed, which is the effect I was looking for.
      Thanks!

      April 10, 2011 at 3:11 pm

  8. Chuck

    My mother-in-law has “Ray” proudly displayed in her living room. Thank you.

    June 11, 2011 at 4:03 am

    • That’s great Chuck! Thank you for the purchase and I hope she enjoys it for a long time.

      June 11, 2011 at 9:36 am

Leave a Reply

